We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I did not book thru Expedia, $65 Prague welcome card is useless” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chopin Hotel Prague City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chopin Hotel Prague City to your Saves list
Chopin Hotel Prague City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Opletalova 960/33, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wish I did not book thru Expedia, $65 Prague welcome card is useless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

It could be better if Expedia did not screw up our reservation. Before I leave country, I tried to straighten out. Expedia agent told me he did and received updated confirmation which was updated on label only. Consequently, we with my adult daughter must suffer in a cramped
space. At least, manager understood and did not charge extra. Location was great, Just cross the Hlvani station and lot can be found in walking distance. We did not like breakfast that much.
It is not a hotel that we were disappointed in Prague but Prague is not my choice to visit. First, we paid $65 per person for Welcome Prague card. That was totally worthless. Please please do not buy. Most free admission attractions are free any way and not worth to visit, else it is closed either for lunch, for weekend, or occupied for service, holiday. Food in Prague are expensive (try to rip off tourists) and/or awful. Most of all, too too much smoking! I could not breath!

Room Tip: Just do not book through Expedia. Most of rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRGCHO, General Manager at Chopin Hotel Prague City, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing the Chopin Hotel for your last trip to Prague. However, we are sorry that you had some challenges with your reservation, made through one of our business partners.
For the future feel free to book your room directly via our reservation department or do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Dear guest, it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at the Chopin Hotel Prague.

Kind regards,
Milan Skvara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    201
    44
    5
    1
See reviews for
67
165
53
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel was just right for a visit to the beautiful city of Prague. Well situated opposite the main railway station and far enough away from the lively city centre to be quiet enough for a good sleep. I liked the very decent breakfast being available from 7 am, which lets you make the most of the time you have. Cleanliness beyond any reproach, tea and coffee making facility handy and not often found on the Continent.

Perhaps could do with a proper wardrobe for hanging up clothes during a longer stay.

When I next visit Prague, which I hope will be reasonably soon, I shall look no further than here, to book again.

Room Tip: Mine in 316 was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Gat, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel in room 318. The room was very clean and quite big. The only thing missing that we can think about is a mini bar, but overall the hotel is much better than 3*s. We have stayed in many hotels and seen 4* hotels worse than Chopin.
The location is great, especially for those who would like to travel to other cities, as it is 5 minutes away from the train/metro station (by foot). It's about 15 minutes away from the center - but Prague is so beautiful, we really didn't mind the walk.
Breakfast is pretty standard, nothing out of the ordinary.
The room was cleaned every day.
The Jerusalem Synagogue is right next to Hotel - very nice tourist attraction.
Thank you very much for the great vacation!

Room Tip: Room 318 is great for non smokers:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Although this hotel was close to the railway station, it was a 10 minute walk from the old town / St Nicholas Square.

The staff were very welcoming, the rooms were clean and modern and the breakfast had plenty of choice.

Our room was in the eaves, with the windows on the slopping wall/ceiling and curtains which hung straight. This meant that the sun streamed into the room from very early morning. Other than that, it was a very comfortable room

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slave Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Perfect location if you need to leave early for the train as it is right across the road. The room was very spacious as well as the bathroom. The beds were comfortable and I absolutely loved the huge pillows they have. Their complimentary breakfast was sufficient enough. Hotel was located just a short walk to the main areas and then to old town. Appreciated the business centre they had so I could print off train tickets for my travels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ohau Alpine Village, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed one night arriving late after train journey from Munich. Excellent location immediately across the road from the train station - easy walking distance with a bag. The room would have been even better if an additional bed had not been placed on floor but I did not ask for it to be removed because I was only staying one or type of cereal) night and I had everything I needed. Self service breakfast was streamlined with an option for every cuisine preference - nutritious with options (e.g., type of bread or type of cereal) displayed efficiently and hygienically in transparent containers on wall. Receptionist was extremely welcoming and helpful - efficient check in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This reasonably priced hotel is perfect for our visits to Prague. This is my 4 visit and stay here at the Chopin. Located right my the main train station, it's easy to reach and 10-12 minutes to the pulse of the main square. Simply perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Falkensteiner Hotel Maria Prag
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sovereign
Hotel Sovereign
#98 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Esplanade Prague
Hotel Esplanade Prague
#186 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Zlata Vaha
Hotel Zlata Vaha
#340 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
987 Design Prague Hotel
987 Design Prague Hotel
#177 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#236 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chopin Hotel Prague City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chopin Hotel Prague City

Address: Opletalova 960/33, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Family Hotel in Prague
#166 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chopin Hotel Prague City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3*** Superior Chopin Hotel Prague City, managed by Vienna International Hotels and Resorts, is located in the centre of Prague. Wenceslas Square, State Opera and many other sights and attractions are just a few minutes away. Each of the 80 comfortable rooms is well appointed in bright colours and feature air conditioning, high-speed Wi-Fi internet access and coffee/tea-making facilities free of charge. The conference room comes equipped with Internet access and has enough space for up to 25 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Chopin Hotel Prague City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chopin Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chopin Hotel Prague City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.