We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alqush Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alqush Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Alqush Downtown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Legerova 1862/15, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed at Alqush 3rd to 7th of December rooms large and well maintained,cleaned daily and towels replaced,large bed which felt firm when first sat on but was very comfortable when slept in,breakfast good(scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages and beans as well as full continental style) but toaster broke on 4th and not replaced until 7th,all staff helpful and polite and very welcoming,tea and coffee making facilities in room at a charge (which is high) however you can buy coffee sachets etc at the supermarket a few minuets down the road and providing you wash cups and empty kettle before maid cleans room no charge will be incurred for for using kettle + cups,Mini bar also in all rooms at a cost,location is excellent Metro and tram,( i p pavlova) just 5 minuets walk away,Wenceslas square is a ten minuet walk away,A 24 hr tram ticket costs 110 Kc a number 22 tram will take you to the funicular railway(same ticket) for access to petrin lookout tower,and further along the line Prague castle,if you get off number 22 at stop before it crosses river and catch a number 18 tram this will take you to Charles bridge(couple of minuets walk from stop) and then to rudolfinum concert hall which is a short walk(5 minuets) from old town square, astronomical clock etc

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Sammy,
It was a pleasure reading your detailed review, I am sure many Trip Advisor users will appreciate it. We are happy that you are one of the guests who leave with an unforgettable impression and will come back one day, we will be looking forward to that. Taking into consideration the attractive prices of accommodation in a top 4* hotel, we do not have mini-bar and coffee/tea complimentary; however, anyone can definitely enjoy it at an affordable price if they want to. Next time you plan a trip to Prague, please let us know and we will provide you with the best available rate, better than you can find online.
Best Wishes
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    132
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
199
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Myself and 2 friends have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. This was my 8th visit to the city but had never stayed at this hotel before so was relying on the internet and other reviews and hoping it was a good choice. I can honestly say I was not disappointed. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from I.P. Pavlova station which is only 1 stop from the main tourist area. The main reception is beautifully decorated and clean and the reception staff were exceptionally pleasant and friendly. My room was on the 3rd floor and at the front so was a bit worried about traffic noise from the main road outside but the room was double glazed so could hear nothing. The room was exactly like the pictures on the internet. Lovely baroque style furnishings and the biggest bed I had ever seen. Very comfortable too. The bathroom was large and plenty of storage space. The room was very clean and this was maintained throughout the whole stay. Breakfast was lovely with a choice of hot and cold foods, cereals, nuts, fruit, breads etc. The breakfast staff were very pleasant and always greeted the guests in the morning. There is a nice garden area at the back of the hotel which is covered. Didn't use the garden as it was winter season but I can imagine it would be a pleasant place to sit in the evening. Check in and check out was easy and efficient and our bags were happily looked after until it was time for us to leave. All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for someone who doesn't want to be right in the centre where hotels can be very expensive but doesn't want to be too far away and well within walking distance to Wenceslas Square. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Xian,
Thank you for your kind review full of compliments, especially to our staff, services and the design in our rooms. Thank you for confirming that our double-glazed windows make the room nearly soundproof, that was the intention and since our guests’ comfort is the most important for us, we have equipped all the rooms with them which also makes us very different from other hotels in Prague. It is our pleasure to hear that you will recommend our hotels to other travelers.
Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt so welcomed and in great hands. The day we got there we received a map of Prague and a lot of brochures about city toures, cruises and a list of great restaurant recommendations which helped a lot. The hotel is very clean and in a quiet area, about 10 minutes walk to the centre. We stayed in a rome on third floor, and it was amazing. It has very beautiful architecture and internal decorations. All recommendations to stay in this hotel, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Tinchy,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We are glad to hear that you loved the interior design of our Art Nouveau hotel, when reconstructing it, we tried to preserve all the original architectural features. You can be sure that next time you pay us a visit, the receptionists will again have an updated information regarding events happening in Prague ready for you, they are really good at what they are doing. We will be looking forward to having you back.
Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel was located about 15min walk from the town centre and central for most things. The hotel itself was immaculate and very well looked after and would definitely stay there again. On the downside you have to pay for the tea supplied in your room and we found the staff did not smile a lot, but this could be a cultural thing! All in all a great stay and Prague is beautiful. We did not realise it had such amazing culture. We will be back again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Roseann,
Thank you for choosing Alqush Downtown Hotel **** for your stay in Prague. It makes us really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel lovely. As for the price of coffee and tea available in your room, the charge is still 2 EUR. I am sure you understand that since we are providing such low prices for the high standard of our services in a reconstructed hotel, we cannot provide all additional services for free. However, we do offer free Wi-Fi as well as free use of safe in your room which is not common for all hotels. We are looking forward to having you back!
Best Wishes,
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Good situation, near metro I.P.Pavlova, near Stare Mesto walking (15 min.walking)
Good staff, room service punctual, the rooms are amazing and very clean, and the hotel is very new with a big improvments.The breakfast have a lot of dishes and possibilities.
I will recommended this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We highly appreciate your kind review and are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning that the hotel is new, it was actually recently renovated and we maintain it every day not only by regular cleanings, but also painting and carpet cleaning since we believe that every guest has the right to feel like he or she is the first one sleeping in the room.
Next time you plan a trip to Prague, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly in order to get our best available rates.
Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Booked a trip on travelzoo.co.uk which included a 4 star hotel, for the price was not expecting too much, however what a surprise. The hotel rooms were very open and clean, bathrooms large and bright. The hotel wa about a 10-15 min walk from the town centre but it was a pleasant walk and meant that you could eat off the main tourist strip at a much better price ( try the legenda bar - good, plain food a lot of atmosphere and great drinks). All in all i would stay here again.
The reception staff were very pleasant and can easily arrange taxis for you - a private airport transfer cost Czk 750 (around £20) a very good price to get a direct transfer

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Jane,
Thank you for your compliments on cleanliness and size of the room, bathroom, and our location as well as our pleasant staff. I am glad that you have mentioned the great restaurants which are available at a very affordable price. We recommend all guests to ask our reception staff for restaurant suggestions, they will be very happy to provide you with detailed information about dining in our area. We now offer transfer from the airport at 650 CZK ( approximately 19 EUR). We will be looking forward to your next visit.
Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed 23rd -25th Nov, arrived at 1.30 reception busy ,so asked to drop luggage and came back to check in later, no problems so was able to explore the beautiful city and checked in when the masses had gone.
Room quiet and comfortable , bit of an odd policy with the minibar charges as this includes the tea and coffee sachets at £5 a pop yet breakfast is included. Hotel is clean and efficient and 5 min walk from old town. Breakfast has a reasonable choice. For the rate, the location, standards and the friendly team we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms not front facing (busy road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Michael,
Thank you for choosing Alqush Downtown Hotel **** for your stay in Prague. We appreciate your compliments on our location, breakfast, and staff. As for the price of coffee and tea available in your room, the charge is still 2 EUR. I am sure you understand that since we are providing such low prices for the high standard of our services in a reconstructed hotel, we cannot provide all additional services for free. However, we do offer free Wi-Fi as well as free use of safe in your room which is not common for all hotels. I would be very glad to welcome you back soon and have a personal chat with you.
Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alqush Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alqush Downtown Hotel

Address: Legerova 1862/15, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alqush Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO ALQUSH DOWNTOWN HOTEL ****Alqush Downtown Hotel **** is a luxurious family hotel situated in the heart of historical Prague. Its convenient location offers our guests a close proximity to the fascinating sightseeing highlights of Prague. Alqush Downtown Hotel **** is located only a few minutes walking distance from the famous Wenceslas Square, National Museum and the Congress Center. Hotel´s limousine service and reliable public transport guarantee quick access to the beautiful Prague Castle, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Jewish Quarter and State Opera. The hotel is surrounded with restaurants, bars, banks and close to various shopping centers.Alqush Downtown Hotel **** offers 24 air-conditioned rooms, suites and family apartments, providing free Wi-Fi with high speed Internet connection. Our guests enjoy refreshments in the hotel lobby bar with a garden or take advantage of the conference room during their business meetings. Among special services, we also provide our guests with an airport transfer, and those of you coming by car, with a monitored parking space. We believe our hospitality, friendly approach and effort to meet all your needs will make your stay in the Alqush Downtown Hotel **** in Prague unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Alqush Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alqush Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.