We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a tourist trap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pivnice U Svejku

Pivnice U Svejku
Ujezd 22, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #772 of 2,848 restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Praha 1
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not a tourist trap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Next to Hotel Roma. Cheap beer, fast service ... indeed nice place. Staff speak English. Many reviews say that it's a tourist trap - it's not, beer is cheap and good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    36
    43
    18
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Careful when eating here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Ok place for a beer, however, we found this place and their sister restaurant U Vejvodu an uncomfortable rip off when eating. First of all they have pretzels and peanuts on the tables (expensive if you have them) and secondly they bring bread to the table when you've ordered your meal. We didn't have any, but when the bill came we noticed an extra 30czk on the bill. When we asked, we were pointed to some small print on the menu stating that a cover charge of 15czk was added for each person to cover bread (whether eaten or not) and sauces etc.
The final insult was high pressure to leave a tip, even suggesting how much we should leave (well over 10%!) and explaining that it's for the kitchen staff, waiters etc, etc.
The waiters were also a bit 'cocky' and not the authentic version you get in some of the other places.
Our favourite was Il Tru Ruzi on a street called Husova where they brew their own really good beer ( brewing equipment on view) and sell good food with friendly staff.
Hope this helps!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“just enjoy,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just outside the Hotel Roma ideal for a just a drink or a meal, good choice and cheap, beer is 35kc and wine at 45kc , menu good and the staff do speak English local tram back into town,
to name a few
Main Courses
(¼) Roasted duck served with potato dumplings and red cabbage 189,- Kč
(½) Roasted duck served with potato dumplings and red cabbage 289,- Kč
Roast pork with cabbage and bread dumplings 158,- Kč
'Sweiks' goulash with onion and bread dumplings 158,- Kč
Roasted venison sirloin in a sour cream sauce, bread dumplings (deer, boar, fallow-deer)
168,- Kč
Golden baked pork knuckle with horseradish, mustard and sauercraut 255,- Kč
Fried wild pork schnityel with potato salad 158,- Kč

This became our local before heading back into the Hotel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beer not so tasty ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice place and nice chap running the place but beer not so good in this instance. Had the light and the dark beers to make sure

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You shouldn't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Situated on the left side of Moldava river, it is known above all to Czech people rather tien tourists. It is worth crossing the river in front of National Theatre though! The restaurant is not very large, but offers no smoking and smoking halls. It isn't the usual fake but an old house, nicely decorated with satyrical drawings on army and wooden furniture. Service is attended by the old father and son, proud of their beer and Czech dishes. They give you good hints on dish of the day and care about you. Quantities are generous and menus in many languages help you to choose. The bill was estonishingly cheap compared to what we ate and drink! Payment accepted in krowns, euros or dollars. I did not check wheter they accepted credit cards; better ask before. All in all a restaurant I would warmly suggest!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pivnice U Svejku also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Pivnice U Svejku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pivnice U Svejku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.