We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Jewel

Indian Jewel
Tyn 6 | Old Town, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
+420222310156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 4,249 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Askim, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Reading about this place on TA, we decided to walk there and sit down. A great place, located in aquiet backyard with a few other restaurants.

I'm no expert on Indian food, so for me the food was great at an ok price. The service was kind of "slack", not beeing properly greeted and no one smiling.. you get the feeling of being "just a costumer". They also did not serve everything that was on the menu, but there may be a good reason for such.

Looking for Indian food, try this place, I thought the food was great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,065
    358
    76
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice surprise to find fine Indian food in Prague.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We are vegetarian. Found plenty of choices ...had a great meal.
We sat outside as the breeze was refreshing and the view of people walking by was ever changing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Indian in Prague”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our dinner at Indian Jewel. Good vegetarian selection. Fantastic raisin naan. Good service. Great location. A little pricy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Set menu great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Really enjoyed our meal here, the set menu was delicious and great value. The lunchtime deal is also very reasonably priced and popular. Good location just off of the Old Town Square and lovely staff.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinstra, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good but not noteworthy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Let me reveal the best thing about Indian Jewel right away: the location!
On a busy touristy July night, being able to hide away in the back alley where Indian Jewel is located was a bonus in itself!
The staff were nice, and the food was plenty. I ordered tandoori chicken, and got bony chicken legs, without too much spices or taste. I got a very nice nan, but rice that wasn't cooked right, I think.

All in all, a nice dining experience, but absolutely not worthy among the best indian food experiences I've had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Jewel also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Indian Jewel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Jewel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.