We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant u Certa

Restaurant u Certa
Nerudova 4, Prague, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))
+420 606 458 673
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,102 of 4,271 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Czech, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Ok meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had lunch here after visitng the castle. Nothing special. Averagee food, average service and ok food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    51
    20
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not interested”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

looks smart from the outside and inside is ok. Staff behind the bar was totally not interested in serving and did not smile the whole time we was there. Waiter was sloppy, waitress was poor at best and the food.....slop on a plate and thats putting it nice. When we were leaving four members of staff where sat on the hotel entrance stairs either talking to each other or playing on their mobiles.....not one said goodbye to us so I will say it for them....Good bye guys, I wont be back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“In one word - Overcharged!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went there with my wife and son to try their game specialities. It wasn't the best service we've seen and there were more aspects that reminded us of Romania. We had a bean soup in bread and it was nice. For main dish I had boar leg and my wife had rabbit. When we ordered we were asked what side dish we want for our food and we each ordered some side dish. At some time during dinner, the waitress put a basket with 4 slices of bread on the table. We took one slice for my son to eat with soup. The deserts and the food were good. when we asked for bill I felt that the price was a bit spicy, so I read the bill and I noticed that we paid 2 euro each for the side dish, as the main course does not have anything included beside the meat and we were charge 1 euro each for that basket of bread that was put on the table without asking for it. This again reminded us of Romania, because only there something like this is common practice in some restaurants. If we would have known about this, we would have gone at another restaurant where we had lunch 2 days before. Bottom line - you can have better service, same good food and much better prices at another restaurant, 2 doors uphill.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant atmosphere and tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stumbled on "U Certa" after walking around the city on the 30th December 2012. We went inside and were welcomed immediately by one of the two ladies who were in the restaurant area. We found a cosy table for two and ordered venison mixture and roast rabbit with rosemary and two beers. The meals arrived quickly at our table and we were satisfied with the taste. We found the meat very tender and juicy, just the way it should be.

After receiving the bill at the end of the meal, one thing which struck my eye - something we both witnessed in two other consecutive restaurants in Prague in the following days over the New Year - two positions on the printed bill were handwritten, nevertheless the sum (also handwritten) at the end was correct.

There could be two possible reasons for making handwritten positions on a printed bill:
1) the restaurant forgot to put these two positions on the bill, whereby they could have printed out a new one anyway;
or
2) Systematic tax evasion, which seems to be widespread practice in Prague restaurants.

Decide yourself, which possible reason is the most plausible!

Generally speaking, when visiting restaurants in Prague always check your bill for errors.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“extremely rude service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The food wasn't bad but the service was extremely rude being disrespectful to the guests at the other tables. We also had to ask TWICE for the bill change to be returned (the bill was around 500 and we paid with a 1000). I would never go back and do not recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant u Certa also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Restaurant u Certa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant u Certa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.