We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location & value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Old Town Praha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Old Town Praha to your Saves list
Barcelo Old Town Praha
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Celetna 588/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% discount
Ranked #53 of 662 Hotels in Prague
E.Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic location & value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We arrived at the reception desk at the Barcelo to be told that our room was unavailable because of an electrical problem. Although we were never really told exactly what the problem was, we were relocated to the close by 5 star Hotel Bohemia for no extra cost. The reception staff promised us an upgrade the following day, when, we were assured our room would be available. We spent a very pleasant evening at the Bohemia and then explored the beautiful city of Prague the following day. When we returned to the Barcelo we were welcomed by the reception staff but we had forgotten about the promise of an upgrade. We were given our room key (we thought for a double room) and upon entering the room were astounded that we had been given the hotels biggest suite. The room was luxurious, including a great sound system & sunken jacuzzi. However, perhaps the nicest touch, was that staff had left us a plate of cold meats & a bottle of fizzy wine. We really appreciated the gesture - we had hardly suffered the night before after all. We would certainly return to the Barcelo, room relocation aside, it represents great value. The food is good in the restaurant too, which is more that can be sais for many of the eateries we visited (maybe we were unlucky). We had a great time in Prague, and the Barcelo is brilliantly located. I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    233
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
168
544
31
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

It was the second time we stayed at this hotel and as per my previous experience and other reviews, this hotel has retained its reputation and excellence. Had a very good and comfortable stay, only one suggestion again is that the housekeeping service can be improved as the maid tends to forget to restock all amenities but is rectified on expressing concern immediately.
Would definitely recommend this hotel due to its location, service and cleanliness.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

The location of this hotel was perfect. We took my 80 year old parents to Prague for two days so the location could not have been better. It was steps away from the city center so we could go back to the hotel to rest when needed. The hotel was modern, nice, clean, super quite and had a good breakfast. The carpet in the room is somewhat stained, but it is also beige. The only coffee available was Nespresso, which was a personal issue for us. Valet parking was offered, a bit expensive-- 29 Euro a night. I would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

Although check-in wasn't until 5pm, we arrived at the hotel at 11am due to our early flight. The reception was very welcoming and immediately moved us to another room of same standards which is already empty, as the room originally designated to us was still occupied.

The hotel room itself was very spacious, clean, modern, and comfortable. We went in the winter and the room was thoroughly heated (perhaps a little too much!) Central location made it fantastic for exploring Prague by foot. We went to breakfast on the Saturday morning and there was a nice selection of food. The only "problem" we found was that the hotel is aimed mostly at business travellers, so on a Thursday night when we went back to the hotel at 1am, the sliding doors to enter the hotel was locked and the doorbell did not work. We ended up having to bang on the door but someone came to us quite quickly after that. There is a security guard in the evening to ensure that only guests are allowed in, which was comforting. Overall, the hotel was fantastic--location, food, service, condition of the hotel and the room, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Hotel newly refurbished and tasteful, breakfast very good.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

We stayed at Barcelo Old Town and loved it! Located in the Old town and close to everything. The rooms are roomy and stylish, the beds are good and there is no noises at nigth! We stayed for 4 nigths and got a great rate! The Christmas dekorations in town are beautiful:) We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Really nice, new hotel 5 minutes from Old Town sq. They upgraded us to a Junior Suite without asking and it was fantastic. The free internet was nice too. Wouldn't recommend the Hotel Restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Old Town Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Old Town Praha

Address: Celetna 588/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Prague
#35 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#37 Business Hotel in Prague
#46 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Old Town Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, modern hotel in historical building in the heart of Prague. Just a couple of minute walk to the Old Town Sqaure.Fully equipped spacious and comfortable rooms. Ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Barcelo Old Town Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Old Town Praha Hotel Prague
Barcelo Hotel Prague
Barcelo Boutique Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Old Town Praha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.