We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggetarian in meat loving Prague” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maitrea

Maitrea
Tynska ulicka 6/1064, Prague, Czech Republic
221 711 631
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 4,245 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Longmont CO
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Veggetarian in meat loving Prague”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Being that the Maitrea is my daughter's favorite stop for chai, we ventured to this eatery for a mid-week lunch. Both my husband and I, confirmed meat lovers, were a little leery of eating an a completely vegetarian restaurant, but Maitrea proved to be a pleasant surprise. Located off a small narrow street within a few minutes of Old Town Square the interior was a welcome change from the gritty exterior. Being very busy upstairs the hostess took us downstairs into a beautifully decorated lower level. Service was not immediate, but catch the attention of the waitress quickly after being seated and the service became paced to our expectations. The portions were not huge, but adequate and very tasty -- the chicken paella truly tasted as if there was chicken included in the dish. This restaurant is also smoke free and takes CASH only, no credit cards.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    181
    49
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for vegetarians and those in need of a break from meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Traveling around central Europe can be quite tricky for a vegetarian as you are constantly bombarded with meat. So it was lovely to find such a wonderful vegetarian restaurant! We visited several vegetarian restaurants during out central Europe vacation and Maitrea was the best. A cozy atmosphere with wonderful food. We also brought our meat eating parents along and they also enjoyed their meals very much. The restaurant is a bit tricky to find but it is well worth the effort!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quality veggie food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I´m a veggie so always hunt out restaurants when away and glad I found this one in Prague. Nice ambience when you walk in and clean and friendly. The food was very good and they give nice, big portions. I ate a goulash which was fantastic and my husband a stir fry which he said was very good too. The warm choc brownie for desert is great and the hot chocolate is very moreish! Reasonably priced and we ended up eating here twice it was so good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Good vegetarian food and nice decor. I was alone while on business trip but seemed to me a nice place for going with a friend as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fresh, Delicious, but bad Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Ate lunch there because of all the great reviews, and consistent with fresh and delicious food, but horrible service. Arrived at 13:30 with 1/3 of tables occupied. After ten minutes not one service had been offered, no drink or food order. Had to wave down and request servers to take our drink order, food order, bring the entire lunch (water and a side dish were part of my meal that weren't brought until requested), get final bill, etc. Disappointed because ambiance is fun, great decor, fabulous food, but ruined by poor service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maitrea also viewed

Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Maitrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maitrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.