We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time and money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Toy Museum

The Toy Museum
Jirska, 6, Prague, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)
420-224372294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 1,345 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The second-largest exhibition of toys in the world. The collection includes toys from all over the world, spanning from ancient Greece to the present.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Really not worth the visit, you have to climb up a lot of stairs and then you find out you have to pay, I personally have been to other toy museum where it had much more interesting stuff. I felt this was a waste of time and money

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    34
    15
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Packed Toy Museum-memories of childhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We saw the entrance after leaving the Dalibor Tower part of The Prague Castle area.We were not sure what to expect but were all(the four of us are in our 50s and 60s) and we all enjoyed this wonderful toy museum on two floors packed with toys old and new with a particularly large collection of Barbies, Cindys, and Action Men but we particularly enjoyed the older toys and there were many over a century old.More modern exhibits included Strong Wars figures and life size Superman.Well worth the 70Kc entrance fee.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not just barbies...trains, soldiers, and Michael Jordan action figure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you want to do something off the beaten path, then go here. Sometimes on trip seeing the typical European art museum can get old. This toy museum is well organized. The amazing collection of antique dolls and trains gives you a glimpse of what wealthy little boys and girls played with as far back as 100 years. It's a far cry from today's cheap plastic toys. It's really a great anthropological trip through time. You can learn a lot from the barbie collection over the years of how values have changed. As a "big boy" I really enjoyed the train collections. The staff are also super cool. They let you take pictures and are very friendly.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for the big kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I loved this museum! A huge selection of toys and dolls from over the ages which kept us amused for a while. It wasn't too busy which was great so we could spend a fair amount of time at each collection of toys without feeling the need to push on. Some of the exhibitions could have had some better explanations alongside them, but that is really the only fault, and even then we could figure most of the toys out by ourselves! The top floor was mainly barbies but even my boyfriend enjoyed this floor as there was a good sized collection of some pop culture dolls. We took a lot of great photos and I got my photo standing next to a giant Barbie! Fantastic!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“For big kids too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is such a big laugh, great fun. Enjoy looking at the creepy dolls and odd faces of some of the toys, laugh and take a photo next to the life-size superman and barbie. The information is great and you can see the progression of Barbie from what she began as to what she is now, along with many other toys including a toy-robot display.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Toy Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Toy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toy Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.