We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth for money. Don't come. ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Svejk Restaurant

Svejk Restaurant
ul 28 rijna 378 | Praha 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,541 of 4,243 Restaurants in Prague
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Praha 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth for money. Don't come. ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I should have read review before went in. The food was just average and very expensive. Some staffs are not nice as well. Moreover, they charge for service like othe said 100 CZK. We order just little but some up to be almost 900 CZK. Dont come to this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    9
    13
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I should have checked trip advisor!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

All the stories are true. They charge for pretzels on the tables, they give you a 100czk service charge per diner, food is very average. Also, I was down to my last 600czk when I went in, but I wasn't worried because I saw a Visa sign in the door. I gave them my card when I was presented with the bill, and they said they don't accept credit cards. My total came to 890 ill-spent crowns, and it wasn't until I showed them that I didn't have the cash that they accepted my card. Total rip-off, I hope you see this before you stop in!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gives Czech Restaurants a Bad Name”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stopped here as we were very hungry, it was bitterly cold and we wanted soup. We told the Maitre De that we just wanted soup. After being seated and told there was a 40 minute wait we were promptly served with drinks. When the waiter returned to take our food order we were told that none of the multiple soups on the menu were available. I ended up having a baguette and my wife nothing. When the bill came and the waiter realised that I was paying with cash he decided not to show me the receipt. Whilst the baguette didn't leave a bad taste everything else did.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

STAY AWAY! Total tourist trap. They charge for the pretzels on the tables. You pay a high rate for everything, including water. Food is very poor; definitely over-priced. Our worst meal during our trip to Europe, by far. Do not get caught by this tourist trap.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“100 czk cover charge per person + 98 czk for a soft drink (coke or ginger ale)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

+ 50 czk for a small prezle

You all find all of this @ the end of the meal. Waiters are rude. We feel like we've been robbed by con-artist on the street, except this is legit restaurant.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Svejk Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Svejk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svejk Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.