We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When Czech offers Asian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha Bar

Buddha Bar
Jakubska 649/ 8, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))
+420 221 776 400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #378 of 4,271 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Sushi, Fusion, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Description: After Paris, Beirut, Dubai, Cairo, Kiev, Sao Paolo, London and Jakarta... The world famous Parisian restaurant-bar-lounge has opened its doors in Prague...Buddha-Bar concept is a mixture of the present invention, the pan-Asian cuisine, rich interiors, elegant staff and exotic world music. The atmosphere of Buddha-Bar fully engulf all of your senses. Buddha-Bar restaurant is located on two large underground floors and the layout is divided into a restaurant with 100 seats and a bar / lounge area with a capacity of about 90 other places. Capacity for standing events is around 500 people. We can reorganize sit up at the restaurant, so you can have more space for your event. We can leave a couple of tables on thes is at the restaurant, where guests can find around 20 places to sit and another 90 places at the bar area. Live DJ plays world-known Buddha Bar compilations and makes a great atmosphere from9 PM every night. FIND US ON
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“When Czech offers Asian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

First impression, very high price compared to other restaurant in Prague. They probably want to attract one time tourist. Food is not outstanding. We tried sushi with regular fish, green papaya salad which had no taste at all, green curry which was probably the most correct one but Panang duck was the worse of all. It was like sweet n sour than Panang. Average 40+Euros per head without wine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    96
    41
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Liked it so much we went there twice in only a few days - the lounge is a wonderful place. It has an amazing atmosphere (largely thanks to the music, careful darkness and highly stylish decor), a perfectly elegant service, and is subtly luxurious.

Cocktails are delicious (try the Nil Martini), very affordable, and their sushis are very good though a bit more expensive.

One of the most stylish bars around.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay for the cocktails...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

The food at Buddha Bar is good, if not perfect. There is a heavy Asian influence (which is expected!) and a strong sushi selection. The price however was MUCH more expensive than the quality allows for.

The true gem is the cocktail list. Stay after dinner or arrive early for some of the best cocktails we have had in Europe. The upstairs bar is sexy and has funky funky eastern inspired music playing. Dress smart casual and enjoy yourself!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrik Z, Manager at Buddha Bar, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really proud for our cocktail list:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Me and my best friend went to Buddha Bar after seeing a write up about the restaurant and boy were we disappointed. I don't usually write reviews on restaurants, but was so annoyed, I had to. We were seated at a dingy side of the restaurant so the waiters almost seemed to forget we were there. We ordered the sushi which was below par and an astonishing $23 (Australian dollars! Or around £16!) Tiny portions and badly made sushi with little to no flavour. We ordered the chicken green curry as a main to share (we are small girls so wanted to gauge how hungry we'd be) and it was inedible. Easily won the prize for the worst green curry we've ever had with two tiny pieces of chicken in it. Not only that, but the taste was absolutely disgusting, we had to send it back a few bites in. After reading some of the positive comments on here, we feel like the standard for Asian food is extremely low here in Prague.
The only plus we have is the cocktails were good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A truely Marvelous Expierence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Buddha Bar Restaurant offers marvellous experience and the standards were first class! The atmosphere very romantic although a little better lighting system could help to enable one to get better glimpse on the menu card but it's no aggrevation, your eyes will get used to it after a while! . Food and service excellent ; Their freshly made sushi is superb, vietnamese spring roll is a delicacy, Try the chicken green curry, Thai Red curry with shripms and lemongrass, the hot Buddha Bar noodles and finish with a Trio of Cream brûlée!
WORTH A TRY!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrik Z, Manager at Buddha Bar, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you :) We are looking forward to your visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha Bar also viewed

 

Been to Buddha Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.