We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Experience More than the Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celeste Restaurant

Celeste Restaurant
Rasinovo Nabrezi 80 | Tancici Dum, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic (Praha 2)
+420 221 984 160
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #246 of 4,242 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $1 - $100
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Praha 2
Austin
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Go for the Experience More than the Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

It's housed in Prague's famous 'dancing building' shaped like a man and woman dancing and is very avant alongside the older buildings and cobblestone streets. We had a party of seven which was beneficial because it guaranteed us the large round table in the circular dining area overlooking the river and bridges. Step out the dining room onto the circular terrace with your drinks and take in the view of Prague's bridges, old town area and the Lobkowicz Palace area across the river. Absolutely spectacular at sunset!

Our party was generally pleased with our meals. Limited but good wine list. My wife had monkfish and I had ravioli both very good and small portions. And certainly expensive pushing $100 per person meal, drinks, tip. But it's the experience of the view and the service that makes it worthwhile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    40
    14
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious, great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This restaurant is absolutely perfect. There is friendly staff, nice and interesting design. You can take a drink and go to see the roof, where the view is stunning. Try to catch the sunset, it´s very romantic. You can enjoy your drinks on the roof. Prices are really high, but not for this type of restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The restaurant has one of the best views in Prague. I am not thinking only about the view from the window you're sitting next to. They allow you to go to the roof with your drink and see the panoramatic view of Prague. We ordered the degustation menu and the very most of the meals were one of the best I have ever tried. The service was also nice. I think their wine is a little bit overpriced (with high margin) but otherwise I will always remember this restaurant to be one of the best I have ever visited.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allauch
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice view on the river, good food, but service was very slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were on a business trip and our group arrived to the restaurant with the old tramway you can hire privately on the public road (incredible !) the building is very audacious, mixing a traditional architecture on one side and on the other side a kind of Pisa tower very modern . A terrace on the roof for a drink.
The only problem was the kitchen which make us wait a lot between each dish, perhaps because we were a party of 36.
The food is traditional czech

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Where was the sommelier?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Not bad, but nothing to write home about, particularly when compared with the Bellevue, which offers infinitely better fare and service for about the same price. The venue is interesting, kind of like eating on the top floor of a castle dungeon (unfortunately, the windows are too small to really appreciate the view, but the adjoining terrace, where you can have a pre-dinner drink, is better positioned). Our tasting menu was OK, but not exceptional. We had a bottle of 2003 Château Citran, which was totally over the hill. I asked the sommelier to taste it, he declined twice and that was the last we saw of him. Not very professional, indeed. We left without a goodbye from the staff, despite a hefty bill and a good tip, too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celeste Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Celeste Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celeste Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.