We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a Top Secret hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red & Blue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red & Blue to your Saves list
Red & Blue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holeckova 13, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Could be a Top Secret hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I am a cynic with hotels, I travel a lot with my job and I rarely leave a hotel review unless it's really bad or in this case really really good. The attention to detail in all aspects from the room standard & cleanliness, the high quality fittings and fixtures, the excellent beds & shower, to the helpful staff is far superior to the price we paid. Breakfast was excellent, and a bonus as I didn't realise it was included! The location is less than central but that brings so many advantages....some excellent restaurants nearby at half the price, a tram stop down the road and only 10 minutes walk to Charles bridge, plus the lovely park across the road. I'd stay there again in an instant.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    318
    42
    6
    0
See reviews for
114
712
65
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel is 5-10 minutes walk from the main town centre. However, the service is friendly and helpful. The breakfast has a good selection including a warm option. The hotel rooms are clean tidy and really good size. We didn't use it but each room has a flat screen TV. Price doesn't do it justice. Don't tell them that though! The transport system is easily accessible.
Great hotel can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Could not fault anything. Hotel was lovely and spotlessly clean with spacious room, staff really helpful and friendly, good location about 15 mins walk from Old Square and a really pretty walk over river. Delicious breakfast with something to please every taste.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The design hotel was perfect for our break in Prague - it's 10-15 minute walk and you are right in the centre of the city. However, this hotel is by no means out in the middle of nowhere - it's really close to the beautiful area of Petrin where you can walk up the hill or take the funicular up to the top and admire the views. It's also close to the memorial to the victims of communism which is definitely worth a look, as well as numerous bars, cafes and restaurants (short walk to the Cafe Savoy - a must-visit for the cakes and hot chocolate).

The room itself was very clean, large, beautifully decorated, had comfortable beds and an excellent monsoon shower (is that what they are called?)).

The breakfast was fine, and I would say the hotel bar is relatively expensive compared to the rest of Prague's bars, however, this is to be expected really, and did not matter as we were given a voucher for a free bottle of wine on arrival!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

You may be wondering why the title of my review is laughing. I am laughing at the disbelief of the price i paid to stay in such a clean, modern and well equipt hotel. The staff could not do enough for you, they were everything you could want from staff. They helped me on many occassions with directions of trams and buses that we needed to use to get the the Zoo and other Prague attractions . I cannot comment on the breakfast as we like to spend time exploring so we ate somewhere different everyday. The rooms were spacious and cleaned daily, the tv offered only a few english channels most of them being music channels. BBC world news will be your highlight "/ You are a 10-15 minute walk from charles bridge and the lesser quarter and a further 15 again to the old town square. 20 minutes from wenceslas square. 25 minutes from the petrin tower and 30 minutes from the Castle. There was a mini fridge in the room, plenty of cupboard space for 2 22kg bags of luggage and there was also a pillow menu!! and free WIFI of course. i would say that the location was little bit further away from the centre than i would of liked but for £200 for 6 nights so for £33 a night for a double room how can i complain in any way shape or form. The fact that this hotel has never had terrible review on TRIPADVISOR says enough. Book this now! I hope this has helped you and if there are any questions you have feel free to ask me. Thank you, i hope this has helpful!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

On our last day which was the 27th of Jan the wonderful Kara helped us with flowers for friends. she did put her self out for us. I was in a panic about the taxi and she was so clam. fabulous hotel and all you could want. service wonderful and thank you all so much.
We did go to Pivnice which is the solder bar down the road for our last meal. We have drunk in there before, but on the last night at 9.30 we were marched out of there. So don't go for a meal at that time................................ The guy with glasses was so rude and we just wanted to run.
But the hotel is fab and well worth a stay there and they sort out taxi and trips.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Overall the hotel is ok, the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and the bathroom decent. Some issues however; we booked a triple room, three men, and they aknowledged on reception that we had a triple room, however instead we got a queen size and a sofa bed, so two of us had to share a bed - this is not my defenition of a triple. For 3 of us they only gave one key card, I've been in a few hotels over the years and always when you have more than one person we've been given two key cards. This and the fact that the doors were locked at night, with entry only through a key card, meant that we had to all stay out as long as each other; with myself being ill and wanting to go home early, the others wanting to stay out till 5 in the morning.
The location isn't great, there's a few shops around but the city is a good 30/40 minute walk across the river, in the summer this probably isn't a big deal but we went there with temperatures at minus 13 at times. The food wasn't anything special, typical continental breakfast, the cooked breakfast items were pretty poor. I'd like to give it 2.5/5 but this isn't possible so I'm plump for 3

Room Tip: Don't book a triple and expect 3 sperate beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy321, Manager at Red & Blue, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear JBayf

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to read about the inconvenience with your room and room card. I see the biggest problem in the communication. Our standard tripple room does have a king size bed (180x200cm) and a sofa bed. We do not have queen size beds in our hotel. Your reservation did not contain any single beds request - which is possible to add, nor have we received any such request during your stay. The whole issue could have been quickly sorted with the front desk and we could have provided a room with three single beds. Unfotunately we never received an information that this is requested.

We standardly provide 1 room card per room, but it is absolutely no problem to provide more. This is again a matter of seconds to sort this out with the front desk. Also, as there is 24/7 reception, the front office could have let you in your room any time, even without your room card - just a simple ID is enough to prove the right to enter the room. We will now start checking already during the check in process that our customers have enough room cards.

Our hotel location is a topic which is part of almost every review. Some people love it, for some people it is good location and for some people we are far from the centre. Our hotel is located behind the corner from one of the biggest shopping centers in Prague - Novy Smichov (4 minutes walk); it is located 10 minutes walk from the National Theatre . It is roughly 15-20 minutes walk to the Wenceslas square. No, we are definitely not in the middle of the Old Town Square, however, you are walking distance from all major sights. Moreover, not beeing directly in the middle of the Old Town enables our customers to explore the real Prague and its real life, not only the tourist center.

I am sorry to read that you were not happy with the breakfast offer. We are continualy working on its improving and will also use your feedback. Thank you.

It is a big pity that the above problems were not solved immediately with our front desk, as I am sure that solving them immediately would have made your impression from our hotel completely different.

We hope to see you in Prague soon again.

Kind regards

Ondrej Opletal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red & Blue

Address: Holeckova 13, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red & Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Red & Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red & Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.