We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, at a cost...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cowboys Steaks & Cocktails - CLOSED

Cowboys Steaks & Cocktails
Nerudova 40 | Malá strana - Little quarter, Prague 11800, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)
+420296826107
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $60
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hradcany & Letna
Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good, at a cost...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had lunch in this restaurant after a friends recommendation. We enjoyed it very much.
The food was very good. From the steaks, to the sauce and side dishes. The desert was also very nice.
As mentioned by others the view is also nice, even though the city view is partially covered by another house. Going up the road you find a couple more restaurants with a better view.
The price is a bit high in my opinion. A lunch for 4 people with main course, desert and not so many drinks costed 135 euros. I ate better in the Czech Republic for one third of the price (but not in Prague, that makes a difference).

They only allow smoking after 22h, which is a bliss for people like me who hate places where smoking is allowed.

If you are looking for a nice meal and you are not in a budget, I recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    120
    33
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This rooftop restaurant/cocktail bar has wonderful views across the whole city. The food is really good, staff are friendly and efficient, and the cocktails are yummy. Recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great veiw!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The rooftop terrace must have the best view in Prague! The food was fantastic and came out quickly, the staff were lovely and the whole thing seemed very well organised. Enjoyed a few beautiful cocktails and an amazing steak. All very reasonably priced considering the location and quality. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice party!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had a company meeting in Prague and all 40 of us went to Cowboys to cook (yep!) and eat. There was a cooking contest for all participants in 4 groups and we all ate everyone's cooking....not bad and a lot of fun. There was also other dishes the restaurant prepared which were quite good....all of our food was Asian and oh so good!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best steak in down, good cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I come here every time I visit Prague as the steak is incredible, the menu also has some great seafood options including the delcious tuna tartar starter which I'd recommend almost as highly as the steaks!
Great wine list and cocktail menu to accompany the food and impecable service, the staff uniforms are quite casual but I've always found the service to be top notch - better than some fine dining establishments even.
The upper terrace has incredible views of the city, whilst the main restaurant is a quirky space set in what seem to be brick vaults - open and airy though with great booth areas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowboys Steaks & Cocktails also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cowboys Steaks & Cocktails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.