We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the most friendly front desk staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chopin Hotel Prague City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chopin Hotel Prague City to your Saves list
Chopin Hotel Prague City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Opletalova 960 / 33, Prague 11000, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not the most friendly front desk staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The front desk wasn't the most friendliest. They didn't speak the best English, so it was a little hard to communicate with them vs other places I've stayed in Europe. Also, their sofa bed was broken and very uncomfortable. The slats under the mattress were not put together properly and had to fix myself. Even after fixing, it still sunk in the middle. The ice machine was also broken during our stay and they claimed they didn't even have ice in the bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRGCHO, General Manager at Chopin Hotel Prague City, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write us your feedback.

I am sorry to hear about the unfortunate experience you had during your stay at the Chopin Hotel Prague.
I can assure you that our guest’s comfort is of great importance to us. We refreshed our continuous training of all our associates at the Front Office again to eliminate such inadequate service and potential issues arising from this to our clients. Your feedback about sofa in the guest rooms will be reviewed with the hotel owners. I hope you will notice a difference on your return.
Please accept our sincerest apology for the disturbance caused during your stay. I would very much appreciate if, during your next stay with us, you would contact me personally. I will do my utmost to ensure that your next stay at the Chopin Prague Hotel will be unforgettable for the right reason.
Kind regards
Milan Skvara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    173
    35
    4
    0
See reviews for
54
148
44
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on recommendation from a family member and was very happy with the decision. We flew into Prague and easily took a bus to the train station which is directly across from the hotel. This also helped when we took the train to Vienna later in the trip.

The hotel was conveniently located and we walked everywhere we wanted to go. We also did the hop on hop off to see the further away sights.

The hotel provided a good breakfast of cereal, pastries, meats, and eggs.

The rooms were a good size. They were well decorated but not luxurious. I stayed in a room with two single beds which suited put needs perfectly. One thing to know is there is no closet - just a small wardrobe to keep a few things. We were only there for a few days but if you're someone who likes to fully unpack that might be an issue - I can't speak for other rooms though.

The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful. We arrived early in the day and they were able to quickly get us into rooms on the same floor.

I would highly recommend this hotel - it has everything you need for a really competitive price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Good location, right opposite Prague's main train station, metro and tram stops are very close. Venceslas square is a 10 min walk. The hotel is simple, but very comfortable. Rooms are quite small, I am not sure they are comforable enough for two people, but OK for single use, and they are spotlessly clean. Beds are very good quality.
I have stayed in this hotel four times already, and the quality has been consistently high.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Arriving in a new city after dark, the location was perfect. Just across the road from the main train station. Avoided the luggage & cobbled stone streets problem too. My room was well priced, fresh & very clean. Wifi reliable & free. Great breakfast for a good start to a days exploring. The staff were friendly & helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I thought being across the street from train unnecessary since I wasn't traveling by train, but the price was right. What I didn't realize until I got there was how big the station was. It had everything I would need in it, pharmacy, grocery, newstand, postoffice, BK, and more. Very convenient for those little snacks and reads I like having handy, especially in a foreign country. The staff of the hotel were very patient and helpful. Rooms were small but clean. Free wifi. Only English channel on TV was BBC news, but who goes to Prague to watch TV?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Loved our hotel in prague. Across the road from train station so eady to get to and from the train and was very quite. Room was small but had everything you needed and was extremely clean. Probably the cleanest nicest bathroom we have had. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRGCHO, General Manager at Chopin Hotel Prague City, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for having chosen the Chopin Hotel for your recent stay in Prague. We are pleased that you liked our hotel including the quality of service and that you highly recommend us on Tripadvisor.
Thank you also for your positive remark to the cleanliness of the hotel and quality of our breakfast.
Dear guest, it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon again at the Chopin Hotel Prague
Yours sincerely,
Milan Škvára
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Large and spacious bedrooms with (from the 5th floor) pleasing views over a small park and towards the station.
Staff were friendly enough and business-like, but usually seemed somewhat flustered and overworked. Breakfast is included, a rather prosaic breakfast, but the hotel is recommended by virtue of its location. It is a just a couple of minutes' stroll away from the main station, with connections to local transport, international rail routes and buses to the airport.
There are a couple of decent restaurants close to the hotel but diners must expect to be treated as tourists. That is to say, the waitress will bring you the bill in one hand and a calculator in the other, with which to compute the tip. Not an attractive practice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chopin Hotel Prague City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chopin Hotel Prague City

Address: Opletalova 960 / 33, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#160 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chopin Hotel Prague City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3*** Superior Chopin Hotel Prague City, managed by Vienna International Hotels and Resorts, is located in the centre of Prague. Wenceslas Square, State Opera and many other sights and attractions are just a few minutes away. Each of the 80 comfortable rooms is well appointed in bright colours and feature air conditioning, high-speed Wi-Fi internet access and coffee/tea-making facilities free of charge. The conference room comes equipped with Internet access and has enough space for up to 25 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chopin Hotel Prague City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chopin Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chopin Hotel Prague City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.