We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague to your Saves list
Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holeckova 13, Prague 15000, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

This was one of the hotel's I was looking forward to staying in most during our trip and I ended up being a little disappointed. The hotel itself is just as nice as everyone says with modern rooms, great bathrooms and a decent all included breakfast. A note of caution though, the pillows are a joke. They are SO big you can't really sleep on them. I woke up with a sore neck that nagged me for the rest of the trip...NOT impressed by that. Location wise I'd only say is mediocre. It's probably really nice in the spring or summer but if you are planning on travelling in the winter I'd probably recommend something a bit closer to the main areas of town. It was rather cold while we were there so the 20 minute walk to get anywhere was rather miserable. Also, the cobblestone sidewalks seem to be much more treacherous than a normal sidewalk so be careful when you are walking. Oh, and this hotel is located on a hill with a semi steep incline so you might want to keep that in mind when booking as well. The ice made getting down the hill on the sidewalk an adventure. Overall I just have to say it's OK. It was a really clean hotel and you can't argue with the price but there were just a few things that could have been done much better and the location really isn't ideal during winter stays.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy321, Manager at Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
Dear Janesse

Thank you very much for your review. Every review is very important to us as we always use reviews to improve our services and serve our customers better.

I am glad to read that in your opinion our hotel is nice, clean and that the price is right. On the other hand I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the pillow in your room and with the location of the hotel.

Our hotel standardly provides 1 big pillow and 1 comforter per bed. As we are aware of the fact, that the choice of a right pillow is very subjective matter, our hotel offers a pillow menu, so every customer has a possibility to select a pillow of size and thickness which s/he likes. The pillow menu is available on request. It is a pitty that you did not contact the front desk with this issue, as we would provide an alternative pillow immediately and would make the rest of your stay more comfortable.

Regarding our hotel location, there is probably not much to add. Yes, our hotel is not directly in the Old Town, on the other hand, it is very short walk to the Charles Bridge and to other sites. If you do not feel like walking, in that case we suggest to use the tram, which stops roughly 1 minute walk from our hotel and takes you anywhere in the center for les than 1 EUR per person within 5 minutes.

Thank you one more time for your review and we all hope to see you in our hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Ondrej Opletal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    301
    39
    6
    0
See reviews for
101
656
64
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Really nice hotel about a 15-20 mins walk to Charles Bridge. Relatively new on the Prague scene and very modern in design. I had a loft type room on the top floor which was very spacious - huge pillows. Room was rather warm when I arrived but the air-con worked very well and was soon at the right temperature. The staff were very courteous both at reception and at breakfast which was a mixture of continental and hot style. All in all this is an excellent value hotel and ideal for business and leisure travellers and would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I went to Prague in early December last year and thoroughly enjoyed it; a large part of this was owing to the fantastic location and amenities that the Red and Blue Design Hotel offered.

Location wise the hotel is around a 25/30 minute trip from the airport. We used an excellent transfer company to get to the hotel. They sent a clean and very comfortable Audi A4 to pick us up along with a friendly and knowledgeable driver who gave us a few good tips on where to visit and a really helpful map. This cost around £15 each way but was well worth it. The company even sent the same driver to take us back, I thought this was excellent attention to detail or perhaps a sign that we tipped too much.

The hotel is walking distance to all the major attractions in Prague which are all located within walking distance of one another. It’s around a 10 minute walk to the Charles Bridge or a 2 minute tram ride (these are easy to use and inexpensive). You can also walk to an excellent beer hall from the hotel with ease - U Medvidku.

There is a small bar in the hotel that I did not use (there are traditional beer halls etc everywhere which were much cheaper) but it looked well stocked and not totally unreasonable. The room service stopped slightly earlier than I would have liked owing to a late arrival (around 2230) but the menu seemed fairly comprehensive and the pringles/nuts etc in the surprisingly not overpriced mini-bar managed to keep me going. Breakfast was nice, the dining area was clean and the staff friendly. The selection of foods was quite impressive considering the bijou nature of the dining area. It was very much a continental selection - fresh breads, meats, fruit etc with a few hot dishes also.

The decor of the whole hotel and especially the room was lovely, very simple and elegant. The place was kept very clean and furnished to a high standard. The beds were comfortable and access to free wi-fi was certainly helpful. The bathroom in the room was nice, a very large shower being the highlight.

The hotel’s staff were friendly and helpful, there was one rather stern looking lady who I heard being slightly less than friendly to some other guests but everyone I dealt with whilst there was fine.

I would highly recommend this hotel or anyone who wants to be close to the centre of Prague and all the tourist sites, beer halls, restaurants that Prague has to offer. As we were there over the Christmas period we were also close to the two major squares (Old Market Square and Wenceslas Square) which were home to two amazing and very picturesque Christmas Markets. This is an ideal hotel for people wanting a simple elegant and well-kept hotel in which to base themselves for a city break in a very beautiful and interesting city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. We loved Prague so much we ended staying the 3 nights instead of 2. The hotel was fantastic. The staff is super helpful. The breakfast was amazing! The bed was very very comfortable. It was a very quiet hotel. The bathroom was very large! The hotel is within walking distance to everything. Also you can take the tram if you want to get around quicker. We will stay here again if we return to Prague and have recommended it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

The hotel was more than we expected for a 4 star hotel. The room was excellent with the big beds making sleep more comfortable. Also very very clean. The staff was very friendly too and the breakfast more than satisfying.Very qood value of money. To the city center was a few stops with the tram (excellent transportation system) but no problem at all. There is also a very big mall nearby with a huge Tesco supermarket. Last we ate very very well in the restaurant "La fame" 5 minutes away from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a short break in December and had an amazing time! We paid about £60 per night for a double room and could not believe how nice the hotel was for this price! We arrived on an early flight and the hotel staff were very friendly and more than happy to let us check in early. They provided us with maps and directions to the center and were on hand to answer all our queries throughout our stay.
The room was large and immaculately clean and we had a nice view over the city. Were given a red room, which we had requested when booking (personal preference!) but all of the room appeared to be of a similar design. The highlight of the room was the bed, being the most comfortable I have yet to find! The room was equipped with everything we needed including free tea and coffee facilities and anything we used was religiously replaced every day. Bathroom was modern, nicely decorated and again very clean, Bathrobes would have been a nice touch but for this price you can't complain!
Breakfast was included which appears to be a rare thing for European hotels and there was a good selection everyday. The hotel had no restaurant but this was not a problem as there were plenty of restaurants and supermarkets in the surrounding area.
The location of the hotel was perfect, the area had lots of nice shops and cafes and was refreshingly local whilst being only a 10-15 minute walk from the historical center. There was a tram stop 2 minutes from the hotel but we never had occasion to use it as everything was within walking distance.
I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good value, modern hotel in central Prague and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Everything has already been mentioned by previous reviewers - very clean and modern, well appointed rooms (our children were upgraded to a Superior room - spacious with separate shower, bath and two washbasins!) - our room had a seating area with desk which was very usefui for using our laptop. I liked the fact that both rooms had a proper comfy sofa. It was very quiet at night - probably due to the location slightly away from the old town and overlooking a large park. The staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast was ok - not that great, and the coffee was really not good - something I have found with most hotels regardless of star rating. So if you like your morning caffeine, find a cafe.

It was very cold when we were there but still managed to walk to all the sights (even though trams are close to the hotel). All in all a good place to stay. And very close to the Artisan restaurant (1 min walk) which is worth eating in. My advice re restaurants is to get some recommendations. There are lots of mediocre and worse around. We ate in Ambiente Pasta Fresca (off the old town square), Artisan and Carmelita (also near the hotel) and they were all good. It's the most beautiful city - enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague

Address: Holeckova 13, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.