We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Globe Bookstore and Cafe

The Globe Bookstore and Cafe
Pstrossova 6 | New Town/Nove Mesto, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
420 224-934-203
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #559 of 4,245 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Vegetarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Praha 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had only heard good things about the Globe and it lived up to it's expectation. Located rather centrally, it is a café, bookstore, restaurant all combined into one, with a cute hipstery atmosphere. It seemed to be a favorite of many a study abroad student, but also many families. It serves a traditional american brunch, with everything from chocolate chip pancakes to Eggs Benedict and breakfast burritos. All of which were very good when we were there. Though the staff seemed to be a little busy at first, once we got our orders in, our food was out in no time. Great place for a big breakfast, or a late brunch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    55
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing place to read, have a coffee or meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Friendly staff, great food and reasonable prices. They also have a Sunday brunch special. the place is decorated with paintings and a bookstore by the front of the place. I would recommend this place

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A cool spot with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went here on our last day in Prague just to check out the english language bookstore at the entrance. But we ended up staying for lunch because we really liked the atmosphere of it and the food seemed good enough. And we did not regret! The staff was very nice and the english was perfect. The atmosphere is very cool and relaxed... We ended up having a delicious mac'n'cheese and a Penne Alfredo that were delicious! As a desert, Peanut Butter Cheesecake and Hot fudge Brownie with Ice Cream. Divine! But there are lots of options in the menu, from salads, to sandwiches, burgers and other pstas dishes. The deserts all look delicious and if you're in the mood, get the cookie milkshake, the best milkshake I've ever had without a doubt!
And it isn't very expensive at all! A spot with good value for money! Oh, and free wi-fi!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ex-pat hangout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

It's got a great, though pricey, English-only book shop in the entrance, and it hosts great ex-pat events. The food is good, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The owner is either Canadian or American...You can get great greasy food or you can get great fresh salads -- take your pick! Great place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great American Brunch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I loved this restaurant, being in Prague and finding a great brunch made our trip. The Blueberry pancakes were great and the glode scramble was prefectly cooked. I reccommend anyone looking for an american breakfast while in Prague to try this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Globe Bookstore and Cafe also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to The Globe Bookstore and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Globe Bookstore and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.