We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chopin Hotel Prague City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chopin Hotel Prague City to your Saves list
Chopin Hotel Prague City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Opletalova 960/33, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed for three nights in October. Large rooms, clean and comfortable. Minimalist design (open shelves and hanging space.) Very good breakfast buffet. Good location near the main station - easy walking distance to the tourist centre but far enough away from the madding-crowd. Overall good value and we’ll stay here again. We booked ahead and got a good rate which made the hotel good value - their normal rates seemed a bit steep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    191
    40
    4
    1
See reviews for
62
157
49
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Great place to stay in Prague especially if you're arriving by train. It's just across a small street from the main station. It is also very easy to walk from the hotel to the main sites. The room was clean, quiet and quite large. The staff is very friendly & helpful. One hint for breakfast, don't get there too late. Once they are out of something it is not replenished. One morning we were there and people who came later than us were complaining about there not being bread. Offerings at breakfast included granolas, yogurts, cheese, cold cuts & more. If we were to go to Prague again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRGCHO, General Manager at Chopin Hotel Prague City, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for having chosen the Chopin Hotel for your recent stay in Prague. We are pleased that you liked our hotel including the quality of service and that you would choose our hotel for another stay.

Concerning the breakfast comments please be informed that during the opening hours of our restaurant (7:00-10:30) our staff is replenishing the buffet as needed. Based on your comment we will conduct additional training to guarantee the highest service level in the future.

Dear guest, it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon again at the Chopin Hotel Prague.

Kind regards,
the Hotelmanagement and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Great customer service, very helpful. Nice, clean hotel with decent sized room & bathroom. Free wifi in room. Basic hot/cold breakfast included in rate. 10-15 min walk to old town square, which is where all the action is. Opposite main train station (although double glazed windows cancel out any street noise). Highly recommended. Great value for $$

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I chose this hotel for its location near the main train station - it was handy for my arrival by train from Berlin, the Airport Express bus to PRG when I departed, and also for a day trip to Kutna Hora by train. Its location was OK for getting to the main tourist sites as well - a little under 15 minutes by foot to the Old Town Square.

Good points: the room was a reasonable size and well fitted out, although there was no room safe. The windows are double glazed so there is no noise even if the room faces the road outside.

Bad points: the breakfast area is way too small for the size of the hotel - there are only 15 tables to service 80 rooms and 6 of the tables are 2 seaters. I could get a table straight away before 8am but after this be prepared for a wait or skipping breakfast. If you go down after 8 make sure you’ve got a table before you go to the buffet or you’ll be one of the people standing around with a glass of juice in one hand, a plate of food in the other and nowhere to eat it. There is bar next to the breakfast area but customers are not permitted to sit there to eat breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRGCHO, General Manager at Chopin Hotel Prague City, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing the Chopin Hotel for your last stay in Prague.



Please be informed that all of our guest are welcome to use the safe deposit boxes at the reception of the hotel free of charge.

In terms of restaurant capacity, please rest assured that we are aware about the capacity of the restaurant. Therefore we are offering our guests to use the bar and tables in the lobby in order to minimize the waiting time. I am very sorry if in your case there has been any misunderstanding.



We will conduct additional training to prevent that this situation will happen again. Once again, we apologise sincerely for the problems you encountered.

Dear guest, it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon again at the Chopin Hotel Prague.

Kind regards, the Hotelmanagement and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed in this hotel on 2 separate nights as we were going to Teplice.
Great location as it is just opposite the main train station. Convenient to catch the airport bus to the airport which is cheap. It costs only 50 Czech K- cheaper than getting the taxi!!
It is walking distance to trams and the old town.
Staff is very helpful.
Room is very airy and light. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
4,731 helpful votes 4,731 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Hello, TA users,

Preamble: if you are not interested in two features mentioned in my review title and expect from the hotel you gonna book SOMETHING else, do not stay there. The place is very basic, in the ultimate understanding of this word, and has nothing interesting or impressive for the modern traveler.

1/ Room. Very small, smth like 17-18 sq.m. For the price paid i`d say it is poor correspondence between money and quality. I would decribe the room interior and decoration as AUSTERE fir for the nun`s cell. The only bright spot is a picture above the head, but the rest is ascetic and plain plaster. No ceiling lamp, only smaller lights on the desk and at the head of the bed.
No mini-fridge, no safe deposit box, no sleepers/ bathrobe, no bathroom amenities ( not even a single piece of soap). No wardrobe ( only couple of hooks) and luggage rack.
The lock of door to my room was constantly malfunctioning, i struggled to get inside every time i venture out ( and in).
Bathroom features a standing shower (barred from the sink by a CURTAIN), vanity counter with a mirror. Bath towels are fine (nice quality and crispy clean), even if they do not provide soap at least you can wipe your face with a decent piece of cloth.
VERY low water pressure in the shower. And bring your own shampoo.
Tea/ coffee making facilities are present together with sachets supply and two mugs.
Hair dryer is in the corridor( ????) near the room door. I wonder why?

2/ Public areas. Complete and total disaster. Corridor floors and walls are all around STAINS ( of unknown origin), walls have suspiciously uneven surface with lots of paint-and-repaint layer, definitely this is an indication of the lost battle with mildew and fungus ( or smth else, I am not an expert in this area). VERY unhealthy and dirty look........
Lobby is a joke with just a cashier counter and a lift on the area of 5 sq.m or so.
Though they have 2 computer stations for guests who forgot to bring their laptop along.
Wifi is free which is in the absence of other positive things about this place is actually a big plus.

3/ Breakfast. Surprisingly nice in the very cozy ambiance. They have everything you need for the good star of the day and even more: strudel and hot chocolate was a nice addition to the general morning staff like pastry/ cheese/ ham/ sausage/ yoghurt etc.
Tea/ coffee - self service.

4/ location. As many TA contributors before me mentioned it is exactly across the road from the main station and AE (airport express) bus stop (50CZK/ one way/ person). Metro Station - Hlavni Nadrazi is beneath the train station in the same building.
Lots of eateries nearby, especially on Ul. Jindrinska, just turn right after you exit the hotel door.
Walking distance to all major sights, except Prague castle (tram 9 to Ujezd + tram 22 to Pragski Hrad).

5/ Check-in/ out - no problem. They also have storage room where you ca keep your luggage after check out ( at noon) if your plain/ train departs later in the day.

6/ Will I stay there again??? NO. Will I recommend this place to my friends??? NO.
The place definitely lacks uniqueness and has VERY generic feeling about it together with poor condition of public areas and general look.
My stay was neither memorable, nor pleasant.
Next time i`d book Falkensteiner Hotel Maria Prag which is next door and for the same price.

7/ Proud sticker *TA recommended* looks ridiculous on the front door.

&/ Any further questions????



Schonefeld

Room Tip: getting highly than 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRGCHO, General Manager at Chopin Hotel Prague City, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear Guest,


thank you for staying at Chopin Hotel Prag and taking your time to share your opinion with us. We are sorry that our hotel didn't meet your expectations.


I would like to emphasize the fact that the Hotel Chopin is a 3-star garni hotel. Our goal is to offer good value for money. Concerning the size and equipment of our hotel rooms: they meet the EU standard size and are well equiped according to a 3-star niveau. The hairdryer is placed on the wall in front of the bathroom due to safety regulations. Next to it you can also find the full-length mirror.


Please be informed that tea and coffee making facilities are offered to our clients free of charge as well as the wi-fi in the whole hotel including all rooms.


Our awards from the Tripadvisor portal are a result of our guest's evaluation who have used our services throughout this year. The whole team highly values it and we are proud of this feedback.


Dear guest, it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at the Chopin Hotel Prague.

Kind regards,

the Hotelmanagement and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I think the location is most ideal for my itinerary. Coming from the airport, I could make use of the airport express and save some money on taxi. In addition, if you have rail pass, the airport express will be complimentary. The airport express takes us directly to the train station which is directly opposite the hotel. The park which separates the hotel and station is very small and less than 100m only.

Also when I take the train to another city, again, it's so convenient dragging my big luggage across the park to the train stn.

The room is clean and my room 302 offers a view of the train station.

Breakfast is acceptable with a wide range of muesli - my fav. I like the hot choco too. Luckily the cafe is not crowded as it's rather small to accommodate a few more grps of people.

Staff are ok and willing to help when you ask qns.

It's not a far walk to old town or Wenceslas sq. it's even nearer to the state opera where we watched Swan Lake. No need to take taxi, no need to be afraid of long walk at night :)

The toilet door is cleverly designed in such a way that your room mate can still use the basin while you use the toilet. The door can be swung to close the entire bathroom or just the toilet only.

Anyway, I also appreciate that the doorman and reception (at night) acknowledge our presence when we came back to the hotel or even when we checked out. All in all, this hotel leaves me a good impression which is the start of my holiday ;)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chopin Hotel Prague City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chopin Hotel Prague City

Address: Opletalova 960/33, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#150 Family Hotel in Prague
#152 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chopin Hotel Prague City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3*** Superior Chopin Hotel Prague City, managed by Vienna International Hotels and Resorts, is located in the centre of Prague. Wenceslas Square, State Opera and many other sights and attractions are just a few minutes away. Each of the 80 comfortable rooms is well appointed in bright colours and feature air conditioning, high-speed Wi-Fi internet access and coffee/tea-making facilities free of charge. The conference room comes equipped with Internet access and has enough space for up to 25 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Chopin Hotel Prague City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chopin Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chopin Hotel Prague City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.