We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm in Old Townn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kambala Restaurant and Cafe - CLOSED

Kambala Restaurant and Cafe
Hastalska 1077/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))
+ 420 222 314 335
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $25
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Description: Hotel Hastal’s Kambala Restaurant and CaféA traveler’s delight, Hotel Hastal’s Kambala Café offers elite cuisine prepared using the freshest ingredients Prague has to offer.Much like the flat fish the café is named after, Kambala Café is a hidden treasure in the vast sea of Prague’s eateries.The name Kambala was chosen because it is unique and is easily spoken in all dialects.Additionally, the Kambala is a very peculiar looking fish and is extremely rare and delicate.We welcome you.
Hockessin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charm in Old Townn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Close to all parts of Old Town and yet if you want to venture further than you care to walk, hop on the METRO. European ambiance and reasonable prices. If you want the latest "umbrella" drink, go elsewhere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    10
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

During our stay at the Hastal Hotel, we ate at the Hotel's Restaurant twice! We thought we would be trying the city's many restaurants, but we decided to go back for a second dinner after the first! The spaghetti 'Frutti di Mare' was excellent. Pasta cooked perfectly. The seafood bass was delicious also. Stephen Black, the owner, is very personable and makes you feel welcome. Maddie was sweet, too! The atmosphere is very simple and laid-back. We enjoyed it.
We will be back on our next visit in Prague!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Great Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

The Hastal Restaurant was the perfect introduction to Prague. Bearing in mind we arrived in Prague for the beginning of Prohibition the Hastal still kept us very well pleased with a hearty steak and mushrooms and plenty of beer and wine. With great company from the proprietor Steve (aka Blacky) and who could forget that gorgeous staffy dog named Maddy the Hastal, truly has left fond memories of our 6 week trip to Europe!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“TERRIFIC JOINT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This restaurant is such a find, for a traveller looking for an authentic piece of Prague. You feel very comfortable watching the city go by in a quiet area but also be so close to many great sights. This is my second visit to the city and I feel like I have found a great place to revisit again.
I travelled alone but Steve the owner kept me entertained and well looked after. I ate dinner one night and two days later had lunch and was very happy with the quality and price of the food. Both meals were cooked brilliantly and i really felt i was getting home cooked meals, away from home. Im looking forward to my next time already.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“GREAT CUISINE, A GREAT PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great Food, for lunch and dinner for a great price. I had the chicken and pork - both were so good. The staff were friendly and funny. I feel lucky to have found this place with my friends its my third visit to Prague but really enjoyed the atmosphere here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kambala Restaurant and Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kambala Restaurant and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.