We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont go here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Finestra in Cucina

La Finestra in Cucina
Platnerska 90/13 | Praha 1 - Stare Mesto, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
+420 222 325 325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 2,849 restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: La Finestra in Cucina was opened in 2009 as the second restaurant of Italian chef Riccardo Lucque. The restaurant features an open kitchen where you can observe Chef Tomáš Černý performing his artistry as he prepares your chosen meal. La Finestra specializes in meat dishes. Beside the culinary experience, La Finestra wants to build the largest wine cellar of quality Italian wines in the Czech Republic. The adapted wine cellar was installed for this purpose.
La Center, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dont go here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The service was excellent, but the food was terrible. My wife and I both tried different pasta dishes and both were very poorly prepared and presented. The
portions were very small. The Tortellini was dried out as if it was sitting in the kitchen for hours before being served. The Tortellini was lacking flavor and had a very sparse coverage of Ragu. We were very disappointed with our experience.
There are much better choices in Prague.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    234
    81
    23
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“You must eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

WOW! That's the best descriptive word for this place. We were 'Wowed' when we ate here for my birthday in September. The best part is, it's not a pretentious atmosphere but the service is 5 star. Our waiter presented us with a selection tray of steaks & fish and explained how each piece would be seasoned, prepared, cooked and served. The wine waiter offered his opinion of suitable wine after listening to our particular tastes. All the wait staff were courteous and polite and their knowledge of the menu expert! And get this....freshly cut fruit in the mens urinal!:) The ambiance was great, exposed brick wall, candles lighting the room, attentive staff who greeted us and took out jackets. Can not say enough good things about La Finestra. Prices were unbelievably reasonable considering the quality and food and service. GO TO THIS PLACE!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Prague Italian surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Located in the old town of Prague this restaurant gave our vacation that added oomph! Encouraged by the positive reviews in Tripadvisor we went ahead and reserved for dinner. Excellent ingredients, excellent service and great ambience.

They offer the best steaks from Italy, Argentina... and show you the quality of the meat table side. Salads were exceptional and the dessert I had (gorgonzola cheesecake) I enjoyed immensely.

It was a great dining experience and I recommend it if you're looking for a great italian meal.

The italians have great food but I have found that it's the non italians that give you the whole dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CAlifornia, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yay! Finally a home run on this vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The concierge at our hotel recommended this place after we told her we were schnitzel and dumplinged out. We are so glad she did. We each had three courses and shared a lovely bottle of wine. Getting to choose our exact piece of meat, brought to the table by our fabulous waiter, was really a treat for us. We think of ourselves as foodies, and this veal was amongst the best we've ever had. Everything else was wonderful as well. The atmosphere is fun and upbeat and the people watching great. For a first-class dinner such as this, including the wine, the bill of $160 was quite reasonable in our opinion. On this trip we have visited Berlin, Dresden, and Prague. Now off to Vienna, then Bratislava and Budapest, so lots of restaurants to try. This was the best of the nine nights so far.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“GBTA conference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. The food was fantastic but the service made it special. The meat selections were wonderful, and the pasta was great. First rate dining experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Finestra in Cucina also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to La Finestra in Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Finestra in Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.