We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - location could have been better but doesn't matter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague

Save Saved
You added Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holeckova 13, Prague 15000, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 668 hotels in Prague
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - location could have been better but doesn't matter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hotel was excellent, rooms clean and breakfast perfect! Rooms are but if you want bathtub, book it in advance, some rooms have shower, some bathtub. Breakfast area was in the garden area, but you can also eat inside. There was also nice variation in the choices and some local specialities. Highly recommend!

We like to walk around so it doesn't matter that it's not in the tourist area or the shopping area. There is also tram nearby if you don't want to walk. Some excellent restaurants nearby, for example Ristorante Carmelita.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bathtub, some shower so if you prefer either, mention it in the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    707
    268
    36
    6
    0
See reviews for
83
582
59
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A group of 4 of us booked this hotel for a cheap break. First Budapest for 2 days then Prague for 3, we were expecting a budget hotel and my god we were so wrong. The experience starts with the lobby. We have never stayed in a hotel with staff like these, they are so so polite, really friendly and so helpful. In particular we would like to thank Lucie who was our first contact, she was so sweet and helpful. Lovely experience. Rooms are simply stunning, beds so comfy, really nicely finished. Lovely breakfast served every day, we could fault absolutely nothing. Location is again great, off the main tourist area was a great surprise, the hotel looks out onto Petrin Hill, again which is great for morning walks and up the top for a stunning view of prague. Lucie recommended a couple of good options for local foods, we tried olympia restaurant. again the food there was amazing, locally smoked sausages and beer at £1 a go. We will be going back to the same hotel again in the summer, Oh yes they also have excellent fixed price cabs linked to the hotel, again really cheap and polite. Great Great place. We saw the manager on the way out, she runes a tight ship and it shows! excellent experience, cant wait to come back!!

Room Tip: both rooms we had were stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

An excellent hotel. We were greeted by a friendly, happy, professional receptionist who could not do enough for you. The rooms are a good size and the hotel is very tastefully decorated. Breakfast plentlyfull and good quality with variety.I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Also quite central without being in the middle of everthing.

Room Tip: 305 is a much larger room than 309 (305 has a sitting area and study area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this lovely hotel. Excellent staff and nice clean accomodation with exceptional attention to detail.

Location: a little out of the main area about 10-15mins walk to St Charles Bridge, but within 3 minutes you can walk to the regular tram stop, which is at th bottom of the hill, trams are very frequent no issues with public transport in Prague

Bedroom: nice sided bedroom, with good sized bathroom with bathtub, overhead rainforest shower, toiletries included complimentary and you can ask of additional complimentary items to make your stay run smoothly. Heating system was fantastic no issues with he air conditioning, fresh towels everyday, comfy mattress and pillows.

Breakfast: good selection of breakfast foods, just enough to make you comfortably full. Great start for the day, hot and cold options, fruit, yogurts and homemade cakes.

Additional: it was my birthday and the hotel went out of they way to present me with a small box of chocolates in my bedroom, we hadn't informed the staff it was my birthday so must have realised fm my check in documents, lovely touch which was unnecessary but highlights that the hotel exceed minimum expectations and it's the little touches that make holidays memorable.

If we were to return to Prague we would most likely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Loved the breakfast buffet, many selections with local foods. Location is about a 15 minute walk to St. Charles bridge area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They had great suggestion for places to eat that were only a 5-10 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Everything about my stay here exceeded my expectations and they were high to start with given the great reviews I had read before I booked.

Starting with a quick, and professional and on time private car transfer from the main railway station to the hotel, check in was handled in a very friendly manner by the on duty staff and the off duty manager who was there at the time.

I was in room 306 which faced the street which was busy at times but the room had very effective double glazing which stopped any sound from entering the room. The room itself was the largest I encountered on my recent trip and while apart from being a great size was very comfortable and nicely furnished. The room had everything I could have wanted for my 6 night stay.

A very comfortable bed with nice linen awaited me each day after I returned from a long day out. All the things you wanted to work did, the TV, the internet and the air-conditioning. The bathroom was nicely appointed and had a very large and deep tub, hairdryer, toiletries and nice towels.
Breakfast each morning consisted of an amazing selection of international and local items and was in a nice bright room in the basement. The staff were very friendly and getting ice to take back to the room each night was no problem as was the arrangements for my transfer from the hotel to the airport at the end of my stay.

The location of the hotel is pretty good, it is a little off the main tourists area but the tram at the bottom of the hill makes getting anywhere pretty easy though the walk up the hill back to the hotel at the end of the day may be a downside for some. At the bottom of the hill is a tram stop with a number of tram lines that will take you quickly and cheaply to most of the areas a tourist would want to go to and within easy walking distance is a big new shopping mall with a number of restaurants in and around it and a metro station as well.

Overall I couldn’t rate this hotel high enough and while I usually like to stay in different hotels when I revisit a city I would most likely stay here again.

Thanks for a wonderful stay in Prague.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Sure this hotel is a little bit out of the main tourist area of town, but if you can handle a short tram line or a lovely stroll across the bridge then you won't find much better for your money than this hotel.

The staff here are wonderful, the breakfast will get you going in the morning and the rooms are clean, comfortable and a pleasure to come back to at the end of the day.

Well worth the money we spent to stay here, and I look forward to our next stay when in Prague.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague

Address: Holeckova 13, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 668 hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red and Blue Design Hotel Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.