We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining in a special coffee shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Lounge

Cafe Lounge
Plaska 615/8, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))
+420 257 404 020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 4,504 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International, Wine Bar, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dining in a special coffee shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Fantastic place with superb service, delicious food andsplendid coffee - I am always happy to have an occassion to go there: breakfast, just coffee or dinner. Best season to visit is most definitely summer time but their delicious desserts and double shot coffee can lure you even in wintertime - and there is nothing wrong with that! :) Not to mention from time to time you might get an extra treat - one time we had Karel Schwarzenberg relaxing with his granddaughter at a table next to us! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    66
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We attended twice without appointment and were found a table. The coffees were perfect and the breakfasts were delicious. We had english muffins and egg which was divine and a club sandwich.

On our second visit we did order 2 club sandwiches and only 1 was served, a simple misunderstanding is the only negative thing I have to say,

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Best breakfast in Prague - so much so that we visited here 2 mornings in a roll!

Cafe Lounge undoubtedly have the BEST coffee in all of Prague, and breakfast here is great and reasonably priced. We tried the scrambled eggs, sausages, ham & eggs and all are done perfectly.

Down the road from Petrin Hill, but nicely located in a nice and quiet area. Nice way to start the day

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Loved Cafe Lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We just happened upon Cafe Lounge when we were walking in Mala Strana one night looking for a restaurant that ended up being closed. It looked nice so we went in, but they didn't have any tables available. We made reservations for the following night and were glad we did. The food was fresh, high quality and delicious. We really enjoyed the ambience of the place too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best meal I had in Prague”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

It was admittedly a short visit but my lunch at Cafe Lounge was the best meal of the trip.

Over the bridge in Prague 5. Art students prowl the area with their statutory cigarettes. An unassuming street. Then, inside:

It's a cozy, comfortable, quirky place with a piece of the famous 'Hunger Wall' in the garden. Cool art on the walls. Interesting-looking people at the tables.

A beautiful plate of sliced beef passed me by while I waited for my lunch companion to join me. But I went for the special: leg of duck, dumplings, sweet pickles.

The pickles aren't my kind of pickle (I'm a sour dill guy) but the duck leg was fantastic and the dumplings were the ideal gravy absorption medium.

This is what a small café should be: buzzy, friendly & attentive but not intrusive. With really, really good food.

I'll be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.