We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite bee place in pague” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambiente Lokal

Ambiente Lokal
Dlouha 33, Prague, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))
+420 222 316 265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #480 of 4,196 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Bodo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favourite bee place in pague”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Fantastic beer served in old comunist style beer cellar.
Typical czeck food that goes down well with the beer.
Very friendly vaiters , Try early in the day , opens at 11. Late it might be packed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    238
    75
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This place is my 2nd home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

One of the reasons I continue my existence on this earth is so that I can eat and drink at Lokal. The traditional Czech pub food is great (especially the beef tartar) and they have "tankove pivo" (tank beer). The 1st location (Dlouha, 33) is 100' from my flat. Also there's a 2nd location in Mala Strana, near the castle side of the Charles Bridge. Fortunately that's near my office so either version of heaven is never more than a few steps away...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Authentic food and smokey atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A friend made an 8pm reservation for us at Lokal - only available seats were in the smoking section. We ordered the starter of cheese with beer (a Czech speciality) and were surprised by its pungent flavour (we decided to leave this one to the Czechs). Our mains were tasty - the goulash with potato dumplings and I had beef with garlic and spinach with bread dumplings. We enjoyed the food and beer (one waiter seemed to be charged with walking up and down the hall delivering drinks to the restaurant goers, and ticking off beers consumed on the card left on your table). Prices were reasonable and all in all it was a good experience. I do suggest that if you are non-smokers, try to get a table in the non-smoking section - we ended up leaving earlier than we might have if we'd had a table in the other section.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Tasty Czech Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a typical place to eat Czech Food together with locals. Food is delicious and so does the Pilsner Urquell from draft.
Ambient is cozy, charm and simple.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY suburb
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We decided to have a late dinner and chose Lokal because of the reviews - authentic, no frills and good food. We found it to be all of the above. We sat in no smoking, which was 3 dining rooms in through smoke filled halls. I felt like a local - fun evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambiente Lokal also viewed

 

Been to Ambiente Lokal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambiente Lokal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.