We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Bastille

La Bastille
Ujezd 26/426, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
+420 257312830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,740 of 4,243 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our restaurant offers quiet and comfortable environment in a style of the most famous French prison.We serve international dishes and sorts of wine that corespond to the food selection and of course many others.. We are looking forward your visit and we hope you´ll be satisfied about the concept of our effort.
Michigan
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

everything was average in this place, in terms of food, service, the place, ... The location was good, in a 'back street' close to the center.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    31
    10
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Could Have Been So Much Better....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a nice-looking restaurant with a good menu and cocktail list. Our visit was, however, spoiled by dis-interested and poor service.

The waitress was slow to serve us (even though we were 1 of only 2 parties); had to come back because she'd forgotten what we ordered; and then served up chips instead of rice with my wife's main course.

When we asked for the rice we had ordered, she requested it but left my wife's dinner to go cold. When we raised this, both with the waitress and the other member of staff, we were brushed away, being told the rice wouldn't take long.

It didn't take that long (thanks to a microwave, I assume) but it was long enough for her food to cool and to spoil the meal.

We left without ordering desserts and had our cocktails at a nice Thai restaurant nearby.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We chose from the old czech cuisine menu, and the dish was excllent. The prices were better than in most restaurnts offering similar menu.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Knie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Had something nice to eat. Atmosphere is very nice, the Knie of pork must be famous and is very recommendable @ around 195ck. Good beer at 35 ck (Budweiser 0,5l)
My wife had the gnocchi with spinacci and garlic. Also very tasty.
In total very nice location with nice waiter and good food @ fantastic pricing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Why would you go to Prague if you didn't want to try great Czech food? The difficulty is working out who serves average food and whose is great.

Despite the rather distracting french name, La Bastille was great. We had braised beef cheeks and piquant beef goulash for mains with saluted duck livers and potato and garlic soup to start.

Excellent, along with 4 1/2 litres of Budweiser Budva (yes the Czech beer) the total was £25 including tip.

So good we are going g back tonight!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bastille also viewed

Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to La Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bastille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.