We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Prague” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sklep Hostel

Sklep Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sklep Hostel to your Saves list
Sklep Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Seifertova 53, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic (Praha 3)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Prague”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We've just returned from a 4 night trip , brilliant studio everything you need from washing machine in shower room to microwave,cooker fridge, this hostel is located just 20 minutes walk from town centre , this was ok going out in morning but after a full day of sightseeing a bit daunting walking home from town as it's up hill ! , there wasn't a lot of English sign post so getting about was a bit of challenge first day , but after a couple of hours it was fine, all the sights were excellent we done, we had good weather so this was a bonus .food wasn't the best we've had but we found m&s so done some cooking ourselves , restaurant on river was delicious I would recommend ..

Room Tip: Definitely go for the studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hostel adverstised that it was close to all the tourist areas, but when we arrived, we quickly realized we were a good 20 minute walk to everything. The flat was very spacious and had nice furniture, a kitchen, washer/dryer, basically everything we needed. The bedding was very musty, which made it hard to sleep on. The staff didn't speak much English and wasn't extremely helpful, but very nice. They do offer a small breakfast in the adjoining restaurant, but nothing spectacular. Overall, I would recommend staying somewhere closer to Old Town if you're only in Prague for a few days. This type of flat would be better if you have a week or more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Would have rated this place as excellent but the showers really let it down! There are two toilets and two showers for each gender, but the bathrooms are not clearly marked; the shower cubicles have only a flimsy curtain to cover yourself with with gaps on either side (so you either step out naked into the open bathroom or fumble around getting dried and dressed in the shower cubicle), and as a female I was very unnerved when a man wandered into the women's bathroom at night and stood opposite the showers doing his hair in the mirror (which of course reflected my not entirely-covered cubicle!!) This meant that I did not feel safe using the showers, which is a pretty big deal. Also do not trust the map provided as it is from 2010 and A LOT of the tram routes have since changed - we wasted a lot of our time in Prague finding that out!

Pity because the hostel was otherwise great; nice room, comfy beds, free breakfast with meat, eggs, cereal, juice, bread and jam, nice big kitchen and common lounge, and you can leave your luggage in the office which is all really good value for the £12 each we paid for a night there! You may need to go in the restaurant when you first arrive to find someone from the office to check you in. The showers really let this place down, as otherwise I'd give it 5/5 considering the price. Of course, if you're a male who isn't shy about his body then they might not bother you!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Located quite close to the Main Train Station in Prague, Sklep Hostel consists of various types of hostel as well as apartments. The apartments are cheerful and have all the basic amenities one expects including a washing machine in the apartment itself. The apartments are spacious and comfortable.
It has a good restaurant and bar with a good chef for western cuisine.
It has a tram stop right outside with a direct connection to the main sights of Prague via Tram No 9. Ideal location for a budget traveler looking for comfortable accommodation.
During the summer months it gets a bit noisy at night as one has to keep the windows open. With the windows shut it is quite soundproof.

Room Tip: Use the tram for sight seeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just crossed the front door and the smell of the garbage bean of the very next door gave me bad feelings, the smell was with us for a whole week.
Dirty room : we were living with a chewing gum close to our heads for days, i left the green card for cleaning the room and it was at the front door for 2 days and nobody came , towels smell like dirty water.
Dirty bathroom ( 2 showers and 2 wc for at leats 15 rooms ) i saw the saem spider under the toilet for days, rest of something orange in one of the courtains of the shower for weeks, one of the sinks didn't function properly so everytime someone was taking a shower she was washing her feets in whatever was in bottom of the floor.

Talking about the staff, just a few speak english the rest nothing at all.We made our reservation and i asked several times about the bathroom shared with another single room, nobody answered me but it was in the add with one room. No people, the bathroom is shared with another 50 people.
Maybe you ask me why we didn't left the place, we didn't cause they took ourmoney right after say hi and before even show the room. All the money is taken and then they forget you already payed for at least a minimum service, you are a client.

I felt swindled big time. For the record if you go during weekends warning alertl cause the club downstairs will not let you sleep as we , all the people in the floor, could experienced that terrible night from 02am until 07 .

The only good thing is you can walk from there to the old town in around 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Try with the apartments maybe they are clean and the staff treat you much better but i will not give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hostel is simple, but the room and the toilet are clean. Decent breakfast (till 11 a.m.). Reasonable price. It's near the city center, just 1 train stop from the main train station, just a couple of stops from the main city attractions. A good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
177 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and slept incredibly well as the beds were very comfortable and you weren't disturbed by any noise. The only time you here is anything is in the morning if people are moving around in the room above but that's no problem as you want to get up and go and explore the beautiful city! The staff member that we dealt with at reception was always very helpful and nice. The breakfast wasn't great but you can't expect a great amount for the price. It takes about 10-15mins to walk to the Old Town which we did everyday. Would definitely recommend for those on a budget!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#67 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
Praha 5
Barcelo Praha Five
Barcelo Praha Five
#108 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#375 of 662 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
ApartHotel Susa
ApartHotel Susa
#161 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#34 of 565 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel Lipa
Hostel Lipa
#17 of 565 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sklep Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sklep Hostel

Address: Seifertova 53, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sklep Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sklep Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sklep Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.