We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to eat in Prague” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambiente Lokal

Ambiente Lokal
Dlouha 33, Prague, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))
+420 222 316 265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #502 of 4,272 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Pizza, European, Pub, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of the best places to eat in Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Being native from Prague, I can guarantee you this is one of the best places for beer and Czech cuisine you can find in our Golden city.
During Friday and Saturday nights it is usually so crowded you will have hard time finding a table if you have no reservation - but it can be full on other nights, too!

What I love about Lokal particular is its simplicity. They just make awesome food & beer. This Lokal (there are 2 others in Prague) is divided into smoking and non-smoking part, and you can watch sport matches on TV's in both of them.

As I mentioned above - their beer is simply awesome, it has been voted one of the best places to get Pilsner Urquell in Prague at all! Food there is simple, true Czech, and awesome. My most favourite meal is their sausage, or simple Czech goulash - big plus is that you can eat as much side dish, as you want - just ask the waitress, and they'll bring you more for no extra fee!!!!

It's definitely one of my most favorite places ever in Prague and I definitely recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    248
    80
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aabenraa, Denmark
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lokal is not gourmet - but still a MUST in Prague!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Facts:
You are sitting in a.. dining hall, with (my guess) 500 other people, eating and drinking.
If you dont have a reservation, be prepared to stand and wait, for theres is FULL!
Meals and beers are extremely cheap. Its not art on a plate, but its tasty, and portions are big!
All is homemade!
You dont have to ask for more beer. They will swing by your table every 5 minutes, with freshly tapped beer!

Bon appetit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great beer hall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Went here after reading on trip advisor, great atmosphere, got there at 6-15pm got a table straight away, by 7pm all tables were full or reserved. So would be advised to book, very noisy which added to the fun, beer was delivered and marked on a card to pay later, at least you know what you have drank. My wife had wine which was good. Food was tasty and plenty of it, not your restaurant class meals but more than adequate. You can come of the side street or front, from the front you walk through the smoking area the side you don't. We had a great night .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We loved it so much that we went twice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This re-creation of an old style Czech pub is great place to enjoy good Czech food with great atmosphere. We ate there twice and both times the food and service were great. In particular, the potato salad is among the best we have ever had (pair it with the schnitzel). The service was prompt and efficient despite the fact that the place was packed both nights. Two negatives: they run out of a lot of things on the menu very early; and even though I had called for a reservation, when we arrived they did not have the booking. Despite that, they accommodated us anyway--in non smoking--which was well done. We highly recommend Lokal--definitely make reservations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“One of the best beer halls in prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Food is a couple notches above the average beer hall in Prague, the service is excellent. You're not likely to get an empty beer glass to the table before a full one arrives to replace it (which makes leaving harder...) It's a little smoky inside but not bad by Czech standards. We had a toddler with us and they brought him a coloring book and crayons! (very rare in Prague). If you have more than 3 people in your group or are coming during the main dinner hours, a reservation would be a good idea.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambiente Lokal also viewed

 

Been to Ambiente Lokal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambiente Lokal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.