We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of School Restaurant and Lounge

School Restaurant and Lounge
Smetanovo nabrezi 22, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
+420222222173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 4,247 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Czech, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Explore mysterious nooks and crannies of the world of delicious gastronomic specialties and uncommon culinary experiences. Discover unexpected taste variations and experience eating with all the senses. Visit a convivial venue where time is hidden in the mist of a magic gourmet spell. Welcome to the School restaurant & lounge.
Livingston, New Jersey
1 review
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just went there tonight for dinner and the food was excellent. We went a little late so a reservation wasn't absolutely necessary as there were few people. I ordered a ribeye steak and it was full of flavor! My wife ordered the roasted sea bass and she loved it. My daughter also ordered a steak and she thought it was DELICIOUS! I ordered a beer and it tasted better than any other beer I've ever tried. Atmosphere was great, and it feels very bright because of the white walls. The staff was very kind and they weren't pushy. I would visit it again anytime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    253
    71
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Dinner at School Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had dinner at School Restaurant while visiting Prague. Beautiful view and fabulous meal. Staff were wonderful and quite well priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We ate breakfast here and it was just amazing. My husband ordered poached eggs, three came in a champagne glass along with baked beans, mushrooms, bacon and tomatoes on the side. What a combo! Unlike anything we had ever seen! I ordered the crepes, but with the fruit (mixed berries) on the side. The crepes were thicker than you would expect, but the taste was good. The service was pleasant, but it took a half hour for the food to arrive even though we were the only ones in the restaurant. That won't stop us, as we are thinking of returning today. It is a real gem across from the river.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Last minute choice that really paid off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We actually came across School by using the 'nearby' feature on the Trip Advisor app, as it was close to where we were staying and it was absolutely thundering with rain outside, so we didn't fancy venturing far afield!

We made a reservation on the same day (it was a sunday) and secured a table without any problem, maybe we were lucky though, as the restaurant was busy when we arrived.

This a lovely place, close to the river in a popular area, yet inside it's quite relaxed - you can look out on the hectic people going by and feel rather pleased that you are seated in the window.

The restaurant is light and airy and benefits from natural light and white walls, which are decorated with rather lovely hand painted characters and animals. The staff are friendly, attentive and engaging, rather than over-familiar and they were knowledgeable about the food.

So, on to the food - we shared a baked brie that was accompanied by a lovely sharp cranberry sauce and we ordered starters too - garlic soup, which was beautifully served with accompaniments in small dishes alongside, such as baked ham, finely grated cheese, croutons and even extra garlic! For main course the whole see bass was perfectly cooked and my husband's steak was incredibly flavourful. We selected local wine, of which there were plenty on the list.

Overall this was an unexpected experience and one that did live up to the ratings that other diners had given the restaurant and it was great value for money too. I would visit again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fabulous final meal in Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We had been a bit disappointed in some of the meals we had been having in Prague and decided to try School for our final meal. We have just returned from this restaurant and it was I was lovely, the staff were attentive, cheerful and willing to share a smile. It seemed that nothing was a problem and they were keen to make sure our dining experience was good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed School Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to School Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage School Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.