We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a traditional Czech meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Svejk Restaurant U Karla

Svejk Restaurant U Karla
Kremencova 7, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 2)
+420222515889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #667 of 4,249 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Praha 2
Greater Toronto Area
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great value for a traditional Czech meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We dined here on our last night in Prague. I ordered the 1/4 duck dinner which was accompanied by cabbage and bread dumplings. The meal was huge! The serving of duck was a thigh and leg, the cabbages were red (rote kohl) and a sweetly seasoned sauerkraut with caraway seeds. The cabbages were a bit sweeter than I would normally like but a lovely accompaniment to the duck. A sampling of 3 different dumplings rounded out the meal. Each component was served in its own small frying pan (for presentation purposes only) that were inset into a wood serving tray. My husband had pork schnitzel, also a huge portion. This came without accompaniments so he ordered a cabbage salad and rosemary potatoes. We shamelessly ate everything, washing it down with a Kozel dark beer. Without tip, the meal was 550 CZK. The restaurant is spotless and the wait staff friendly by Czech standards. We'd recommend and would visit again should we return to Prague.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    85
    32
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Girdwood, Alaska
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Do not enter...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The night we arrived in Prague, before doing any research on restaurants we walked into this restaurant. Words of advice...go to U Tri Ruzi (only 1 block away). You will be charged for the stale pretzels that are on the table upon arrival, the vegetables are previously frozen, and the bread is stale. Avoid at all cost! :-) Oh, and do not be fooled by the server telling you that there is no tip included. Read the tipping etiquette tips on TA before walking into any restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

One of the best restaurants in Prague, when it comes to traditional food. Nothing pretentious, just a good, friendly atmosphere with great people and very nice service! The restaurant was packed when we arrived, but the waitress was nice enough to save a table for us - it only took 15 mins and we found a table labelled with our name!
The best dishes we had: Utopenec (a pickled sausage - starter) and lamb roll. Of course, everything was perfectly complimented by Becherovka, Slivovic and their amazing beer.
There are several Svejk restaurants in Prague, most of them closer to the city center than this one. We only tried Svejk U Karla, we thought it was the cheapest and the most cozy one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food... excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I guess everyone had faced the lack of hospitality in Prague restaurants... well, almost everyone I know :). This is not the case. Here we found very friendly staff, very helpful when it comes to choose some traditional dishes which are not familiar to foreigners. The food was excellent. Large portions at normal prices even if the restaurant is close to the centre of Prague. 500kc are enough for two persons to eat a lot and to share 3 beers (15% tips included... I usually tip 10% if the place is ok).

Only one advice: DON'T order soup AND main course. You will have problems finish them both. :) Save the money for more beer :)).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing friendly gluten free restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I've recently discovered I'm gluten intolerant and was really worried about eating in Prague so I had a little google of where to go and found this gem. They have a gluten free and a "normal" menu, gluten free bread and most excitingly gluten free BEER! I have been feeling deprived being in Prague with no beer and Celia really hit the spot - so much so that my hubby had one too! I'm also lactose intolerant just to be extra difficult and our lovely waiter was so so helpful with what I could and couldn't have. Highly recommend to all whether gluten free or not

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Svejk Restaurant U Karla also viewed

 

Been to Svejk Restaurant U Karla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svejk Restaurant U Karla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.