We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, not much else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Old Town Praha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Old Town Praha to your Saves list
Barcelo Old Town Praha
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Celetna 588/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% discount
Ranked #56 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good room, not much else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel has a good location, although there are numerous as good or even better nearby. Our suite (416) was very nice indeed! Spacious, stylish, and well designed. Air-conditioning couldn't keep it all cool, though. Bathroom was big too, perhaps 30 m2 with whirlpool for 2-4, nice shower and tv set you can take a look while in bath or shower.

Unfortunately the service was quite poor. No porter, room was not made for night, glasses were not washed after use... Breakfast in the restaurant was inferior: it was too full, no one was guiding us to table, we were delivered wrong check to our table (breakfast was included in the room), poor servings, etc. Other morning we had breakfast in our room (there was a nice dining table to enjoy it), but unfortunately it was not much better. Continental breakfast did not include any cheese, ham or anything on top of bread, only half a cup of coffee instead of a pot, etc.

Wifi (free) was working good, and a valet parking was good too.

Room Tip: If youl'll have a suite, 416 is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    254
    32
    9
    5
See reviews for
176
568
31
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Spent only 1 night for business but I really loved both the location (5 mins walking from the Old Town Square and the hotel itself). An historical building reconverted into a modern and charming hotel. Very fast check-in with a complimentary glass of sparkling wine. Very spacious room with a huge king-size bed superconfortable, On the other hand, in comparison the bathroom was rather small but everything was so functional and loved every single details. Free wifi, altough sometimes the signal was a bit weak, maybe because my room was located at the very far end of a corridor, far from the central patio-reception area.
The buffet breakfast was ok, automatic coffee machine (quality so so), no fresh juices but overall quite a decen choice of hot/cold dishes, with a lot of traditional local pastries.
I would definitely stay here again, both for business and (hopefully) pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time with lovely rooms and breakfast included. It was in an ideal location right in the middle of the old town. You could easily get to all the tourist routes yet just as easily get off the beaten track. The breakfasts were great with an egg chef making you whatever you wanted. The staff were friendly and helpful and I didn't really experience anything significant to criticise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lorrach, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I spent 4 nights in the hotel with my daughter. The hotel is located right in the city centre within walking distance of the main places of interest. At nght it was very noisy but when we closed the windows and switched the air conditioning on it was quiet. The breakfast was a very good, with a good variety of foods. Although sometimes the employees needed to be told when things like milk needed refilling. The fruit juices were not fresh but were diluted squash. Even in hotels we have stayed in with less stars, fresh juice was offered. The waiters and waitresses did not look very happy - a smile costs nothing. The receptionists were very friendly and when I complained about the bathroom floor not being cleaned the first two days, the man at the desk said he would deal with the matter, which he did. The floor was clean when we returned to the hotel. I would have given 5 points for the hotel but I am deducting one because of the small need for improvement at breakfast and because the cleaners had to be told to do their job. If we go to Prague again we would choose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Walk out the front door and you are in Old Town Prague. Location couldn't be better. But some things need to be fixed. Our hand-held shower head holder was broken, so they fixed it; unfortunately, with a holder that didn't fit. So one had to hold the shower head with one hand while soaping with the other; awkward! Full length drapes cover the air conditioning vents; mini bar refrigerator fits so well into the cabinet, you need a knife to open the door to the refrigerator, or as I used, a cork screw tip. Poor lighting; nothing overhead, just low lights. Worst part was that we had reservations for king deluxe rooms, and they gave us twin superiors. After telling us they didn't have any king deluxe rooms as stated on our reservations, I showed them their website which claimed king deluxe rooms. They told me their website was wrong. So many little things were wrong. TV was about 10 inches square. Espresso machine in the lobby was expensive; not free. I do have to say that the rooms were clean, although after using the cups for coffee one morning, the maid didn't take the dirty ones with her; she left them there and expected us to wash them ourselves, I guess, because she didn't leave any clean ones to take their place. As I said, great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Barcelo Old Town in Prague and must congratulate all of the staff at the hotel for providing us with a truly fantastic stay.
We emailed the hotel informing them that the reason for the trip was to celebrate our Ruby wedding, they promptly emailed back saying that they would ensure we got a nice room.
We arrived at the hotel to be informed by the wonderful reception staff that we would have a nice surprise when we get up to the room, we certainly did as they had put us in room 418 which was a huge suite.
We also had chocolates, champagne & there were also some nice silk red roses to set the scene, the room was certainly a big surprise which helped make a truly memorable experience.
Well done to all of the staff who made the stay great and a hotel we will certainly try and get back to to try and see some more of Prague.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Prague, the hotel was very nice, we booked a junior suite and the room was nice but there were a few things that were not good. The TV was in one part of the room as you couldnt watch TV in bed.The room where the TV was placed was a bit austere and not warm and wlcoming. The room didnt have a bath which we prefer. The breakfast was good but the staff appeared to be more interested in clearing your table rather than stocking the breakfast table ( it ran out of water for tea. orange juice, no cups etc) you had to ask the staff to replenish what was missing. If you left your table for a minute it would be cleared. We had lunch, i had a burger which was so full of salt it wasnt edible. I would choose the hotel again as it was so convenient and even with the small niggles was nice

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#20 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,502 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#30 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,806 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#42 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#23 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Old Town Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Old Town Praha

Address: Celetna 588/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
#32 Family Hotel in Prague
#39 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#48 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Old Town Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, modern hotel in historical building in the heart of Prague. Just a couple of minute walk to the Old Town Sqaure.Fully equipped spacious and comfortable rooms. Ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Barcelo Old Town Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Old Town Praha Hotel Prague
Barcelo Hotel Prague
Barcelo Boutique Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Old Town Praha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.