We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was shut!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of U Medvidku

U Medvidku
Na Perstyne 7, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
+420 224 211 916
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #374 of 4,247 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Czech, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Praha 1
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“It was shut!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very disappointed decided that we would take a punt and try this beer hall in Prague. Unfortunately we turned about about 20.00 and the restaurant was shut. There was a notice on the door but I cannot speak Czech. Oh well had to go to another restaurant down the road. I would stay away at the moment. 02/02/12

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    474
    177
    65
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“great all rounder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

they brew thier own booze and i had it all and can say it was all good much like the food,
reasonably pricerd beer and food near the centre of town, friendly staff nice atmosphere and late boozing times make this place well worth a visit they have a little gift shop too and its reasonably priced as well.
prompt service ensures you will not run dry

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great beer hall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Delicious food and tasty home-brewed beer (of 12 Co strength ;) ) Highly recommended for a lunch or dinner. Perfect for a boys' get-together.
The stuff speaks English as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lacking some atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Perhaps we just hit this place at a quiet time, or the fact we'd just come from U Flecku which was great, but we found this place was missing something. We had several drinks and both of us had steaks with pepper sauce that went down a treat. The staff were friendly enough but for us we preferred the atmosphere at U Flecku.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great first Czech food experience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Great selection which made it hard to pick what to have.
Food came out pretty quickly and was served with some lovely bread.

We ordered the stroganoff and the boat steak. Both were really delicious. Tasted like a home made meal which was lovely and comforting in the cold.

Atmosphere was awesome and they had a large selection if beers.

Will definitely be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Medvidku also viewed

 

Been to U Medvidku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Medvidku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.