We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Ristorante Giovanni

Pizzeria Ristorante Giovanni
Kozna 11 | Praha 1, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
+420 221 632 605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 2,849 restaurants in Prague
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Praha 1
Description: Our restaurant is characterised by the quality of its Italian and international food, taking care to use the best Italian products. We offer a wide range of quality wines from various regions of Italy on our wine list.Our pizzas use typical Neapolitan dough prepared from select Italian flour, fresh mozzarella and conserved Neapolitan tomatoes, our pasta is cooked 'al dente', and our vegetables, meat and fish are always fresh and of the highest quality. In preparing our food, we only use extra virgin olive oil in accordance with Italian tradition.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Little Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

What a surprise to find this gem on the back streets of old Prague. We had a nice bottle of wine suggested by the waiter and very tasty pasta dishes. Made us feel like we were in Venice. Almost did not go in because the sign said pizza.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    312
    189
    40
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tired of traditional Prague Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Had lunch there and was very good, had the Penne pasta, others had pizza and salad. Good service, pasta was cooked just right. No glitches, no issues. I would return

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“5 Star Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant so much we ate there on three occasions.There are two restaurants the one we visited was the one that is pictured in the man body of Trip Advisor.
Highly recommended were the Tomato soup, fresh salads, risotto and the pizzas were huge.
If you have room the deserts especially the cheesecake were fresh and superb.
Our bill was always under £30.
All staff were very efficient and friendly. The location is just behind the Old Town Square. If visiting Prague eat here you will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Prague and very reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nice ambience with old style decor, very friendly and attentive staff.
Delicious authentic homemade pizza and easy drinking house wine too.
Separate smoking and non-smoking areas which is always good.
Only issue is that they don't have ketchup in the restaurant so BYOK.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Decent Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Actually I wanted to go to Ambiente Pasta Fresca. I had this as an alternative. I was not disappointed. A very decent Italian. I certainly have had better, but clearly above average. Especially the pasta(although not fresca) was very well made with a good taste. I had a small problem as my waiter had misunderstood my order, but he quickly corrected it after my complaint and I also got an espresso for free (I returned the favor by tipping extra). Overall, with a starter, a pasta, and two glasses of wine, I paid a little over 500 Kroner, which is very decent. So, I can recommend this restaurant!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Ristorante Giovanni also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Ristorante Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Ristorante Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.