We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience returning goods to the Maja Company, Rado Jewellery in Prague” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prague Day Trips

Prague Day Trips
V Olsinach 992/32 | 100 00 Prague 10, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 10)
+420 775 714 440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 243 Tours & Activities in Prague
Attraction details
Toronto
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad experience returning goods to the Maja Company, Rado Jewellery in Prague”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Beware of Rado Jewelry on Celetna 17, Praha 1. My husband and I just got back from a trip to Prague and we purchased some red garnet earrings For my mother. Not really knowing the price of garnet, we made an error in calculating the exchange rate, and realized that our purchase was not $200 but $2000 . The salesperson at the jewelery store did not do the calculation for us in Canadian as she said she didn't know so we did and got it wrong. We didn't realize the immense error until an hour later and we promptly went back to the store to return the items. They refused and would not refund us on our MasterCard. They said they could not do it because their manager was not in the store and would not be back for 2 to 3 days. This is ridiculous as every store should
have someone working there that is authorized to put in the necessary code in the machine to
refund a card. They knew we ad to leave the next day as we were on a tour. We couldn't believe that a so- called reputable jeweler would not refund, especially given the time of return and the circumstance. We asked to speak to the police so they brought someone in who was quite questionable as a police officer. He would not speak with us at all ( mainly because he could not speak English...very convenient) and seemed to smirk and laugh about the situation clearly siding
with the sales people. At that point we knew it was fruitless and possibly a staged situation. We tried to stop payment on our MasterCard from the store, but the owners would not authorize. We loved the beauty of Prague, however, this store put a major damper on our view of the integrity of it's people . Also, the Canadian embassy was absolutely no help in this matter.
Signed,
2 Canadians who will never make an exchange rate mistake again nor recommend that you shop at Rado with the big R in Prague.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    2
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Prague Day Trips - Rasto Lauf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I too, in 2009, enjoyed the pleasure of having Rasto as a tour guide to Kutna Hora from Prague. It was an excellent tour, and as a matter of fact I am going again to Prague (summer 2013) and would like to hire him for a tour but cannot find any contact information. If anyone knows if he is still doing business as a tour guide and can pass along an email or business address/number I would be most appreciative. thank you sincerely,
Diana Hromish

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Golden Way Jewelry Shop”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have already written about this shop, but I would just like to add a warning, don't trust the owner. I have been very disappointed in the quality and professional way that this owner has run his business. With the quantity of shops in Prague, I am sure there is another shop you can spend your money in.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Full All Inclusive tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Well worth the walk. Guide was more than informative with a rich history of Cz Rep in terms of social, historical and political background. The guide himself made the event more than the company.....bring very comfortable walking shoes. Advertised P/U at hotel, but that was the last you saw of transportation. Tour ended in Old Town, on your own to get back to your hotel.
All tours seemed to work the same way....P/U at your hotel, taken to a central point to board the large bus, then brought back to the central meeting point. You walk back to your hotel, so be prepared.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Private Guide in Prague - Wonderful - Tereza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Recently we were in Prague with a group from Springfield, IL (Symphony group) and what a wonderful guide we had while there. Tereza was sparkling, articulate, full of exciting stories. and extremely organized and efficient, even under moments of great pressure. If any one needs a guide - ask for Tereza.

Kathryn Ransom

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prague Day Trips also viewed

 

Been to Prague Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prague Day Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.