We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Photo NOT Svejk, Siroka” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Svejk Restaurant

Svejk Restaurant
Siroka, 20/118, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
+420 2 2481 3964
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,501 of 4,249 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Praha 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Top Photo NOT Svejk, Siroka”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Top main photo is not of the Svejk Restaurant, Siroka, but of the Malostranska Kavarna, Cihelna - a different matter altogether. Actually we did eat in this Svejk Restaurant once - Oct 2008 - and it was OK, nothing special, but nothing bad either, and quite a good price - so no complaints - nowhere as good as Kolkovna just down the road, but we needed a fast, early, lunch

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    34
    34
    19
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
1 review
“Never ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Food not bad, but also not excellent. The restaurant is adding "automatic charge" 100 CKK for each (!) person to the bill for bread and butter given while waiting. You will be charged even if you do not eat it and you did not ask for it! Furthermore they want cash, even though all known credit card types are listed on the entry door! If you try to clarify this unpleasant misunderstanding, you will have to face an arogant waiter and even more arogant boss.
I DO NOT RECOMMEND!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caimari, Spain
1 review
“Scammers!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After ordering they give you one piece stale bread of which the waiter says it's obligatory and charge you 200 CK for it. With the bill they insist on paying 10% obligatory 'service charge'.
There seems to be a string of Svejk restaurants in Prague. They don't deserve to bear the name of soldier Svejk. Tourist office in Prague: do something about it!

Don't go to this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worst Restaurant in Prague”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Never visit this restaurant even if you are starving to death. We never got the correct food we ordered, what food did arrive was terrible and two of our group got very sick later in the evening from eatting here. The bill was incorrect and the staff did nothing to help.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Awful...horrible.....terrible....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Came across this place after a full day of walking and decided we would try it as we were too tired to look further.
Its every bad thing the guide books warn you about regarding tourist traps.
First, there are dried out stale pretzels hanging on a rack at your table. Don't eat one - you will be charged for it and its like eating compressed sawdust. We ordered salads. My greek salad was described as olives, lettuce, cheese and tomatoes. It arrived with 50 percent of the bowl filled with red peppers... (Would not have ordered had i known, (since when does a greek salad have raw peppers(?). Worse, the lettuce has grit or sand on it. Crunch, crunch, and no dressing! My husband 's salad also had gtitty lettuce. A basket of bread was also delivered to us, which we did not order, but of course we were charged for it. Bread was dry and no butter came with it. I can assume butter would have been an additional charge! I asked if i could order french frys, listed as a side order on the menu. The answer? No, you can only order those with a meal....(salad is not a meal apparently)...

Beer wasnt bad but with all the good choices in prague this one should be avoided like the plague.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Svejk Restaurant also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Svejk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svejk Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.