We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blatnice

Blatnice
Michalska, 510/8, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
420 224 225 836
Improve this listing
Ranked #434 of 4,247 Restaurants in Prague
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Praha 1
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

While the restaurant I had visited before was busy and had not table at all for me, this one was busy too but has made the effort to welcome me and find me a seat.

The servers were friendly and the Czech cuisine was very good. A very good value!

I recommend their good roast pork knuckle served with mustard and horseradish.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    85
    19
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just the best local value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a great Czech eaterie, giving really brillant value with out having to go to the suburbs to find a hidden gem.
Exceptionally good, tourist friendly staff, serving hearty fare thats far better than the tourist menu deals you might see all over the city.
5 mins away from the astronomical clock.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

On our first night in Prague we wandered around the town looking for somewhere which served Czech style food at a reasonable price, when we chanced upon the Blatnice.

The prices were very reasonable and we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and the service, all at a very good price. We found that we could have a very filling meal (lots of meat and dumplings!) with some excellent Czech beer for about £20 for two, which is excellent value for money.

The menu is varied, but is as you would expect, very meat based and we liked the place so much that we went back for the next three nights, we just couldn't find the same value anywhere else.

If we visit Prague again, we would definitely call in at the Blatnice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good Czech food and reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

i went here because I read a recommendation about the ribs as being the best in Prague; that is a bit wide of the mark and the portion size was not as big as expectations but a starter, two racks of smallish baby backs and a couple of Gambrinus 10 for 390kc including tip is OK by me. Friendly staff, competent English and quieter than the Kolkovna chain with a more ethic and expansive menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good Czech food a little off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Found this place after trying to get into Mlejnice which was completely full. Apparently a lot of people read TripAdvisor. Glad I went. The interior had a charming, old world decor and the staff was friendly and helpful. I was seated in a no-smoking area near a little fireplace and in a little cubby by the window. They have a fairly large menu that features a good selection of starters, pork, chicken, beef and rabbit dishes. Side orders are separate on most entrees. I had a half litre Pilsner Urquell, pork ribs and potato pancakes, all for less than 300 Krone. The portions were large, the ribs came with two full racks and the meat was falling off the bones. It also came with a small salad. Potato pancakes were a little different than the German kind, more like hash browns. A little oily, but tasty. Service was good and the waiter spoke English well. As I was eating, the place filled up with local diners and tourists from other parts of the world.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant for those who want to get out of the hustle of the Old Town Square without venturing too far.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blatnice also viewed

 

Been to Blatnice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blatnice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.