We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Jewel is a real jewel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Jewel

Indian Jewel
Tyn 6 | Old Town, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
+420222310156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 4,249 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Indian Jewel is a real jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a wonderful surprise to find such wonderful Indian food in Prague! The location... off the main square in a little courtyard is convenient and picturesque! Totally understand the great reviews! Get there early, it fills up!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,066
    359
    76
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great lunch value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Just steps off the chaotic and mostly overpriced old town square is this quiet little square. Daily lunch special is 109 crowns or less than five euros. Had decent portion of Indian spiced chicken with basmati and even a small portion of scented rice pudding in their covered outdoor terrace. Delicious. Clean restroom too. Nice spot.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Jewel is the right name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The butter chicken,sabzi jalfreez and naan were excellent. The veges tasted as if they'd just been picked from the vine. Both dishes were perfectly spiced. Service was attentive and friendly. Prices were very reasonable. The restaurant decor was cozy and welcoming.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uster, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent indian restaurant in the center of Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in prague for only three days but went there two times. Friendly staff and delicious food! They have a Tandoor oven in which they bake fresh Naan bred and roast tasty chicken. Try the Murgh Tikka Masala!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Staff nicknamed me Mr. Chicken Tikka!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I loved this place, usually I don't like Indian food as it tends to be over spicy and disturbs my digestive system. But I couldn't resist the temptation when I smelled the food while walking by the restaurant.

So I sat on the terrace, with the Indian furniture and ambience. The meal selection was as follows:

1. Salted Lasi for drinks (had two!)
2. Meat sammosa (comes as two pieces with lots of flavor).
3. Chicken Tikka (the best I had in my life).
4. Raita - dip to cool down the heat, if any. Just like wash, rinse, repeat when necessary.
5. Tandoory rotty - great wholewheat bread without butter to handle the tikka and raita.

I had that same meal 3 times. God I'm drooling over some now.

Whenever I pass by the place, the staff wave "Hi Mr. Chicken Tikka!" Gotta love the attitude!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Jewel also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Indian Jewel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Jewel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.