We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring food, bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vysmaty Zajic

Vysmaty Zajic
Michalska 13, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
(+420) 224 216 999
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,266 of 4,242 Restaurants in Prague
Neighborhood: Praha 1
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Praha 1
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Boring food, bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

After walking around the area we were pulled into this restaurant by the friendly hostess and variety on the menu. However the good service stopped there, the waitress took a long time to take orders, and didn't have much knowledge about the food. I had to go up to the bar to order my own drink. The servings were large, but tasteless. They took a long time to clear our plates and didn't ask if we wanted anything else or the bill, so we went up to the bar paid and left. Definitely wouldn't recommend.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
asia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The restaurant is located in the Old Town section of Prague and serves good Czech food and beer. The decor of the restaurant can be described as artistic with "old" charm.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I ate here while staying in the old town of Prague. Coaxed into going in by a staff member I was skeptical but was wrong to be.

There is a huge selection of local, traditional dishes that are all a very good price. All of the things we ate very very good and I would go back here again. The staff were very nice too, the waiter we had seemed genuinely pleased that we had given him a tip.

Small issue that I had is that the front of the building is bar that can get very smoky. This doen't pose too much of a problem while eating but the smell can occasionally waft through.

Overall this did not disturb us too much though and we were able to enjoy a great meal.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Good location, amazing backyard garden, excellent beer and Thai cuisine - worth every euro!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food not bad, shame about the greedy waiter!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a place that you can easily get pulled into as the young friendly lady beckons to you and it is warm and there is a garden. The place is a pub and you get "pub grub", so it was not bad. The service was all in all ok, until the end, when a young waiter, who had not even waited on us, brought us the bill and pressed upon us three times that service was not included, he had even underlined the fact on the bill in ink!! When we gave him what we thought was an ok amount for a tip, especially as the cover charge was 30 CZK per head, he walked away shaking his head, as if he were entitled to more! We left with a rather negative image of the whole place and when you think about it, there are so many places to chose from, with an outside area, where the whole experience can be positive, why go here. So don't.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vysmaty Zajic also viewed

 

Been to Vysmaty Zajic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vysmaty Zajic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.