We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Augustine Hotel Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Augustine Hotel Prague to your Saves list
The Augustine Hotel Prague
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Letenska 12/33 | Lesser Town, Prague 11800, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 pay 2
Ranked #20 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Flint
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed three nights in this boutique hotel and enjoyed every minute. It was quiet which is a huge plus for me. I loved the heated floors in the bathroom and the contemporary styling in the room. We were bumped up to this hotel due to overbooking at the Hilton. Lucky us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    25
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
88
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have had the opportunity of staying at the best hotels around the world and trust me when I say that this hotel is one of them.

You will always be able to find a 5 star hotel in any city with excellent beds, amazing bathrooms and well equipped rooms, but what truly makes a difference in a 5 star hotels is the service. The Augustine provided me one of the best services I have experienced in years. Always willing to help, always making sure our stay was pleasant and always taking the extra mile to accommodate our requests.

This hotel had a person who gave us a tour of the property, this is something 5 star hotels used to do when I was a kid and I am happy this hotel still does. It also happens this hotel used to be a monastery (that can visited for 500CZK) making each room really unique. The hotel asked us the purpose of our visit and when they learnt we were on our anniversary they send to our room a bottle of champagne and small chocolate cake. We were really happy.

If you book a room online it might be worth it if you make a reservation that includes breakfast otherwise you will be paying around $40 per person for the great breakfast buffet they have.

The hotel is just a few steps from the Prague bridge, St. Nicholas church and the Castle. This was my first time visiting the city and I really loved it.

If I ever go back I would not try or book any other hotel. I will only stay here.

Room Tip: Prague is full of tourist making the sightseeing too crowded. If you can, wake up at 6am and walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cali
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is awesome, service standards where high and the rooms were surprising big. Quite
hotel, make sure you don't get a room on the road where train comes through. Great
beds, great everything except muesli for breakfast needs improvement it wasn't good
at all.
Will definitely come back, Amazing beds

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Located in Malostranska, a short stroll away accross the bridge from the hustle and bustle of Prague Old Town Square, the location of the The Augustine Hotel is perfect for a relaxing getaway. The hotel is beautiful, serene, has a lot of historic character, and staffed by extermely friendly and helpful professional.
A former monastery, the hotel has a cavernous brew pub which has its brewing recipe from the old monks who inhabited the place. Room 438, was quiet, a good size, the bathroom has a comfortable heated floor with separate tubs and shower. The Augustine is also a short walk away from the Charles Bridge and the Prague castle. If I have the chance to visit Prague again in the future, The Augustine Hotel would be high on my list as my hotel of choice.

Room Tip: I was worried at first, when I read about a review here on Tripadvisor that said the room was noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Good: Property is quite charming and well decorated, its very modern and pleasant when you enter. The bathrooms are very nice and spacious and even the room is well sized. Decently located, near Prague castle, but across Charles Bridge from the old town - so a little far from all the action.
Bad: The service is pretty awful - our AC never worked. We asked them to fix it 5 times and they never did. They'd send someone up to check it out, and then they'd say it was fixed but it never did get fixed. We just had to make our peace with it. The concierge - really didn't know much. Tripadvisor was a much better concierge service! They only recommended a couple of fancy Czech restaurants, but being vegetarian we never went. We found some amazing restaurants through Tripadvisor. Even the touristy stuff - really, they weren't much of a help.
I would waste my money on this hotel in future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matej V, Manager at The Augustine Hotel Prague, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your review with the TripAdvisor.

I regret to learn that we at The Augustine did not meet your expectations. I am sorry for the inconvenience and I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss your experience into detail at your earliest convenience.

Please kindly contact me directly by telephone on +420 266112240 or by e-mail at the mvyskocil@augustinehotel.com.

Thank you for your time and best regards

Matej Vyskocil
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is one of the most beautiful and unusual hotels I have ever stayed in. It is an old monastery that has been converted with great love and care. The design is stunning and the rooms are so fantastic I did not want to leave. The staff is very attentive and the concierges were just terrific. The location is prime, as it is a few steps away from the Charles Bridge and yet quite quiet and secluded. We loved the breakfast buffet as everything was scrumptious and exquisitely prepared. The dining room is quite special; a sunny and glass room that works for both breakfast and the yummy dinners we enjoyed. Oh, and did I mention the beds??? Fantastic! I cannot imagine a more beautiful spot in Prague, and we felt very fortunate to stay there. Be sure to walk all around the hotel as there are architectural discoveries and art around every corner. Just a perfect and wonderful place.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the castle, you need to ask for it. We did not care, but some of you might.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matej V, Manager at The Augustine Hotel Prague, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear JacksonHoleSkiier,

can´t thank you enough for such a nice comments about your stay! We are doing our best to meet all guest needs, wishes and requirements and your comments is showing us that we are going the right direction.

So again thank you and looking forward to welcome you soon back at The Augustine!

With best regards from sunny Prague

Matej Vyskocil
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is just an unusual place because it was once a monastery but now it is a modern and great hotel. Such character cannot be found everywhere. The staff is always going way out of their way to be helpful, the rooms are lovely, the spa is relaxing, the breakfast is very good and the location cannot be beat. I would highly recommend this hotel in the beautiful city of Prague.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matej V, Manager at The Augustine Hotel Prague, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Lisa,

thank you for your kind words about your stay at The Augustine! We are very happy to learn how you enjoyed your stay with us. All our team is here for you in the unique ambiance of the hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you or your family back in the future with us!

Thank you!

Matej Vyskocil
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Augustine Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Augustine Hotel Prague

Address: Letenska 12/33 | Lesser Town, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Prague
#3 Spa Hotel in Prague
#17 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#19 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#20 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Augustine Hotel Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Augustine, Prague. A Zen like repose. Welcoming,with fine restaurant, calm and alluringly minimalist, beautifully set, in juxtoposition to Prague's surrounding wealth of baroque, and rococo history. A wondrously converted monastery, The Augustine's five stars, deserves a sixth - which is the one that takes you into a new realm of luxury hotel experience, a journey into the only place where time stands still... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Augustine Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte The Augustine Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Augustine Hotel Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.