We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hostel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Kaktus

Hostel Kaktus
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Kaktus to your Saves list
Hostel Kaktus
Karlovo Nam.16, Prague 12000, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #615 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Dresden, Germany
2 reviews
“The worst hostel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

No doubt, the worst hostel that I have been. Our room was directly in the reception and the "breaksfast" area, and we could listen everything from there. The main problem wasn´t the guests, was the reception woman (and the owner). She was in skype at 12 pm when we tried to sleep, and I asked her to stop, because we couldn´t sleep, and she didn´t do it :( There is a dog in the reception and hair of dog everywhere in my room, in the bed... Toilet and shower completely repugnant, she doesn´t clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We did not like this hostel! Because when we were there, it was dirty, smelled bad, smoky, do not accept cards, the site has been written that there is breakfast, but it is not absolutely, only tea and instant coffee, toilet and shower facilities are falling apart.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

this is one of the best hotel that i visited in europe. this cheap hostel was booked through hostel world.com. a good kitchen where you can prepare good food because you get all staff just near the hostel . the woner helps you to select the places to visit.the century years old charles university is very near(six hundread and sixty one years old ,to be specific) only the problem is with the bath room is that it is very small.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

I've been there for two nights with my friends, the hostel is small but very clean and well located. The staff is very friendly, I really felt like i was at home. Also it's very cheap.

You have a tube station 1 min walking from the hostel and a supermarket just down stairs. If I go back to Praghe I'll go there again no doubt.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

This hostel is definitely for people on a budget which was perfect for us. We found that the place was really clean & extremely well located. It's a very quiet hostel with relaxed friendly guests, so don't stay here if you're looking for a typical party hostel atmosphere. The wireless internet is free and fast too and you can smoke in the reception area, much like many places in Prague! The gentleman who runs the place was always so friendly and accommodating, I felt that it was a home away from home. This is really a no-frills place with a free basic breakfast of instant coffee (or regular tea) with buns and jam but you really felt as if you were in Prague being there. Some people might be weary of the area but we are city people so we were fine with it. The building is very secure, the supermarket is right next door and the communal kitchen is also always spotless. This is a perfect spot for the adventurous budget traveller!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Kaktus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Kaktus

Address: Karlovo Nam.16, Prague 12000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #615 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Kaktus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Kaktus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.