We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, decent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Majestic Plaza

Save Saved
You added Grand Majestic Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Majestic Plaza
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Truhlarska 16, Prague 11000, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 668 hotels in Prague
Largs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, decent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Got this hotel for a great price so was very pleasantly surprised to find just how nice it was. Very modern, spotlessly clean and with a very well appointed room. Breakfast choice was fairly decent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. WiFi is only available in the lobby, for some reason, and you'll find yourself standing around with many other people checking the 'net on their phones or tablets!

Location is pretty good, literally 10 minutes stroll from the Old Town Square and within short walking distance of the Jewish Quarter and both train stations. However, it is located on a very quiet street - up side, no noise and a great night's sleep; downside, seems deserted at night - but at no point did I feel unsafe when walking back late at night.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetrPetty, Director of Operations at Grand Majestic Plaza, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. If your travels bring you to Prague again we look forward to welcoming you back!
Sincerely,
Petr Petty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    635
    502
    82
    18
    16
See reviews for
195
601
23
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macduff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We returned yesterday from a 5 day break in Prague. Stayed in this hotel and was absolutely delighted with everything. We had a problem with the room allocated to us but it was sorted out the next day and we were more than happy. We only had breakfast at the hotel daily and it was more than adequate with plenty to chose from and very friendly staff. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and most of the staff are very helpful though some of them could be a bit more cheery when dealing with the public. There were 8 of us in our party and everyone of us would have no problems whatsoever in staying at this hotel again. As all the other reviews state the hotel location is within easy walking disttance to most of the tourist highlights of Prague. Have no doubts at all about booking this hotel it is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMajesticFOM, Front Office Manager at Grand Majestic Plaza, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Wow! Thank you for your exceptional comments about our hotel and our staff. We truly appreciate your outstanding rating and hope that we will have the pleasure to be your hotel again soon.

Sincerely,
Romana Mrackova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We've booked this hotel via internet, also because of the many good feedbacks here on tripadvisor - as more surprised I was, was I've got in the end.

We arrived early morning, okay, I can understand that there was no early check-in possible, so we left the luggage at the counter. When we returned, a porter boy took our luggage to the room (what is normal for a 4* hotel), no special effort. We gave to the porter a 1-Euro coin. He REJECTED the tip with the words "ah, only one Euro, its too less, keep it" - this is very rude and me and my wife were just shocked!

In general the hotel should work on training and education of staff - there was no service, no communication at all through the stay, no offers, simply nothing, not even feedback asked on departure. It seems to me like the staff does not like to work with guests - what is very strange for a hotel in this class.

The room size was okay, and it was clean. Many things scratched, paint scratches, Bathroom quiet fresh renovated, in general also okay. Furniture setting was poor and not helpful - no full-body-mirror, no make-up-mirror, no hair conditioner, no spirits in the minibar, no complimentary water, no in room WIFI, etc.

Bed was nice, large, sleep quality was good - just pitty that bed loundry was broken, with holes and scratches in it....but clean.

The breakfast hall was looking like a factory - noise, crowded, poor setting. Again no service - you need to make your coffee from a machine while the waist is hanging on yout table for all your meal. Buffet was okay, plenty choice, but average quality.

The lobby was also quiet poor - no newspapers, no water-dispenser, just some scratched and used furniture. All-in-all a sad place. The on the website high praised illuminated fountain was broken during all the stay.

On the website is a SPA listed with jacuzzi - it's not a hotel facility, its a subcontract strange thai company running this SPA in the basement of the hotel. services are extra to pay and quiet high priced.

There is one huge plus on this hotel - the location. Just a few steps from old town, directly behind the large Palladium shopping mall, so really perfect to explore the city. Also there is a little shop in the street to buy some water and snacks, also a good Spanish restaurant and some bars.

So, the conclusion - it may be okay for a short city visit or a business trip, but this hotel is for sure not the money worth - and for aure not a so called 4* superior hotel. Next time i would stay in one of the chain-5*-hotels in this location, for only little money more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMajesticGM, General Manager at Grand Majestic Plaza, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your message.

I am sorry, that we didn´t meet your expectation and we do our best to learn from your feedback.
Therefore I would like to kindly ask you, if you can send me on my e-mail more details about your date of stay as well as the name of the bellmen who provided the porterage for you. Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Petr Lzicar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just around the corner from all of the hustle & bustle, this was a great location if you like to walk the city of Prague. A great Spanish restaurant was nearby, and an excellent coffee bar. Walked from the hotel to Charles Bridge and all the way up to St Norberts. Service at the hotel was EXCELLENT, Roman helped us with taxi's for 6 people, storing our luggage & recommends. He was great! Highly recommend this location as it is down a quiet side street with everything you need close by

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMajesticFOM, Front Office Manager at Grand Majestic Plaza, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Wow! Thank you for your exceptional comments about our hotel and our staff. We truly appreciate your outstanding rating and hope that we will have the pleasure to be your hotel again soon.

Sincerely,
Romana Mrackova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed 3 nights 11 - 14 october and enjoyed our stay here. Our Fourth floor room was clean and confortable. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. Quite liked the layout of the hotel. One or two things probably need some updating in the public areas . The location is close enough to the main attractions to be able to walk to them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMajesticFOM, Front Office Manager at Grand Majestic Plaza, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

It´s always a great feeling when we hear our guests talk about their positive experiences about our hotel. It means a lot to us. Thank you and we hope you come visit us again.

Sincerely,
Romana Mrackova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and everything was very good - location within walking distance of all the attractions but just outside the pedestrian zone in a quiet street. Staff were very polite and helpful. Breakfast good and room reasonable size with tea/coffee and mini bar. Drinks at bar very reasonable (unusual for a hotel of this size). On the down side Wi-Fi only available on ground floor but free, connect by cable in rooms. Only TV programme in English is BBC world news. Plenty of places to eat nearby - if on a budget the Palladium shopping Mall has a selection of eateries on the top floor (3 mins walk away). The minibus for 130 Kronor to/from the airport also very near. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetrPetty, Director of Operations at Grand Majestic Plaza, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. If your travels bring you to Prague again we look forward to welcoming you back!
Sincerely,
Petr Petty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in October and was very pleased with the hotel. Good sized room with all amenities. Food was good and reception staff were very helpful. Slightly off the main tourist track but that is not an issue. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetrPetty, DO at Grand Majestic Plaza, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. If your travels bring you to Prague again we look forward to welcoming you back!
Sincerely,
Petr Petty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Majestic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Majestic Plaza

Address: Truhlarska 16, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Prague
#57 Business Hotel in Prague
#82 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#86 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Majestic Plaza 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Majestic Plaza is located in one of the most desirable localities, in the heart of historical centre of Prague, just few steps from the famous Municipal House, Gothic Poder Gate, significant Republic Square and most attractive shopping centre Palladium. 4* Grand Majestic Plaza provides 196 design rooms including 6 luxury apartments with balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Grand Majestic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Majestic Plaza Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Majestic Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.