We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like sleeping at a Kansas City Urban Outfitters, with Christian Rock Music” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mosaic House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mosaic House to your Saves list
Mosaic House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Odboru 4, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Like sleeping at a Kansas City Urban Outfitters, with Christian Rock Music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

The ho/s/tel is gorgeous, the room design superb and inventive, the ecological intentions admirable, and the staff tremendously friendly in a midwestern US college rush week kind of way...(if a little incongruous to what's left of the indigenous culture of Prague). This may be one of the most memorable and amusing places of the hundreds I've stayed in Europe: no down-home moments here if you're looking for a truly local experience, but there's a LOT to be had for the money if you've ever fantasized about living at an Urban Outfitters in Kansas City.

For example:

Mosaic is filled to the brim with doe-eyed, fresh-scrubbed American and proto-European college kids whose credit cards seem as limitless as their supplies of rainbow-colored condoms. There's a joyful, wholesome fun to the impeccably-scrubbed hostelry that only seems more delightfully hallucinatory with 4am vomiting sorority girls in the hallway offering a loud blow-by-blow of the evening's bar scene. And of course the penchant for the run-amok motion-detectors on the energy-efficient lights to strobe on and off with great enthusiasm at random throughout the room at infrequent and usually unimaginably inappropriate moments. And the tendency of the electric blinds to randomly grind open and close throughout the night.

(In my particular room, the light-and-blind show tended to begin around 3am with a luminous blaze of sight and sound that startled me awake just like I've always envisioned the apocalypse would. Fortunately, with the Christian rock and metal music playing in the bar downstairs, I suppose the second coming would be well-heralded at Mosaic House. With a bank of flourescent ceiling lights, two foyer lights, four bathroom lights, and two bedside lights, the permutations were as gloriously inventive as a good fireworks show in Taipei, and lasted at least ten times longer.)

But who stays at a hostel wanting a good night's sleep? And since when are all-night poltergeisty LED light shows less than an entertaining holiday treat?

If you sleep like the dead, rest assured the beds are comfy, the linens crisp, the hand-painted designs on the ceiling deeply winsome...and if the electronic blinds happen to raise and lower at random throughout the night, it's just another quirky touch from this unique boutique hotel whose abundant charms are evenly balanced with its patience-trying perversities.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    249
    57
    22
    13
See reviews for
34
225
158
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I liked this place a lot though it seems very big. Lots of American and British people there, even the staff seemed American to me. Spacious rooms, modern look. I liked the automatic thing ... lights and aircon. Rainfall showers were great.

Price-value-ratio (20 Eur/night/person) was more than perfect, but I guess we just got a kind of promo discount. Prices are much higher now.

From the place it's a short 10 minute walk into old town prague. Some good pubs are also close, U Fleku is just 1 minute away.

The only thing that was a bit annoying were our constantly drunk and noisy british neighbours ... well ok, good places also attract these kind of guys.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

This hotel is very American and young and trendy. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are clean. Great location - within walking distance of the major cites.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dctrvlr
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

I have to say I agree with all of the previous reviews. I was in Prague for a week on a last minute trip that came about when a friend, who was teaching at the university, invited me to stay with them. Unfortunately the accommodations fell through so I set out to find a reasonably priced single in a good location. That is exactly what I found with the Mosaic House. I had a double for $50 a night. I’m a male in my mid forties who has never stayed at a hostel and is accustomed to staying at 4 star hotels. The Mosaic House is a combined Hotel/Hostel. The Hostel aspect creates a great young vibe in a cool environment. The hotel rooms are equivalent to a 4 star boutique hotel.
The place just opened so there were some minor bumps. The staff is young and laid back so don’t expect check-in service you’d receive at a Marriott or such. Policies seem to be inconsistent as they are being tweaked. Initially I was asked to put down a 200 Crown ($10) deposit for both a hair dryer and an iron. I think they are wisely moving away from that policy for the people staying in the hotel rooms. People staying at the Mosaic House received a 10% discount on drinks but that too was pretty inconsistent. They charge 140 Crown for a very mediocre European buffet breakfast which I don’t think was worth it. There are dorm/hostel rooms on all but the sixth floor. I was on the fourth and didn’t have any noise issues.
The outdoor lounge with water feature is a very nice touch. The free wireless was priceless!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Need I really say more? 



I travel frequently, and I can honestly say there is nothing quite like this place. Or at least not that I've yet seen. I had heard about it from a friend and thought we'd check it out while on holiday in Europe. We really didn't know what to expect, as we had been following its progress and knew it had just opened. We were blown away. 



The place was brand new and full of cool places to socialize, including Belushi's (which had an awesome stage!). During our stay they were showing the world cup on a large screen (there were several smaller screens too), and there was such a good energy and a cool mix of people (I think some locals, and some guests).



There was a true beauty in the design...including a green couch that snakes around the entire bar and restaurant. The lounge is funky. The whole look is a little bit eclectic and chic but not over-the-top. They have struck a balance that very few (if any) are able to strike. The room had an organic feel to it, with tree branches reused as hangers, wood desks and side tables and more. On top of all of this, I was informed about the green aspects of this place - WOW! Greywater recycling, solar panels, and more...they had it all. Funny, as I also had just read an article about it in the NY Times as we were staying there. 



The reception and bar staff were very helpful, most notably a guy (who goes by 'Twig' I think?) who made a signature drink he deemed the 'Flaming Lamborghini' that was just as much fun to watch as it was to drink. Try it, but beware...it's dangerous(ly good). 



Bottom line: It's a must-stay. Our room was 602 and it had castle view. I couldn't believe the place had opened only two days prior to our stay. It was just THAT good. Oh, and before I forget - the bathrooms were amazing too (rain head showers!).



Well done, Mosaic House.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honduras
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Arrived on June 18 at only 7 days of the opening, the service has been outstanding, food excellent, the rooms and cleanliness super. The location is good with a good view of the city. Our room had a spectacular view of the Prague Castle and surroundings. The metro and tram station is a block away. I higly recommend it to anyone that wants to experience a friendly atmosphere. The only thing they lack is hair dryers and glasses in the room.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American living abroad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I have travelled to Prague 6 times in the last 2 years. I have stayed in many different Hostels/Hotels in Prague. I can easily say this is the best of the best. From the moment you enter the door I was amazed by how modern and beautiful the place is. I stayed in a double bed en suite room. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom with over head shower was awesome. The atmosphere downstairs at the bar/restaurant was great for watching sporting events. They have a huge projector and many flat screen tvs to watch from. Food was excellent. It gets pretty busy and stays open till 2 a.m. but from your room you cant hear any of the noise. Staff were very friendly and helpful also. It is right near Karlovo Namesti. Its just a short walk down to Old Town, Wenceslas Square, or Charles Bridge. You can also hop on a tram around the corner or hit up the yellow line as well. I know I cant wait to be back and stay a few more nights. Absolutely brilliant!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mosaic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic House

Address: Odboru 4, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Prague
#68 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#92 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#139 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mosaic House 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosaic House is a new fusion of accommodation in Prague with central location, classy-modern design, La Loca MUSIC BAR & LOUNGE, a theater bar, common rooms, and a variety of accommodation options. Mosaic House also features some of the most sophisticated “green” technology in the hospitality industry including the first grey-water recycling unit with heat recuperation in the Czech Republic, room temperature controlled based on occupancy, bathrooms with low-flow toilets and rain-dance showers, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mosaic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic House Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosaic House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.