We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Gloria - very good value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Hotel to your Saves list
Gloria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prokopova 118/20 | Zizkov, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic (Praha 3)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #320 of 662 Hotels in Prague
North Wales
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Hotel Gloria - very good value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Hotel Gloria for three nights and had a great time in Prague. The hotel staff speak English and are friendly. The room was perfectly adequate for a short stay, with plenty of hot water for the shower etc. The breakfasts were fairly basic but again quite adequate. The Hotel is a twenty minute walk from the Old Town Square or a regular bus service goes from just opposite the Hotel. There are a handful of bars/restaurants only a few yards from the Hotel and a number of small shops to buy drinks, food etc. The three nights double bed and breakfast cost less than the return taxi fare from the airport - great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    112
    38
    10
    11
See reviews for
23
122
26
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

I spent 8 nights at this hotel with my partner and was very impressed with everything We paid just £16 per night for a double room which is very cheap considering how good the hotel is. The room itself was large with a good television and fridge, the bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of storage. The en-suite was also a good size and the room came with a safe which there was no extra cost for.
There is a cash machine a 5 minute walk from the hotel, the number 133 bus goes to Prague's Jewish Quarter from just outside the hotel and everywhere is pretty easy to find once you get into the centre of Prague. Remember to buy a ticket for the bus before you get on and to stamp it as soon as you get onto the bus, there is a shop close to the hotel which sells the tickets. The staff in the hotel will tell you where the cash machine is, where to get the bus tickets and where the bus stop is, infact they are very helpful all together.
The buffet breakfast was lovely with a lot of different foods on offer, it does tend to get busy down there but the food keeps coming!
The only downside was not having wifi in our room.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

was in the hotel 2009, ive just came back....the area is getting better and cleaner each time i go...if you get a good price go ...its a bargain...i work in the travel industry ..you wont get this value in the uk

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Glamorgan, Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Stayed in the Hotel Gloria for five nights and I was very impressed. Olga at reception greeted us and she was lovely - really helpful and her English was amazing. There was also another lady we saw at reception quite a lot but I can't remember her name. She had dark hair and like Olga, was excellent at pointing us in the right direction and giving advice.

I had a single room and was expecting something small but instead I had a large room with two single beds pushed together. The rooms were very clean and toasty warm - brilliant considering how cold it was in Prague when we visited. The temperature on the radiator could be altered as required. Guests were a mix of friends, singles, couples, families and school groups and apart from the one moronic couple on our last night who thought it was acceptable to have a blazing row in the hallway in the early hours of the morning, the hotel itself was very quiet. There is some traffic noise that can be heard throughout the night but the windows did a good job of keeping noise to a minimum.

All rooms are en suite (shower but no bath) and come with a free to use safe, hairdryer and television. There is also a fridge in each room with a good stock of chocolates and drinks which, whilst more expensive than what you would pay in a nearby convenience store, they're certainly more reasonably priced than at any hotel in the UK. At reception you can buy stamps, transport tickets, postcards, drinks and just about any other essential. Staff will also help you to book trips and there's a good selection of leaflets and brochures at reception.

The hotel is a bit of a trek from the city centre but bus 133 will take you into town in about 10 minutes and the stop is virtually outside the hotel. You can walk into town but when I was there, it was far too cold and icy to attempt it. There are also a few shops nearby which provide all the essentials. The area the hotel is in apparently has a bit of a bad reputation but we didn't experience any problems or witness anything untoward.

The hotel has a breakfast buffet with quite a wide selection - breads, cheeses, meats, cereals, tea and coffee etc and it certainly did a good job of filling us up for the cold day ahead.

I'd definitely consider staying at the hotel again because I found the service to be excellent yet it was a budget price. The only issue some people may have is having to take a bus into town but they're clean, cheap to use, run regularly and don't take that long to get into town - completely different to buses in the UK!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Superb hotel - unbelievable value for money. I had an ensuite twin room to myself for 5 nights for less than £65.00 including breakfast. Nicely decorated, spotlessly clean room with a comfy bed and a lovely bathroom with a very powerful shower. The room also had a minibar/fridge, TV, telephone and a safe - which was free of charge. The hotel was warm and comfortable and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Lots of choice at the buffet breakfast to fill up on before a day exploring this wonderful city. This was my 4th trip to Prague and I usually stay more centrally and pay about 4 times as much. I will definitely stay here again and would highly recommended the Gloria Hotel to anyone on a budget.

The hotel is about a 25-30 minute walk to the Old Town, but Bus No 133 stops directly across the road on Husitska and takes about 10 minutes. Alternatively, walk up Prokopova, take the third on the right and get the No 9 Tram from Taboritska. Night Tram No 58 also comes this way if you are coming back to the hotel late. Don't forget to buy your tickets in the Tabac shop beforehand. There are lots of mini-markets (Potraviny) along Husitska for your essentials and the one directly opposite the hotel also sells tickets for the buses, trams and metro.

The Zizkov area does look a little tatty around the edges but it's up-and-coming, has some great bars and cheap restaurants and we felt totally safe here the whole time. Do try and get to the Zizkov TV Tower and have a look at the David Cerny crawling baby sculptures climbing up and down it's length.

Try the restaurant Dvur Chyne (sign above says Hotel Victor) at No 72 on Husitska. They have a good selection of great-tasting draught beers - try the special, and the Meat-Feast for 2 is absolutely superb - a huge plate containing sausages, ribs, roast pork, bread dumplings, potato dumplings and sauerkraut. The meal including 3 beers each and the tip came to about £10 per person!

A general word of warning: When crossing the roads in Prague, make sure the green man is lit. We crossed a completely empty road when the red man was lit and got a 200Kr fine each from a rather surly policeman!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Very clean en-suite rooms. Comprehensive breakfast included in price. 10-15 min walk to metro station to city centre (a couple of stops away) and trams to city centre. Bus halt opposite hotel. Helpful staff and safe.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We were worried about staying here after reading previous reviews but didn't need to be. the hotel is abit outside the main area but it only took us 20 minutes to walk there and we could of used the bus or tram nearby. The girls on reception were all really helpful and helped us organise trips and nights out. The rooms were a good quality, they were very hot though even with windows open in october! Breakfast was basic just bread, cheese and ham and sausages but fine for what you need before heading out.
I would recommend going up to the castle and round the old town, and Wencelas square is great for shopping, you do need good shoes though as lots of walking around. I would recommend the hotel for people on a budget and don't mind being out of the centre.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Hotel

Address: Prokopova 118/20 | Zizkov, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gloria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Gloria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.