We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous on a warm September evening!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cowboys Steaks & Cocktails - CLOSED

Cowboys Steaks & Cocktails
Nerudova 40 | Malá strana - Little quarter, Prague 11800, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)
+420296826107
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $60
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hradcany & Letna
Roydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous on a warm September evening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

After a long day touring around Prague, this was just the spot to wind down with a cocktail looking out at Petrin Hill from the rooftop bar. Food was nice too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    120
    33
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We, a group of six choir singers, visited Cowboys on a Wednesday afternoon. This restaurant was recommended by a good friend living in Prague.

We climbed all the stairs up to roof which offered a splendid view. The restaurant certainly lived up to the expectations. This is a typical steak house, and here you can really enjoy prime beef, which is not always the case in the Czech Republic. We had ordered a cake as a surprise to Anders on his birthday. This was served with impressive fireworks, accompanied by birthday music throughout the restaurant.

We will highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely roof terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stopped for lunch after visiting Prague castle due to its close proximaty. We sat in the non-smoking area of the roof terrace in the lovely October sunshine - it's a real sun trap! Food and service was excellent, not a huge amount of choice if you just want a light bite for lunch but still something for everyone, between us we had Caesar salads and burgers which were faultless. The terrace has an indoor area and outdoor heaters/blankets if required. Lovely spot, definitely worth a try! Thanks :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
Level Contributor
157 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great rooftop view; lower level outdated decor; caveats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were fortunately seated on the roof terrace with nice views of Prague. The entrance to the restaurant is very strange, kind of like approaching the ticket window at a movie theater, only it felt like we were being screened for acceptabllity prior to being allowed to enter. The downstairs is dark and very dated and I would not want to eat there. To reach the rooftop, you climb about 70 stairs via a kind of scuzzy feeling stair well. The owners should consider painting the stairwell with a mural or hanging art work. Our server was attentive. We split a salad, steak and desert and still felt prices were high. Steaks come by size, and the small size is small. It was raining when we went, so there were very few people. There was a group of mid-20s males drinking outside on the , and I suspect that on a busy night this would not be a place for 60 something tourists.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I booked ahead for our first night in Prague as we were arriving at around 20.00 and didnt fancy trying to find somewhere to eat. So after checking into the Three Storks my wife and I started our walk to Cowboys. This turned out to be a long trek up a steady incline followed by 60 plus steps upto the terrace area. It being dark and after a shower the view was somewhat limited but I imagine on a good day its spectacular. Our table was at the far side of the terrace in a nice and warm annexe ( NB don`t need heat after all those steps ! ). Our waiter was very pleasant and our steaks cooked just to our liking. The beer and the Czech wine were also good. Cowboys is worth a visit but it is IMO a little overpriced when compared to other restaurants in Prague, they do however offer vegetables as side dishes which is unusual for Prague !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowboys Steaks & Cocktails also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cowboys Steaks & Cocktails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.