We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for what it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Square Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Old Town Square Apartments to your Saves list
Old Town Square Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Stupartska 9 | Stare Mesto, Prague 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 550 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great for what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just come back from a stag doo in Prague and stopped here in the top 2 apartments at the rear of the building. There were absolutely no complaints from us, just a few minor grumbles that you will get past. Simona greeted us on arrival and i have to admit when we walked in we thought what on earth have we come to here as the building like most in Prague is very old and maintained as best as possible. We were a couple of hours early so after a bit of playful banter with Simona who was helpful we headed out for a few sociable drinks. When we came back we were taken to the rooms on the rear, and this is the only couple of grumble is that it was on the 3rd floor of what are very steep steps, and if you have had a big meal or a drink you will be out of breath by the time you reach the top. Once in the rooms we were over the moon, the size of them and all the extras you get such as fridge freezer and iron etc are a great help. TAKE TOWELS as when we got there there were non and as a group of lads we obviously only had 1 between us. Also a little tip that took us a day to figure out is that if your water is freezing cold there is a boiler in the bathroom that may be turned off.

In terms of location its ideal really, you are a 2 minute walk in all directions from the shop and nightlife and its perfect to stumble to and from. There is a great shop just on the corner where you can buy anything you could want or need and all in all its a good location.

The things that will turn you off is that if you like nice views you wont get them in the rooms here, if you like air con you don't have any (but they have fans), if you like sleep ins you wont get any as the clock tower is close and chimes on the hour and if you like quiet nights in you may struggle as the pub crawl goes to De Ja Vu which is the bar right next door.

You do get good service, and helpful service from the staff there and you do get a really spacious comfortable apartment which is perfectly located and in my opinion is good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    68
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
59
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Batley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights July 2012 in Room No 8 on the 3rd floor. The apartment was clean with spotless bedding and towels. Air con didn't appear to work but the tempeartures during our visit were not high and the many fans sufficed. We had 8 people in our apartment, so the one shower and toilet was not really adequate. The 3 storey hike up the stairs was a pain and I could never get the lift to work so not good for anybody with bad legs! The street outside is a gathering point for young people into the early hours so an early night with the windows open is a no-no. The reception staff were helpful and allowed us to leave our luggage in a locked room after the 11:00am check out time until our early evening trip to the airport. The receptionist will give you a business card to give taxi Drivers if you get lost. This is quite easy to do and the place is dis-orientating until you get acclimatised. The first night taxi driver struggled to find it even with an A to Z, unless he was taking me for a ride! (300 czk) The food in Prague was excellent, we never had a bad meal, close to the apartments is The Dubliner that do Irish Breakfasts (2 eggs, bacon, fried tomato, 2 sausage,2 hash browns, beans, 2 toasts with HP sauce). Also of note was the George and Dragon in the main square that do excellent steak and ale pies. The local dish is Pork Knee which you see advertised everywhere, we had a particularly good one but can't remember the name of the restaurant doh! You need to like meat though, it comes on a miniature spit on a wooden platter with a selection of 3 sauces - BBQ, Horseradish and a Herby one. Curiously it didn't come with any veg or chips but there is that much meat you will be stuffed anyway! Beer prices were on the high side since last time I visited Prague, I read stuff about 40 czk for a beer, forget it unless you go to a back alley WMC type place you will pay;
75czk for 50cl Staropramen
99czk for 50cl Magners
99cz for 33cl Bottle Bud/Corona
99czk for 33cl Bottle Blue wicked
95 - 105czk for spirits
Not cheap at 30czk to £1!!
Charles Bridge was a good place to be on a Sunday for Artisan Stalls and street musicians. Didn't do a boat trip but they looked a bit naff, massive tour boats shuffling back and forwards on the Danube between the bridge supports. Can recommend the Top Gun shooting experience though. Coach picks up at apartments then takes you on about 50 minute ride into the country where the range is set in a forest. Very professionally run gun club, the Czech army and Police were shooting there at the same time as us. You get to shoot Glock 19 Pistol, AK47 and pump action shotgun. About 1800 czk, plus extra to shoot M16 and 45 Magnum (500czk for 6 Magnum rounds and 500czk for 25 M16 rounds) Boys toys I know but a once in a lifetime experience!

Room Tip: Low numbers are better access but noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here for three nights--my second visit to Prague--and found Old Town Square Apartments to be a perfect compromise between amenities, price and location. Loved being in central Prague. The staff working the front office were consistently helpful and friendly. The apartments are updated, but not luxury--more upscale Ikea than Ritz Carlton--but we found our beds comfortable, the kitchen more than adequately outfitted and the facilities clean. Shops nearby for toiletries, groceries. The pizza by the slice next store was terrific. Excellent price for this much space, including reliable wifi. We will definitely return to this apartment again and will recommend it to our friends. A few items to note: 1. Car travelers make arrangements to park your vehicle elsewhere--public parking nearby 2. No lift/elevator in our building--for us, this was not a problem but for someone with limited mobility/medical issues/lots of child gear--it might be more of a challenge. 3. Old Town can be party town. Staying in Old Town means you may run into visitors who enjoy staying up all night drinking and partying. Our last night in Prague, a couple of the neighborhood club/bars had quite the blow-out and we had noise into the wee-hours of the morning. We found Old Town management terrific to work with and attentive to our needs. Thanks for a great trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights, and we were extremely impressed by the apartments and the staff.

We arrived close to midnight, but with the good airport transfer service (paid separately), we were driven right up to the apartment (saves us any trouble with directions or language). Ondrei was waiting for us right outside the building and helped us with our bags.

There was good support, with telephone numbers, maps, restaurant suggestions etc provided. The main office was not far as well so it's easy to pop by if we have any other queries.

Our apartment was newly renovated, and well-furnished. I would have loved to have the apartment as my house!

As it's an apartment, cleaning service is not daily (every 3 days or so), so those particular about it need to adjust their expectations or inform the company about their preferences. However, I don't think there's actually any need to have daily cleaning service too.

I would HIGHLY recommend the apartments to anyone holidaying in Prague!

Room Tip: You could ask for new apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansbach, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Located in a great part of the town. Within walking distance of just about everything in the old town and surrounding districts. Can see the church in the old town square from your balcony if you get one facing it. The place isn't very new or luxurious but its clean and everything more or less works. Plenty of space inside of the apartments. There is underground parking about a 5 minute walk away that is reasonably priced and safe for your car. Small grocery store right around the corner. My friend and I arrived a little later in the evening, around 9 pm and the people working there stayed in the office until we arrived to check us in. I figured there would be a 24 hour desk which wasn't the case but they stayed there until we arrived.

The only problem I had with the place was when we arrived we parked right in front of it to check in but it took forever to find the entrance. It is a small brown door with no real obvious markings. Just realize there is no big sign to mark the entrance and it just looks like a normal apartment building door with the name on the small plaque.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Excellent location, smack at the center of Prague close to the main attractions and shopping. The apartment itself is spacious and well-equipped, though the furniture is low standard, and the beds aren't too comfortable.

This is not a hotel - there is no front desk, only a part-time office, but they were there to meet us when we arrived.

The big complaint is noise. There's lots of street noise, even if you close the windows (which can be a bit suffocating in the summer), and there was a huge party going on all night in the room next to ours.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment over the Easter weekend for 3 nights. The owners were very nice to allow us to stay for 3 nights, as some other places required a minimum 4 nights stay over this peak period and were professional to inform us before booking that the apartment had no lifts and stairs was the only way to go. No problem for us here, but those with mobility issues or heavy luggage should be mindful of this.

We got Apartment 1, which was on the 1st floor (not ground floor) next to their office. Very spacious, a little simple but comfortable and great value for its location just behind the Church of our Lady before Tyn. No breakfast provided, but there's a fridge and a small kitchenette for you to prepare your own meals.. else, there's this excellent French bakery called au Gourmand just off the Old Town Square, at the recommendation the staff.

Staff are very pleasant, they are able to assist with dining and sightseeing recommendations. We had a little problem with the washing machine in our room (water didn't drain, and all instructions were in Czech) but they were immediately there to help. However, the office is not manned at all times, after all, this is not a full service hotel. If you do require any assistance at odd timings, be sure to inform them in advance!

Manage your expectations and you will definitely enjoy the stay here!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town Square Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Square Apartments

Address: Stupartska 9 | Stare Mesto, Prague 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 550 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Town Square Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Town Square Apartments are located right in the historic centre of Prague, only 200 metres from Old Town Square and the famous Astronomical clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Old Town Square Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Square Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.