We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the Job Nicely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Designhotel Elephant Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Designhotel Elephant Prague to your Saves list
Designhotel Elephant Prague
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Na Florenci 29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Does the Job Nicely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Nice clean hotel. Beds are comfortable and restaurant was decent and cheap. Service wasn't great as one poor waiter was trying to look after a dozen or so people with no assistance on our visit. Breakfast was excellent albeit very busy if you go at the wrong time which appears to be about 30-45 mins before it shuts. 15 min. walk to Old Square. For value for money it would be hard to beat. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet although the view is not great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan S, General Manager at Designhotel Elephant Prague, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear stefano1406,

thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback with Tripadvisor community.

I am glad that you have over all enjoyed your stay with us and took opportunity from its value. In terms of service at the restaurant, I am sorry if you had to experience any difficult situations with our inventory, I will try to find out and solve this issue personally.

We hope that we will be able to prove that our service is much better than you described on your next trip to Prague. You will be very welcome.

Kind regards,

Milan Svara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    349
    67
    14
    2
See reviews for
107
497
27
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner and loved this hotel, great location close to the old town and walking distance to most places we wanted to visit. Our room was spotless and beds were very comfortable. Didn't spend much time in the room but was very impressed by it. The breakfast was excellent we though- a great selection and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotels Limousine service was a nice touch and handy for the tourist points which were too far to walk down. I recommend anyone visiting here to visit the Jewish quarter and the Prague castle. We went to a lovely restaurant too called Casa Argentina which isn't too far from the hotel and had an amazing meal!! Overall great trip and would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan S, General Manager at Designhotel Elephant Prague, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Emma O,

thank you for giving us your trust while visiting our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and took all the advantages from our location and services.

We certainly hope that you will return back to us again on your next trip to Prague.

Kind regards,

Milan Svara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We got a very good deal here with `Booking.com'. The hotel is clean and well maintained, the room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was very good, and the restaurant is decent and very cheap. Reception gave us a voucher for the restaurant, but that works out more expensive than just paying the prices on the menu - did not understand that!
Transfer from and to the airport is reasonably priced and both transfers we got the hotel to organise. We checked with AAA taxis and their price was similar, so not worth the hassle for a very small saving. However, the rate for a taxi ordered by the hotel to go to the castle was 350k, the rate for an AAA taxi was 125k. The hotel has the rates to travel to various locations displayed at the reception desk.
The location is fantastic, many attractions within walking distance, 15 minutes to Old Town Square, 20 to Charles Square.
I would recommend this hotel most highly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan S, General Manager at Designhotel Elephant Prague, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear DeeJayDonaghadee,

thank you for staying with us and for sharing our feedback with Tripadvisor community.

I am glad that you found our hotel as a great value for money and that you were happy with our product and services.

In terms of vouchers, yes, sometimes if you do not take the most expensive items from our menu, you pay less than the voucher offers. Our waitress are aware of it and choose the better solution from our guest. We are actually using these vouchers mostly for marketing purposes to let our guest know that they can eat 2 course menu with us for just as much as 8 EUR per person.

Our hotel transfer offers pickups from the airport for a very reasonable rate of 680 CZK ( 25 EUR ) and you will get nice clean car with English speaking driver.

Kind regards,

Milan Svara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed 7 nights at the hotel. The double room we stayed in was very comfortable and clean with a spacious bathroom and a very soft bed for a wonderful sleep. The breakfast was rich and delicious. You have the chance to choose from a variety of coffee and so many other breakfast things! The stuff was very friendly and helpful when you ask them informations of any kind. As for the location the hotel was 15' on foot from the old town square and 20' from the famous Charle's bridge. Only a few steps from the hotel can everyone find the metro station Florenz (red line). Everything was amazing. Me and my boyfriend would definitely return!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan S, General Manager at Designhotel Elephant Prague, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear stellarium_25

thank you very much for staying with us. Your feedback after 7 days of stay has a high value for us, as you have perhaps tested well all our services.

I am glad that we succeeded and we hope that you will be able to retunn back in the future.

Kind regards,

Milan Svara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruschberg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. It's a very nice hotel. The breakfast is great, lots of food to choose from. The room we stayed in looked like it had been redone very recently, everything looked and smelled new. minibar items weren't overly expensive. We walked everywhere. No problems with the wifi. The only thing I had a problem with is that we were woke up to the sound of construction in the hotel at a little after 7:00 am one morning. Overall the hotel was a great choice for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan S, General Manager at Designhotel Elephant Prague, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear kbhoney31,

thank you very much for staying with us for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that your stay went up to your expectation and you found our services in a good shape. I am sorry to read that you were disturbed by construction, some parts of the hotel wall are attached to the building that goes through reconstruction. Our facilities were refurbished by end of 2013 and those next door might be also soon over.

We hope to welcome you in Desighnhotel Elephant again in case your future trips will bring you back to Prague.

Kind regards,

Milan Svara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Enjoyed our stay here, the staff on the desk were very helpful and our room was spacious and modern on the sixth floor. They arranged a transfer to pick us up from the airport and let me telephone the next hotel I was visiting in Budapest for Free!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan S, General Manager at Designhotel Elephant Prague, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Jeni H,

thank you very much for staying with us and for your positive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back in the Designhotel Elephant again soon.

Kind regards,

Milan Svara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over the festive period. Overall the hotel was clean, modern and in a good location. It is a short walk from all the main attractions but out of the way of all the hustle and bustle.
The breakfast was good with lots of variety. The breakfast room was very busy but the staff did a great job refreshing the food and clearing tables.
The only thing that disappointed me about the hotel was the service of the reception staff as they weren't particularly friendly, with the exception of the guy who checked us out. Also, as a surprise I'd arranged for a bottle of fizz to be in our room on arrival which didn't materialise. I left it a day in case it appeared but was annoyed to have to go down and reception to query it's whereabouts only to be told they'd forgotten about it. I asked if a bottle could be sent up to our room, but instead they just handed me a bottle from the bar for me to take up myself. There wasn't any apology for the mix up, and it did leave me feeling a little let down.
Aside from this, all other aspects of our stay were great.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan S, General Manager at Designhotel Elephant Prague, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Moonface84,

thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you have found out the hotel as a nice place to be while in Prague and thank you for all your positive comments that I highly appreciate.

Thank you also for your comment on our reception staff which I am not very happy about and I would like to express my apologies for this experience with friendliness and service. Service remain as our focus and I believe this was just a small issue we can learn of and make sure will not happen in the future again.

We hope that we will be able to prove better service next time when you come back to Prague. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to manage all necessary arrangements.

Kind regards,

Milan Svara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Grandior Hotel Prague
Grandior Hotel Prague
#95 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Grand Majestic Plaza
Grand Majestic Plaza
#92 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,858 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
987 Design Prague Hotel
987 Design Prague Hotel
#173 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#31 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Clement Praque
Hotel Clement Praque
#60 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#73 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Designhotel Elephant Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designhotel Elephant Prague

Address: Na Florenci 29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
#50 Family Hotel in Prague
#69 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#72 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Designhotel Elephant Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Na Florenci Street, perfectly situated in the city centre, The Designhotel Elephant, a 4 Star hotel is a welcome calm in the heart of Prague.Such attractions of the historic Prague Old Town, like Astronomical Clock on the Old Town Hall, Municipal House on Square of Republic or Charles Bridge, Powder Tower, Music Theatre Karlin and many others are in the immediate walking vicinity, making our hotel a great choice for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere, Otel, HotelsClick and EasyToBook so you can book your Designhotel Elephant Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Designhotel Elephant Prague Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Designhotel Elephant Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.