We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“among the best - highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Augustine Hotel Prague

Save Saved
You added The Augustine Hotel Prague to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Augustine Hotel Prague
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Letenska 12/33 | Lesser Town, Prague 11800, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 pay 2
Ranked #20 of 667 Hotels in Prague
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“among the best - highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Augustine in early October and couldn't have been more pleased. Our overall experience compared favorably to other hotels we like such as the Peninsula Hong Kong and Ciragan Palace in Instanbul. We got a prompt response to our pre-arrival requests for help in making spa and restaurant reservations and were made to feel that we were valued guests. The hotel was beautifully created out of a monastery and is charming and luxurious with a careful attention to detail. It is very well located near the Prague Castle and a very short walk to the Charles Bridge with a number of very good restaurants within easy walking distance. We had a large, well-lit room with an equally large and well-lit bathroom with double sinks. Housekeeping was excellent and unobtrusive. All of the hotel staff (front desk, concierge, doormen, restaurant, spa )were attentive, helpful and friendly and you got the feeling that they really cared about doing everything possible to make your stay exceptional. The spa facilities were very nice and there was an extensive list of treatments. I recommend the beer ritual. Our rate included a tasty and generous breakfast buffet. One morning we overslept and although breakfast service had ended we were able to have coffee in the bar where the bar personnel managed to also provide breakfast rolls and pastries. We had late dinner one night at Elegantes. The quality of the food was exceeded only by the friendly and attentive service. Although the hotel is not inexpensive we thought we got good value. If you visit Prague this is a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    17
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
67
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for New Year last year and cannot rate the hotel highly enough. Great location with everything in easy walking distance. The hotel itself is very luxurious and the staff attentive and friendly, the whole place feels nice, not at all stuffy. The bar is a great place to hang out before dinner. Yes it isn't cheap but for a few nights of luxury it is worth every penny.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I a wonderful time in this hotel. Rooms were big. Bathrooms were spacious. Design was elegant. Breakfast was a good spread. A luxe experience all around. Location is quite central too. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of August,2013. This hotel is as close to perfection as seems possible. The location is absolutely the best possible in Prague. It is centered in the "Little Quarter" which is just below the Castle, St. Vitus Cathedral and Strahov Monestary and just 5 minutes from the Charles Bridge and easy walking distance to about everything Prague offers. The neighborhood itself is perhaps the nicest in the city. It is a beautifully restored Baroque neighborhood, with important historic credentials; from Wallenstein Palace and Gardens immediately next door to the iconic and very bohemian "Lennon Wall" a few blocks away. The hotel itself is new; having been created from a Medieval monestary which continues to operate in the same structure, behind closed doors. The service is pleasant, extremely friendly and impeccable. The facilities including the rooms are the epitome of understated elegance; paying homage to its monastic past, yet not skimping on modern luxe comforts. Bed comfort, square footage and sound proofing are second to none. The bar is comfortable and inviting with the added plus of being essentially the only place in the world that one can enjoy a St. Thomas Ale, the adjacent monk's own home brew which I , as a not naive beer snob, can attest is one of the best I have ever tasted! The food and service is superb, especially breakfast. The concierge will make sure that if you desire dining at the best that Prague has to offer, you will be accomodated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Owner at The Augustine Hotel Prague, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Your reviews are such a compliment, for which we thank you. The odd truth is that a few members of the noble families and even royal families from the Hapsburg Empire were buried in the monastery garden and with so many palaces and castles in and around Prague, it's no surprise.
The Augustine is clearly much loved by the vast majority of our guests and we are so please that your choice to stay with us was well rewarded.
Coming all the way From California, sometimes sounds daunting but it's a hop into Heathrow or Frankfurt and the next thing you know, you are in one of Unesco's most medieval cities......still as pretty as when it was first built.....
Nest time, please try our special St. Thomas beer cocktails!
Best wishes for the coming festive season.
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on business, and have to say it was one of the nicest hotels I have been to in Europe. Great location only 5 mins from Charles bridge. Superb staff and service - was greeted by name from the taxi on arrival and the restaurant staff remembered my name on the 2nd morning. Breakfast was great, eggs Benedict were superb. Lovely rooms and comfy big beds, room even had its own little library selection (inc Kafka, naturally).

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I live in Prague and have always wondered what The Augustine was like. My husband booked a night for us to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Amazing hotel, super service. Just perfect.
Really nice touch that a cake and a bottle of prosecco delivered to our room as an anniversary treat. Loved the hotel and will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

No upgrade for Virtuoso clients and were told hotel was full. Felt pretty empty to us. Left for full day of touring to arrive back after 3:30 to dirty room and had to call housekeeping 4 out of 5 days. The last night we planned to have a drink in the bar and an early dinner....bar was closed for a private event. Not sure this Hotel knows what it wants to be....full service or boutique. Location is good
Concierge staff were extremely helpful and we appreciated all their help. When we had to wait for our room to be cleaned, we sat in the lobby, which is a bit sterile.
It is Fashion Week and that's the excuse we got. I don 't care what week it is and we're disappointed overall.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Owner at The Augustine Hotel Prague, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest, your negative comment is unjust, unreasonable and plainly unfair. Being a member of Virtuoso, you were most certainly upgraded but expected everything to be complimentary. I am not sure how you can expect excellence and superior value and not willing to pay for it.
I don't discount my staff, we don't discount our food, our amenities or our values and therefore don't take our guests for granted.
Membership of Virtuoso is supposed to be for prestigious clients and we always put our best foot forward and do not discriminate. Hence, the fabulous and honest reviews The Augustine enjoys from our very valued guests.
If you still have an issue with this, please call me direct on +420604299881.
Sincerely,
Tom Smit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Augustine Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Augustine Hotel Prague

Address: Letenska 12/33 | Lesser Town, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Prague
#3 Spa Hotel in Prague
#14 Family Hotel in Prague
#16 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#24 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Augustine Hotel Prague 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Augustine, Prague. A Zen like repose. Welcoming,with fine restaurant, calm and alluringly minimalist, beautifully set, in juxtoposition to Prague's surrounding wealth of baroque, and rococo history. A wondrously converted monastery, The Augustine's five stars, deserves a sixth - which is the one that takes you into a new realm of luxury hotel experience, a journey into the only place where time stands still... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your The Augustine Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte The Augustine Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Augustine Hotel Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.