We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maitrea

Maitrea
Tynska Ulicka 6/1064, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))
+420 221 711 631
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 4,272 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I am not a vegetarian and before visiting this restaurant I didn't know what to expect...but what a surprise! Interior is beautifully decorated, the atmosphere peaceful, staff kind and efficient. And what is the most important, the food was really delicious (try raw "cheesecake" with strawberry sauce!).

Being located just a few steps from the Old Town Square (the area full of "tourist trap" kind of restaurants), Maitrea offers absolutely great value for the money.
I look forward to coming back soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    229
    55
    16
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian food in an interesting building!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Prague cuisine is not known for its vegetarian leanings. If you really need a true vegetarian meal, then this is the place to visit in Prague. Food is wholesome, varied and service is friendly and efficient. The Bean Burrito was excellent although the portion was not huge by North American standard. As in all Czech restaurants, there is a good beer at hand. You will be greatly impressed by the visual beauty of the restaurant's decor and by the positive Feng Shui vibe.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting Veggie Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Prague is not the easiest city to find Non-meat options, so to find Maitrea, and so near the main Old Town Square is a bonus. It is a small and fascinating place, and the service and food was good, there is a very varied choice for vegetarians with many interesting dishes, and some delicious desserts. We enjoyed a sharing platter, the sushi and then for dessert some carrot cake and white chocolate mousse. Only criticism is that the portion sizes, particularly for the main courses are huge, and some could find this quite off putting. I would not necessarily go for sushi, as this was quite dry, and I am sure the specialist vegetarian dishes that they excel at would be a better option. Overall a good dining experience and would recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Was really blown away by some of the positive reviews and really wanted a break from the heavy food in the Czech Republic and surrounding countries. The atmosphere is really nice but our waiter was strange, kind of like half interested, long swaths of time between sightings etc. Not excited about the menu or willing to talk about it. So we ordered what we did, this was a few months ago, and nothing was memorable. I'm the type that thinks vegetarian food needs spice, and depth if flavor in order to be interesting and it was just blah and bland. The three stars is really for the effort of the chefs and atmosphere which were obvious. Then something wacko happened, the 0 star experience. We got the bill, paid it and tipped generously, at least 20% because that is what we do. I get to my hotel room and am sliding into bed when we get a call from my waiter, not the front desk, my waiter, telling me to come back to the restaurant because they gave us the wrong bill and that he is basically out of a tip because of it. Definitely did not appreciate the hunting down to my hotel room. Had an issue with the concierge at Hotel Paris for connecting this weird call which he explained to them. The whole thing was bizarre. I did not go back because of all the irksome issues I had with the waiter to begin with and then getting stalked on top of it. Bizarre experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lehka Hlava's partner: same level, different ambient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Really beautiful restaurant with good quality veggie food. Unmissable, but I strongly recommend its partner, Lehka Hlava for a more intimate atmosphere... The only disappointing thing was a waiter who looked a bit rude. I can't stand when the staff isn't smiley and good looking.
But... really great experience anyway!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maitrea also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Maitrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maitrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.