We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Czech Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terasa u Zlate Studne

Terasa u Zlate Studne
U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)
+420 257 533 322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4,196 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $50 - $90
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hradcany & Letna
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb Czech Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited this restaurant within Maurer ´s Grand Festival Restaurant. It was great experience and our meals were absolutely delicious. We had lunch there and the view at red roofs of Malá Strana was charming. If you are not on budget, just do not hesitate and enjoy this charming classy restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    158
    46
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Not much of a view inside at night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very nice upmarket restaurant with lovely food and prices to match. We visited in December so it was very cold and we sat inside. Although we were by a window it was not possible to see very much. If you go to the toilets upstairs you can see the view from the terrace which is probably stunning in the summer. I also expected the view to be of the castle but it faces towards the town. Overall a good meal but expensive for Prague and not worth the extra over Suteren the previous night

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague CZ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“elegant, with style, no wam welcome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

supeb location, good food, but overpriced, you pay for excellent vew, maybe the best one in Prague
the service is quick, experienced, but snobbish used to get big tips form foreigners, don´t like normal people

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maiklgwell, Manager at Terasa u Zlate Studne, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest of Terasa u Zlate Studne,

I would like to thank you for visitn us, but I am also truly sorry, that you were not so satisfied during your visit in our restaurant. I found great that we meet your expectation regarding the atmosphere, view and food. But regarding the service I would regret, that our service staff is snobish. We do not ever maky any diference between the guests. Someone who ordering just water or coffe is valuable for us in same way as someone who is ordering Chateau Cheval Blanc. I mean in terms of care and treatment of course. Every guest is realy treasure for us. That is why we have been many times awarded as one of the best service not only in Czech republic but in Europe or even World. So I would like to tell you agian, that our staff is not nosy or snobish, Experienced, friendly, welcome definitely yes. Althought you have another opinon about our staff, I thing it will be nice from you to give us another chance to ensure you about our quality and profesionality.

With warmest regards

Michal Motyčka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hyped as one of the best restaurants in Prague, we found this a little disappointing. Very formal, small room (tho would be lovely in summer with terrace). Food was good but not exciting. Staff were very efficient but not particularly warm. Can't quite put my finger on what was lacking - just know I wouldn't rush back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maiklgwell, Manager at Terasa u Zlate Studne, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for visiting our "good not great" restaurant Terasa u Zlate Studne. Mainly I would like to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We would like to apologize, that we were not able to meet your expectations for the "No. 1" restaurant in Prague. Sometimes it is realy not easy to meet highest expectations of our guest either locals or tourist comming to Prague. But I can ensure you, taht we are always doing all the best for making the unique impression of our guest when they are leaving our restaurant. We are providing great balance of service, food, view and atmosphere. That why we are usualy highly rated by other guest. I would be more than happy to welcome you in our restaurant in summer months to show you also another kind of "restaurant" and to attract you for writing better review than this one.

With warmest regards

Michal Motyčka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing culinary experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Me and my wife had a wonderful dinner,the place is beautiful with amazing view of the city.the food was exquisite and the service impeccable...well done to all the staff and management,you are a wonderful example of how to run a restaurant!we look forward to coming back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terasa u Zlate Studne also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Terasa u Zlate Studne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terasa u Zlate Studne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.