We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless In Every Aspect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunger Wall Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hunger Wall Residence to your Saves list
Hunger Wall Residence
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Plaska 615/8, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 566 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Flawless In Every Aspect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

I've stayed in many apartments around the world, being a constant traveller. The Hunger Wall Residence is the most flawless, comfortable, stylish, elegant I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.

The cafe is fantastic - the food excellent and well priced (and award winning!). The room had every detail considered (down to even having excellent washing machine and dryer in the bathroom - a rarity). The location was perfect, with a lovely stroll across the bridge into the heart of town, and not far from a supermarket and metro station.

The staff were lovely, with breakfast served in room, free tea on arrival in the cafe, helpful, unobtrusive.

I could go on - Hunger Wall Residence excels beyond expectations.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
133
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Love "The Wall" - The Hunger Wall Residence! Just stayed there for the past 2 months and it was the BEST! The whole place oozes comfort, quality and elegance. What an amazing place to stay my first visit to the "golden city" or as it is also called, "the jewel in the crown of central Europe!" Luckily, it's now my second home, after Caledon Hills, Canada. The Cafe Lounge has great tunes (live jazz) , awesome staff, superb atmosphere, DELICIOUS gourmet homemade, Czech cuisine and a variety of other types of fare. It has the best cafe au laits/coffees (voted #1 cafe in all of Czech Republic), an excellent selection of imported wines and they make the best mohitos, in Prague! I recommend it in a heart beat to anyone who wants to stay in the historic centre of Prague, in a small, peaceful, artful and enjoyable location, in Mala Strana, close to all the amazing sights, smells and sounds. What a GREAT place to stay - thanks for everything. Hi to Blanca, Hana, Richard, Suzanna, Petra (my fav), Chef, Eva & Kamil!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Hunger Wall Residence is located in Mala Strana, the sedate side of the river, below the Castle hill. A remnant of the historic Hunger Wall literally runs across the rear of the hotel. The hotel is newly remodeled in a 19th century style in the public areas and high-end IKEA (I think) in the rooms. So everything looks good and works well, including the free Wi-Fi in the rooms. The staff is friendly and attentive. (English-speaking Kamil is friendly, patient, and usually present; we were very dependent on him the first couple of days.) We got two rooms at a reasonable price. At first we were a bit concerned about having the boys in a separate room, but that worked out well (especially with the Wi-Fi). The rooms had kitchenettes, and there was a small grocery about a block away.
Our rooms were at the rear of the hotel and were very quiet. There is a terrace/bar in the rear, and if that were used at night, the noise factor might be different. The street at the front of the hotel had 2 or 3 restaurant/bars, but they seemed fairly quiet at night.
Tourist Prague is a walkable area, comparable in size to Florence. You can walk anywhere from Hunger Wall without difficulty. The bridge to the Old town side of the river is about 3 blocks away, just past the Cafe Savoy. The biggest attraction in Prague is the Castle; taking the tram for the ascent is a good idea. The walk down is interesting on any path you take.
About 3 short blocks away to the southwest is the Artisan restaurant, which offers an eclectic menu and I now see is the top-rated restaurant in Prague (don't miss it), and about the same distance in the other direction is Cafe Savoy, near the bridge, which offers a very good take on traditional Bohemian food.
All in all, Hunger Wall may be the most satisfactory place we have stayed in several trips to Europe. It is an outstanding value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

This place was just amazing. From making the reservations - we contacted Hunger Wall direction and they quickly set us up with a great room - to our arrival - they met us at the door, brought us cappuccino and helped us with our luggage - to the accommodations - breathtaking room nearly as large as my condominium at home. The place was beautifully decorated. The beds were very comfy. The room service - yes, yummy room service was available from the cafe adjacent to the Hunger Wall with the same owners - was outstanding. The people were so friendly. Kamil is awesome. Stay here. Don't waste your money anywhere else. This rivals any five star you'll find in Prague for sure!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We spent a month in Prague (work/pleasure), and found the Hunger Wall Residence to be an ideal place to stay.
Situated at the foot of Petrin Hill in Mala Strana, the location couldn't be beat. Many restaurants are within easy walking distance and it is not very far from both new town and old town. The tram is also just at the end of the block for easy access to everything.The apartments facing the front of the building are quite spacious and have been recently renovated and very nicely furnished. All bathroom/kitchen facilites are up to date, with laundry facilities in each unit. Know that the front apartments face the street, and there is some street noise at night. The apartments in the back (junior suites) are a bit smaller, but have all the amenities of the larger apartments.
The staff is absolutely superb and is extremely helpful. Everyone speaks English, and is more than happy to help with directions, arrange for concert tickets, set up private cars/cabs for trips to the airport, or anything else you might need. There is a restaurant/coffee bar and we found the meals we ordered to be very good as well. We would recommend the Hunger Wall Residence for a short or long term stay without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We just returned from a 10 day trip from Prague/Vienna, and am happy to say that we had a fantastic stay at the Hungerwall Residence. We were travelling with a group of 6 adults and 2 young children, so needless to say we weren't sure how the accomodations would be for everyone, but it turned out to be great.

After a 13 hour journey, we were thrilled at how beautiful the rooms were, and as promised we were all on the same floor (even the baby beds were made with stuffed animals included!). The cafe was a great meeting area for all of us to start our day, and we ate breakfast there almost everyday.

The location is also fantastic. It's in Mala Strana, which is lesser town, and it was nice to stay in a neighborhood where you are close to sightseeing (we walked everywhere), but not an overly touristy area of town. There are also a number of great restaurants/cafes within walking distance as well.

I am not sure how soon I will make it back to Prague, but if I do, I will definitely be staying here again. Thanks Kamil and all of the staff at the Hungerwall Residence.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This apartment wildly exceeded our expectationn. It was spotlessly clean, had a washer and dryer, large bedroom, and bathroom, as well as living room. Beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Excellent location. Usually quiet, we were there when Czech Rep. played in the hockey championships, the bar across the street was lively that evening. It was great.

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The restaurant on sight provided good value and the meals were excellent. An internet connection was available in the back of the restaurant area.

When I return to Prague, this is the only place I want to stay. The location was perfect, close to the river. Walking was very easy and comfortable in this town. Prague was a highlight of our vacation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Pod Vezi
Pod Vezi
#3 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#66 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel
Aria Hotel
#10 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunger Wall Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunger Wall Residence

Address: Plaska 615/8, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 5
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 566 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunger Wall Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunger Wall is a newly opened elegant residence with complete service, ready to provide full comfort to a demanding clientele. The early 20th century (1903) building underwent a complete renovation with the preservation of elements of Secessionist architecture. A historical gem is situated in the courtyard of the building - a fragment of the Hunger Wall that was built in 1360 - 1362, during the period of the reign of Charles IV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Hunger Wall Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunger Wall Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.