We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average on the outskirts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Designhotel Elephant Prague

Save Saved
You added Designhotel Elephant Prague to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Designhotel Elephant Prague
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Na Florenci 29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10 % OFF ON HOTEL WEBSITE
Ranked #106 of 668 hotels in Prague
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average on the outskirts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is situated on the outskirts of the main tourist area and is a fair walk from the major attractions.After walking round all the sites you really don't want to walk this back to the Elephant. Rooms are reasonable but with cheap fittings. The television is computerised and needs reprogramming, and the aircon cannot cope with hot weather and needs a manual to understand how to work it.
Breakfasts were good but served in a vast austere room more like a factory than a restaurant.
If you can get a deal when staying there, I wouldn't put you off staying here, but I'm sure you could do better nearer the centre.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    171
    40
    10
    2
See reviews for
40
214
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It all started with Czech Airlines. They rebooked our flight so many times that we arrived in Prague at about 9AM. 1 hour later we were at the hotel. It's only 1 metro-stop away from the main train station, where the Airport Express drops you off. (BIG TIP: Take the exit that's the opposite of the train direction, you'll end up right in front of the hotel).

The guys at the hotel asked us to pay upfront. Not that big of a deal, even though I think it's polite to let the guest pay at the end. But wait! They couldn't take our money because our rooms were not ready yet. But wait! When we came back they gave us the keys to the wrong room. Lucky for us we noticed the luggage before we stumbled upon some fresh-out-of-the-shower guest.

However, mistakes happen and the guys made it up to us with a bottle of champagne that we found in our room that night. THAT right there is how you say "I'm sorry, this will never happen again"!

In other news: Rooms are large, closets are big, the bathroom is very nice, the metro station is close and the breakfast is great. Really, this is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ochang, Cheongwon, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel sent us an email before our arrival asking if we wanted the airport transfer service. I'm glad we selected it as our flight was arriving very late and we saw hardly any taxis around at the airport. Check-in was fairly smooth, except immediately, we noticed that the women do not provide as friendly customer service as the men. Nevertheless, we were provided with tour maps and information right away. The lift has a strange design that is not very comfortable to fit many people in at once. The room itself was very clean and the beds were comfortable. There are handy outlets built into the bed frame so that you can charge your phone next to you. We arrived late, completely parched, and we drank the water from the mini-bar, but that brand of water wasn't very good and not worth the inflated price. The breakfast, as mentioned by many others, was massive - big enough to turn YOU into an elephant! If you're a budget traveler, take advantage of the breakfast by eating a large portion and you can skip lunch easily. The breakfast had everything from design your own omelets, buffet of meats/cheeses, yogurt/salad/bread/fruit, and more. Also, the wi-fi worked brilliantly!

The hotel is very near the main walking streets and there was no need for us to take any other form of public transport as we had 5 days to explore everything. Not knowing how close things are and how easy it is to get around, I eagerly booked an all-inclusive tour, but after getting out and exploring, I felt regretful as we had already seen so much so I asked the manager if he could cancel the tour. He joked with us, with his usual bubbly manner, and said, "Oh, you've already seen everything already, huh?" Thankfully, they let us cancel and we got our money back to spend on other things. The manager (I didn't catch his name) was continuously friendly to us throughout our stay and when we requested a taxi service to the airport for our departing flight, he asked if we wanted a breakfast bag. The breakfast bag had some fruit, juice, and a sandwich. The food itself in the breakfast bag wasn't anything to rave about, but it's a nice gesture nonetheless.

My only 'complaint' and by complaint, it's nothing major, but we had left one of our room keys in the key slot because I wanted my computer to fully charge while we were out. The cleaning lady was very enthusiastic about saving energy, and therefore, we noticed our key card was no longer there after returning. We called to the front desk and they said it would be no problem. Also, on another day, the cleaning lady had left behind a cleaning bottle that she didn't see or forgot about.

Otherwise, our stay here was fantastic and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Easy to get to from the airport. Took the Airport Express, dropped off at Masaryk train station, a short walk to hotel. Very close to most places of interest, within walking distance, but subway stations are close by. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean. WiFi and a fridge were a great touch. Excellent buffet style breakfast, plenty of selection. Very short walk to Florenc bus terminal. A great experience

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have never experienced such nonchalant attitude as I did at this hotel.

It took a couple of minutes before we got any service when checking-in, even though there were four people behind the desk. There was another couple discussing something with one of the receptionists who turned to us and said, very politely, that his colleague could help us.

The colleague gave us two documents to fill in, which included the same information we already informed when we booked the rooms through booking.com, and turned back to the computer. When we finished she gave us a keycard and said something about "you must use the elevator". We took the elevator to the second floor, but our room was not there.

We returned back down and got help from the portier who told us that we must use another elevator to get to our specific room, but that elevator is out of order right now so we must use the big elevator, go through an emergency exit door and up a small set of stairs to find our room.

We found the room, opened the door and found that the room was already occupied! There were a couple of opened bags, dirty sheets and a pair of used slippers. Chocked we immediately closed the door, thinking that it is terrible that it is possible to get another persons keycard and just walk into their room.

When approaching the receptionist about this she got a bit annoyed, everyone behind the desk started speaking agitatedly in Czech and we felt a bit vulnerable and exposed. Had the hotel been overbooked? Did something go wrong with our reservation? And how is this even possible? She asked if we were just going to stay one night, and I told her that our reservation (that had been payed on beforehand) was for two nights, and was anything wrong? She just pointed to the computer and said "technical malfunction". And, here is the funny part - SHE DID NOT APOLOGIZE! Not once. She hardly met our eyes.

We got the new keycard (which stated that the room was the same but one floor above) and the room was great. Really nice, spacious, good ac and comfortable beds. There was a big red stain on the floor, but it seemed like someone had done a good job trying to clean it off and it wasn't dirty or anything.

But the next morning (about 6.45) we woke up to a really loud and alarming noise saying something in Czech. After a minute the english voice explained that it was a fire alarm and that we should proceed out of the hotel. We tried calling the reception, but the line was (of course) busy. We peeked out to the corridor meeting a neighbour who had not understood what the voice in the alarm had said. I explained that it was a fire alarm. A short while after that, when we were ready to head out to the meeting point, another guest told us that it was a false alarm (she had been to the reception) and that we could all go back to sleep. But once again, there were no stated apologies or explanations from the hotel.

It is really too bad with the service because the hotel is actually quite nice. But you cannot treat your customers like this. You can't just shrug when a guest tells you they don't know how to get to their room, or that they feel extremly unsafe knowing that someone can just walk into their room anytime, or when the fire alarm goes off in the morning (without any explanation).

I am sorry, but this is not a hotel we can recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan S, General Manager at Designhotel Elephant Prague, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear JohannaMM

thank you for your detailed description of your experience with us. I am very sorry that you had to go through all this, please accept my apology.

There is no meaningful explanation that I can give you. You and other guest who stayed with us over the weekend were victims of several independent issues that appeared in the same time. I do not want to use these reasons to excuse behavior of our staff, actions will be taken with those responsible. Quality of service delivered with positive attitude, friendliness and attentiveness toward our guest is our goal and mission which we have to deliver in any situation.

As you described, one of our Elevators that serves independent part of building broke down on Friday at 19hrs. After all affords we have done, spare part that needed to be replaced could be only delivered on Monday. Because of this reception started to look for a solutions to navigate our guests, print directions act. to guide our guest through best was to their rooms. In first moments it was chaotic and our reception staff and specially lady who served you did not manage the level of responsibility and stresses that were associated with this situation and demands from several sides in regards to elevators. All was fixed on Monday early morning. In the meantime two of our other elevators were serving our guests.

Saturday morning and turned fire alarm was another case that hotel was not able to influence. One of our guest accidentaly hit the fire alarm button and started an evacuation process. Once you hit the fire alarm button, there is no simple way back as this has a much higher level of importance in compares to smoke detectors which can be turned off immediately. With all the responsibilities around when area was checked and alarm turned down a hotel manager on duty did not send a message that this was just a false alarm. This was a mistake which in sequence of all happenings was forgotten. Our mistake, we are sorry. Positive side of this was that our fire alarms work well and our guests can feel save with us. Based on this we have taken preventive measures for future when we need to inform our guests about false alarm.

I am glad that you liked our room set up and cleanliness and I am sure we can prove you we are much better in service in case you give us an opportunity during your next stay in Prague.

Kind regards

Milan Svara
General Manager

I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a great stay with very obliging staff and adequate facilities. The reception area is small but the rooms a good size and very clean. The furniture is plain but adequate. The location is good as it is close to transport and shops. Would recommend it for the person who is looking good clean non fancy accommodation at a reasonable cost.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights after traveling from Vienna and we were very impressed! The hotel is right across the street and to the left of the Florence metro station and is a 5-10 minute walk to the heart of the Old Town (depending on your pace). Additionally, they recommended a 6 hour tour of Prague that we loved! The staff was incredibly helpful, some of the best we've had the pleasure of working with. Rooms were spacious and well decorated and cleaned. The one thing I was not pleased with was the bistro downstairs, but there are many restaurants nearby. Additionally, the breakfast room is shared with another hotel, but there is ample seating and a wide variety of options! We would be glad to stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Designhotel Elephant Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designhotel Elephant Prague

Address: Na Florenci 29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Prague
#89 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#89 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#99 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Designhotel Elephant Prague 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Na Florenci Street, perfectly situated in the city centre, The Designhotel Elephant, a 4 Star hotel is a welcome calm in the heart of Prague.Such attractions of the historic Prague Old Town, like Astronomical Clock on the Old Town Hall, Municipal House on Square of Republic or Charles Bridge, Powder Tower, Music Theatre Karlin and many others are in the immediate walking vicinity, making our hotel a great choice for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Designhotel Elephant Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Designhotel Elephant Prague Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Designhotel Elephant Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.