We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, poor service, average food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Richter Restaurant

Villa Richter Restaurant
Stare zamecke schody 6 | Prazsky hrad, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
+420 257 219 079
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #315 of 4,249 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $8 - $37
Cuisines: Bakery, Czech, Central European, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Prague CZ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great location, poor service, average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A trap for tourists - expensive, food average, slow and unattentive service
superb location and view among the vineyard beloww Prague castle

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    72
    29
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We walked there from our apartment close by, with no booking which was no trouble this time of year. 7 or so other tables when we were there but we ate early and people were arriving as we were leaving at about 8.45pm. You arrive by walking through the vineyards and are then welcomed in to a warm, quiet but friendly setting where every table has a view. View is wonderful. Food and wine list great. We would love to go in summer but sitting in the snow was nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good at any time of year, but summer is best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great food, excellent service and in the summer time, beatuful terrace near local vineyard growing on the slopes just next to Prague Castle. Can you ask for more? Hardly. Prices are of course reflecting all this.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“High style cousine for nice prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

You can choose from first floor restaurant offering a fancy gourmet style international cuisine or ground floor restaurant offering precisely cooked traditional Czech meals. Both are very nice, upper one more expensive - but also offers the highest style. Last time I took a couple friends there after Prague Castle visit (ideal way - it is not possible to drive there - you should walk down from the Castle and my recommendation is to walk down the stairs to Lesser Town metro station to get a taxi, metro or tram after the dinner / lunch) We went to lower restaurant - which is more casual but still offers a very high class dining experience. Czech cuisine has a nice style there and is not too heavy - being prepared very nice - but still not too fancy way...

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful calm interior, lovely dinner, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I had the pleasure of enjoying my Christmas eve dinner at VR. It was wonderful. I requested a "non-romantic-table" therefore I had no view. The restaurant is situated on a hill, there is a nice walk up to the restaurant, which I enjoyed and you are rewarded with a lovely view when you reach the top. The service was good, although it started a little slow. My table server had to be asked for my sparkling water twice, but thereafter he was more attentive. I will review each course separately.

1. Appetizer: Gratin Oysters with chilli crust and Mornay sauce with Champagne wine. It was superb. I sampled the sauce without the oysters and it was creamy but not overpowering. The oysters were juicy. Overall, a beautifully put together appetizer.

2. Soup: Fish soup with seafood, fennel and saffron. I expected a "lighter" looking fish soup (in colour). This one was dark (rusty) colour. It was a thick soup, full of flavour (I could taste the fennel only slightly) with generous amounts of prawns, mussels and a firm fish. Overall, not the best seafood soup I have tasted. It was a little too sweet for my taste. But I cannot fault it on the taste. It was tasty, just not my taste :)

3. Sorbet: Christmas punch sorbet. I have to review the sorbet... it was lovely. It tasted "Christmassy"! It could have been less "creamy". But the taste was lovely, effectively clearing my palate from the seafood course for the main course.

4. Main course: Roast turkey with almonds, buttered vegetables and thyme Rate potatoes. The main course was again, superb! The turkey was wonderful. Rolled, with a crispy outside and the meat inside tender and a lovely flavour (if subtle). Overall, the course was beautifully presented. The veggies were lovely, there was a sweet jus on the plate, which complemented the meat and vegetables. And the potatoes... I'm not a big potato eater, but these potatoes were just perfect! (sorry mommy) Crisp outside and perfectly soft and buttery on the inside.

5. Dessert: Pan fried brioche with cinnamon, cherry sauce and vanilla ice cream. The dessert was a little disappointing. The brioche was not filled with flavour, it was only coated. It was dry and if it wasn't for the ice cream, it may have not gone down (!) :(

6. Coffee & homemade Christmas cookies: Luckily the Christmas cookies was again superb. Saving the meal overall to make for a lovely, sweet ending (where the pan fried brioche disappointed). The cookies were buttery and sugar, and the chocolate ones were chocolaty and yummy.

Overall, this was a wonderful meal, great service and a beautiful venue.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Richter Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Villa Richter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Richter Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.