We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, simple hotel - for those that dont fuss, 15 mins to central and really helpful staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Hotel to your Saves list
Gloria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prokopova 118/20 | Zizkov, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic (Praha 3)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #321 of 662 Hotels in Prague
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, simple hotel - for those that dont fuss, 15 mins to central and really helpful staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. An excellent location, the bus 133 stops rights outside the hotel which takes you 5 mins to Florenc (metro station to go to Ruyzne airport) and then 15 mins to starometska - central prague.

There is not much to do in the area where the hotel is. The area looks rough but it isn't really. There are a few bars and restaurants but we spent most of our time either central, namesti replublicky or mala strana.

Breakfast at hotel was normal. As with other reviewers i would say the same thing, a toaster would be good. There were ham and cheese slices, boiled eggs, cereal, fruit and yoghurt, lots of bread, salad and the occasional scrambled egg, hot potatoes and sausages. For drinks, juice cordial, a selection of teas and coffee.

We booked the trip via lastminutetravel.co.uk and they got our booking wrong and therefore our 4 day stay had to be deivded to 2 rooms at the hotel. The first 2 days we stayed in a large room. Bigger than expected. The carpet was a bit stained. I'm sure they vacuumed the floor everyday but it was more stained and scuffed that made it look dirty. The bathroom was nice and bigger than expected. Although the second room we stayed in was much smaller but only because we stayed on the outer side of the hotel and therefore the room had to be angled as the hotel is located on a corner.

Overall - if you are just looking for a hotel with great location and not really fussed and not expecting 5* service then stay here.

They did not have air conditioning on in May - Hotel said they would open in July.

Room Tip: Avoid school trip groups. ask before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    112
    38
    10
    11
See reviews for
23
122
26
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karise, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Good opportunities for public transport.
Our first trip to Prague but not the last.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire,Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

A group of us booked this hotel for a weekend break before we realised how far it was from the city centre. Although the hotel itself is modern, bright and spotlessly clean, the same can't be said for the surrounding area which is quite seedy with a lot of cheap shops, casinos and grafitti-covered walls. Apparently this is actually Zizkov which is supposed to be an up-and-coming area - if that's the case it's still very much a work in progress.
Thankfully the bus service was excellent, the 133 was always reliably frequent to get us into the tourist part of Prague in 10-15 minutes. We stayed on until the terminus at the Jewish Quarter and had a 5 minute walk from there to the Old Town Square. Bus tickets could be bought in a corner shop just along the street from the hotel - 330 CZK gets you a 3-day ticket, 100 CZK buys one for 24 hours. Remember to stamp your ticket when you first board the bus - ticket inspectors in plain clothes do operate on this service!
We found all members of staff in the Gloria to be very helpful and efficient, the rooms - of varying sizes - were adequately furnished and well cleaned and the bathrooms were particularly spacoius and well appointed. Breakfast was pretty basic - the standard continental fare which you would expect in most European cities.
Overall I would recommend the Gloria to anyone who doesn't mind staying a bit out of town. At night the 133 bus runs until around 12,30 am or 1 a.m. - be careful if you end up getting a taxi back at night, we were charged 800 CZK (around £30) even after agreeing a price of 600 CZK when we flagged the guy down.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Stayed for 5 nights at the Gloria Hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor site.We found the Gloria Hotel a friendly and clean hotel located just a five min bus ride into the centrew of Prague.
We found Prague to be very busy and were grateful to stay just a short distance out of town away from the crowds. Opposite the Hotel Gloria is a resturant/bar. We ate there twice and found the food and drink very reasonably priced.
Overall we enjoyed our stay in Prague and would recommend the Hotel Gloria for those looking for an inexpensive clean base to stay and explore Prague.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

very enjoyable stay, rooms clean, lovely choice of foods for breakfast. Staff very friendly and polite. Hotel 15 minutes from town centre by bus, bus stops right outside hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chilton co.durham.England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

this hotel does not deserve the poor reviews it gets, however please indulge me if I have one or two reservations.Our room was very spacious and clean, bathroom immaculate and lashings of hot water, but after staying 7 days March/April I would have expected a change of bed linen, which did not happen. Th hotel itself is modern, functional and basic but very clean. The reception staff, Anna and Olga were exceptionally friendly, especially Olga for whom nothing was too much trouble. What a pity that the charm did not extend to the young lady manageress, Iveta whose attitude left a lot to be desired. She was extremely frosty, did not respond to our Good Morning, her whole demeanour was one of self-importance.A little friendliness would not have gone amiss especially as she should be promoting the hotelnot the opposite! Where she should have been concentrating her officiousness on was the breakfast room.The buffet is more than adequate (when it is all there) The ham was always the first to go so when you go for breakfast there is none left, only garlic sausage and salami. Three times this happened and three times I had to go to the kitchen to ask them to replenish the tray, also there were complaints about the lack of butter, also ot replenished. On each occasion the staff were gossiping in the kitchen while the tables were cluttered with dirty dishes, Inneficiency. Manageress take note. If you can put up with these sort of things the hotel is value for money. The city is easily reachedby the 133bus which stops opposite the hotel. Getting off at Namesti Republiky you can easily walk to the old town.Alternatively, walk in frint of Obeckni Dum and on to Jindrisska, pick up a nr.9 tram which will cross Wenceslas Square mand on to Narodni. Get off at Narodni Divaldo(theatre) on the riverside. Walk to the right round Cafe Slavia and you will find the best kept secret in prague! A cheap place to eat. 79 czk for a three course meal and it is GOOD. It is a beer cellar under the restaurant Parnassus.If you have mobility or respiratory difficulties you will need to use the 133. For the younger and more mobile you can walk round the hotel to the left up Propokova and right up Lipanska onto Seifertova where you will have a better choice of transport. Finally, try to visit Lidice the village and people destroyed bynthye Nazis in reprisal for the assassination of Heydrich. It is a straightforward route. Get off the 133 at Namesti Republicke and in to a 26 tram (Iyou don't have to move) Get off at Dejvicka and opposite the Diplomat Hotel you will find the bus to Lidice. It cost 31 czk and the bus called at the airport. Returning we had our money ready but when we looked at the ticket it was only 27 czk so ASK, don't assume both journeys to be the same price. You will have a memorable experience that willstay with you. One final thing AVOID the Bar Pizza Cafee in the Lesser Town square. You will order from kne menue and pay from another menu with a higher price so be warned. Happy Holidays.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Having 3 days free we went on a Czech Republic round, stayed in Prague & Ostrava hotels. The accomodation was lovely and very clean, the staff were competent, extremely helpful and friendly. Accessibility was a priority for me and I was able to reach most areas within a couple of minutes from there. For those that try to avoid the sterile mediocrity of large modern hotels, I would recommend that you consider the Gloria.

Room Tip: Ask for 203 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Hotel

Address: Prokopova 118/20 | Zizkov, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gloria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Gloria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.